The Heart of Stone

BenGalley.com
50
Free Sample

Every fighter faces his final fight. Even one made of stone.


WINNER OF BEST SELF-PUBLISHED NOVEL IN THE 2017 BOOKNEST FANTASY AWARDS


“Echoes of Brandon Sanderson and Scott Lynch.”

– SFF World


“Grimdark with heart and soul.”

– Anna Smith Spark, author of Empires of Dust


“A very, very good read."

– Fantasy Faction


“A brutal delight with thrilling action and heart, rowdy and wise, bloody and tender at the same time."

– Dyrk Ashton, author of The Paternus Trilogy


----------


Mercenary. Murderer. Monster. He has been called many names in his time.

Built for war and nothing else, he has witnessed every shade of violence humans know, and he has wrought his own masterpieces with their colours. He cared once, perhaps, but far too long ago. He is bound to his task, dead to the chaos he wreaks for his masters.

Now, he has a new master to serve and a new war to endure. In the far reaches of the Realm, Hartlund tears itself in two over coin and crown. This time he will fight for a boy king and a general bent on victory.

Beneath it all he longs for change. For something to surprise him. For an end to this cycle of warfare.


----------


Action-packed and emotionally-charged, The Heart of Stone is a dark fantasy novel that explores the facets of human nature. Perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Mark Lawrence, and Joe Abercrombie.


“From the fascinating world-building to the intriguing, colorful and memorable characters, The Heart of Stone is a pleasure to read.”

– BookNest


“Dark, brutal and violent, and packed with heart and emotional depth, The Heart of Stone is an intriguing novel.”

– Alan Baxter, author of the Alex Caine Series


“This is Ben’s best book yet. Plain and simple.”

– Michael R. Miller, author of The Dragon’s Blade Trilogy


"A solidly written and fascinating dark fantasy."

– BiblioSanctum


Read more
Collapse

More by Ben Galley

See more
The bestselling Emaneska Series is now available as one complete eBook Bundle! All four books of this Norse-inspired epic fantasy series have been put back to back, so you can follow the adventures of Emaneska's favourite mage, Farden, from start to finish without interruption.


"If you love fantasy, action, intrigue, magic and all that goes with it then you need to read these books. There are characters you will love, ones you will hate and there will be a new revelation on each page.”

– The Book Geek


The Emaneska Series follows the Written mage Farden as he fights to protect war-torn Emaneska from ancient demons set on revenge. Monsters, betrayal, and his own personal flaws stand in Farden's way, but the lost gods have a plan for him.


"Galley's imagination is a truly beautiful thing. The plot here is rich and intricate, and the characters are a delight... I believe Mr Galley may well be one to watch.”

– Fantasy Bytes


Packed with magic, dragons, action and brutal battles across a frozen wasteland, The Emaneska Series is an epic fantasy quadrilogy not to be missed. With over 800 ★★★★★ reviews across Amazon and Google Play, The Emaneska Series is a hard-hitting dose of sword and sorcery that is perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Joe Abercrombie and Robin Hobb. Just think Lord of the Rings meets Sin City, and you'll be on the right track.


"There are certain twists that will surprise the reader by genuinely coming out of the left field.”

– Fantasy Book Critic 


---------


The Emaneska Series Bundle contains:

- The Written

- Pale Kings

- Dead Stars - Part One

- Dead Stars - Part Two

Emaneska is crying out for a saviour

The only question is:

Can they kill a child to save a world?


"Galley's imagination is a truly beautiful thing. The plot here is rich and intricate, and the characters are a delight... I believe Mr Galley may well be one to watch.”

– Fantasy Bytes

 

The Pale Kings are rising. Emaneska's Long Winter remains as bitter as a blade between the ribs. War is fast approaching. Gods and demons are hovering on the horizon. Long-lost revelations arrive to haunt the lives of three men.


"Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings."

– NottingHarp, Amazon Reviewer

 

While Farden the Written mage busies himself digging up his past in the strange deserts of Paraia, the storm-clouds begin to gather for Durnus, Elessi, Cheska, and Modren.


"There are certain twists that will surprise the reader by genuinely coming out of the left field.”

– Fantasy Book Critic 


Together with Farfallen and his dragon-riders, they must fight to survive against the Long Winter, the vicious machinations of the new Arkmage, and the arrival of something much deadlier than both combined. War, deception, and murder are quickly becoming the only paths to salvation…


"Ben Galley is not yet as good an author as Gemmell but the thing that I find exciting is that I honestly think that he could be.”

– Fantasy Book Review


--------------------


Pale Kings, the explosive sequel to the bestselling epic fantasy The Written, has arrived. Packed with action, magic and mythology, Pale Kings is a sword and sorcery adventure that raises stakes to new heights. Get the sequels Dead Stars - Part One and Dead Stars - Part Two now in eBook and paperback.


You can follow Ben on Twitter and YouTube @BenGalley, on Facebook and Instagram at @BenGalleyAuthor, or find his other epic and dark fantasy books at bengalley.com.

4.7
50 total
Loading...

Additional information

Publisher
BenGalley.com
Read more
Collapse
Published on
1 Jan 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
412
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780993517037
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Fantasy / Epic
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Fiction / Fantasy / Military
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The #1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Words of Radiance, from epic fantasy author Brandon Sanderson at the top of his game.

In Oathbringer, the third volume of the New York Times bestselling Stormlight Archive, humanity faces a new Desolation with the return of the Voidbringers, a foe with numbers as great as their thirst for vengeance.

Dalinar Kholin’s Alethi armies won a fleeting victory at a terrible cost: The enemy Parshendi summoned the violent Everstorm, which now sweeps the world with destruction, and in its passing awakens the once peaceful and subservient parshmen to the horror of their millennia-long enslavement by humans. While on a desperate flight to warn his family of the threat, Kaladin Stormblessed must come to grips with the fact that the newly kindled anger of the parshmen may be wholly justified.

Nestled in the mountains high above the storms, in the tower city of Urithiru, Shallan Davar investigates the wonders of the ancient stronghold of the Knights Radiant and unearths dark secrets lurking in its depths. And Dalinar realizes that his holy mission to unite his homeland of Alethkar was too narrow in scope. Unless all the nations of Roshar can put aside Dalinar’s blood-soaked past and stand together—and unless Dalinar himself can confront that past—even the restoration of the Knights Radiant will not prevent the end of civilization.


Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson

The Cosmere

The Stormlight Archive
The Way of Kings
Words of Radiance
Edgedancer (Novella)
Oathbringer

The Mistborn trilogy
Mistborn: The Final Empire
The Well of Ascension
The Hero of Ages

Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series
Alloy of Law
Shadows of Self
Bands of Mourning

Collection
Arcanum Unbounded

Other Cosmere novels
Elantris
Warbreaker

The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series
Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians
The Scrivener's Bones
The Knights of Crystallia
The Shattered Lens
The Dark Talent

The Rithmatist series
The Rithmatist

Other books by Brandon Sanderson

The Reckoners
Steelheart
Firefight
Calamity

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.