The Two Hearts of Eliza Bloom

Bookouture
Free Sample

‘My heart broke… it left me on the verge of tears… wonderful and I found myself being hooked from the very first page… A mesmerising story’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

How do you choose between your family and the love of your life?

 

Eliza Bloom grew up in a big, loud Jewish family with delicious Friday night dinners, Sunday mornings with her grandfather and finding ways to annoy her father. But this close-knit life has limits: no short skirts, no television and no marrying outside of the faith. And Eliza has always strained against the rules…

 

When Eliza meets Alex, her heart skips a beat. He isn’t Jewish, he lives in the wrong side of town, he has an enchanting smile… and he offers her a way out. So, Eliza takes a huge leap into the ‘Real World’ where there are new foods to try, movies to watch and someone who really loves her.

 

But as time passes, Eliza desperately misses her grandfather, her family, and her old life. When her grandfather falls ill, Eliza returns home to see him and starts keeping secrets from Alex. But she can’t live two lives forever…

 

An uplifting and heartbreaking novel about finding yourself, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, The Hideaway and P.S. I Love You.

 

Readers absolutely love The Two Hearts of Eliza Bloom:

 

‘I couldn’t read this book fast enough! A gripping, beautifully written, funny and warm story of fighting for love against all odds… I fell in love with Eliza Bloom and was swept up in her story. Perfect.’ Claire Douglas, bestselling author of The Sisters

 

‘Oh I loved everything about this book!... Such a beautiful story, one of the best I have ever read!… I savoured every exquisite word and didn't want it to end because I know no other book will measure up. Funny, beautiful, uplifting, absolutely unforgettable. A must read for everyone!’ Renita D’Silva, author of A Mother’s Secret, 5 stars

 

Eliza stole my heart, both of them. Shelley’s Book Nook, 5 stars

 

Charming and, ultimately, upliftinglaugh-out-loud funny yet also, at times, heartbreaking… a feel-good story about staying true to yourself.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘If you’re looking for a book to warm your heart, you’ve found it. Feel-good and uplifting, funny and emotional, you will never forget meeting Eliza Bloom. I loved it!’ Trisha Ashley, bestselling author of The House of Hopes and Dreams

 

I loved Eliza Bloom… This was an emotional, heartwarming and totally unforgettable story… etched a place in my heart.’ Anstey Harris, author of The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton

 

I. Loved. This. Book. I didn't want it to end. Ever… More please, Beth Miller!’ Sandy’s Book a Day Blog, 5 stars

 

‘The author writes with sensitivity, warmth and approachability… I cannot recommend it highly enough. Pretty close to reading perfection.’ A Little Book Problem, 5 stars

 

‘A life-affirming, eye-opening and often humorous read… An unexpected little gemThe Writing Garnet

 

‘A beautifully told story… If you like emotional but uplifting books that make you laugh and cry then you’ll love this book!’ Over the Rainbow, 5 stars

 

‘Had me captivated from beginning to end, it made me laugh, made me smile and I even shed a little tear or two along the way. Lovely.’ Jaffa Reads Too

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
1 Mar 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
395
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781786816825
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Jewish
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

SERVE A NEW MIXED MENU
OF WORSHIP




Worship Feast:
A Broad Menu of Extraordinary Worship Dramas



Serve an extraordinary worship experience to your youth. Engage them, and move them.

Make an impact.

Sometimes all you need to complete a meaningful worhip experience is a new skit that's easy to pull off...
...a drama that youth will love to perform, and one that will challenge actors and audience alike to ask serious questions about maintaining a life of faith in a not-so-faith-friendly world.

With Worship Feast Dramas you will get a diverse variety of skits - both long and short - in one resource! These skits have been field-tested with real youth in real situations.

Skits include --

Teach Me To Pray Survivor The Pizza Party McJesus To Go The Workers at the Mall The Sabbath Zone Sail Away ...and many more.

The current generation of young people doesn't know a time when information wasn't coming at them from every direction. They multi-task every second of their waking lives.

To meet their needs in worship, we offer a variety of postmodern worship--a multi-sensory, whole-person experience.

Postmodern young people are not content to be observers of worship. They want all-out participation in soul-shaping, heart-waking praise to their Creator.

Postmodern worship experiences offer moments of transformation by meeting God through all of the senses.

Worship Feast Dramas was especially designed for youth workers and pastors who want to reach young people in their worship services by taking the sacred traditions of the worshiping church...and blending them with current experiences.

Serve youth a worship menu that leaves them inspired...and full.


The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.

“The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.

Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive.

One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her.

A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

Beginning years ago with her work with women in grief, Beth Miller has helped hundreds of people in her therapeutic practice to learn to be resilient and survive life crises to become deeper, more powerful, and authentic human beings. Packed with information and exercises, The Woman's Book of Resilience is a smart, often funny, book that can help any woman thrive amid life's ups and downs. When we cultivate resilience, we mine the awful, or merely annoying, experiences in life to find meaning and purpose.

The Woman's Book of Resilience is an accessible, practical guide to bouncing back. "We know that resiliency reigns because we survive to tell our tales of misfortune, trauma, abuse. Indeed, we are built to be able to go to the edge of life and come back with heart and soul elevated... We are built to be resilient, to be able to take sure and steady steps over rocky terrain."

Miller offers 12 qualities that help women develop and learn resilience.

Readers learn to:1. Admit and embrace vulnerability2. Practice and increase the ability to connect3. Find manageable parts of the problem4. Discover their needs and get them met5. Recognize their gifts and talents6. Develop the ability to say no and set limits and boundaries7. Practice transforming resentment and forgiving8. Use their sense of humor9. Use the power of staying and leaving10. Find meaning in crisis11. Endure suffering through crisis12. Stand alone

Each of the twelve is a chapter with case histories, stories, and plenty of try this, this, or this--exercises to turn to again and again. With a foreword by June Singer.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.