Duty

Duty, Honor, Country

Book 1
Cool Gus Publishing
27

"Will leave you spellbound. Mayer’s long suit is detail, giving the reader an in-depth view of the inner workings of the Army and West Point." Book News

An epic series in the vein of HBO's Rome, following two ordinary men through extraordinary times; from West Point, through the Mexican War, into the Civil War.

Elijah Cord and Lucius Rumble swore oaths, both personal and professional. They were fighting for country, for a way of life and for family. Classmates carried more than rifles and sabers into battle. They had friendships, memories, children and wives. They had innocence lost, promises broken and glory found.

Duty, Honor, Country is history told epic and personal so we can understand what happened, but more importantly feel the heart-wrenching clash of duty, honor, country and loyalty. And realize that sometimes, the people who changed history, weren’t recorded by it.

Our story starts in 1840, in Benny Havens tavern, just outside post limits of the United States Military Academy. With William Tecumseh Sherman, Cord, and Benny Havens’ daughter coming together in a crucible of honor and loyalty. On post, in the West Point stables, Ulysses S. Grant and Rumble are preparing to saddle the Hell-Beast, a horse with which Grant would eventually set an academy record. On this day, all make fateful decisions that will change the course of their lives and history.

We follow these men forward to the eve of the Mexican War, tracing their steps at West Point and ranging to a plantation at Natchez on the Mississippi, Major Lee at Arlington, and Charleston, SC. We travel aboard the USS Somers and the US Navy mutiny that led to the founding of the Naval Academy at Annapolis.

We end with Grant and Rumble in New Orleans, preparing to sale to Mexico and war, and Cord with Kit Carson and Fremont at Pilot Peak in Utah during his great expedition west.

This is book 1 in the Duty, Honor, Country series. (Formerly titles West Point to Mexico)
Read more
Collapse

More by Bob Mayer

See more
4.1
27 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Cool Gus Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 21, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
409
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781621251682
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical
Fiction / War & Military
History / Americas (North, Central, South, West Indies)
History / Military / United States
History / United States / Civil War Period (1850-1877)
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
When the Civil War halted steamboat travel on the Mississippi River in 1861, an unemployed riverboat pilot named Samuel Clemens enlisted in the Missouri militia. After two weeks of service, Clemens abandoned his post and fled westward to begin a writing career -- a turn of events that precipitated the rise to fame of the man who would become known as Mark Twain. The circumstances surrounding his departure are unclear; some view Twain as a deserter, while others call into question the nature of his commitment from the beginning. Twain defended himself in speeches and in print, offering varying accounts -- with varying degrees of truth -- of his confusion upon enrollment, his ignorance of the moral and political forces behind the war, and his claim to have killed a man while hiding in a corncrib. Regardless of the reason for his desertion, his personal experiences and the Civil War in general are recurring topics in Twain's speeches, fiction, and nonfiction. In addition to broaching the issue in longer works, such as Life on the Mississippi and The Gilded Age, Twain directly addresses it in shorter pieces such as "The Private History of a Campaign That Failed" and "A Curious Experience." Editor David Rachels unites these selections in Mark Twain's Civil War, offering Twain fans and Civil War scholars the unprecedented opportunity to read the entire array of Twain's Civil War-influenced literature in one volume. In addition to Twain's own pieces, Rachels includes an account of Twain's war career by his official biographer as well as a story by Absalom C. Grimes, a Confederate mail runner who claims to have served with Twain early in the war. An introduction by Rachels completes the text, which analyzes Twain's military stint and assesses the war's profound influence on one of America's most celebrated authors.
From NY Times Bestselling Author, Amazon top 25 Author, former Green Beret and West Point Graduate, Bob Mayer.


What if US Army Green Berets led by Dave Riley must take on not only criminal drug traffickers but also betray their own government?

A US Army Special Forces team carrying sterilized weapons and unmarked uniforms is on its way to Colombia. The mission: conduct covert, unilateral raids to destroy cocaine processing laboratories.

Of course nothing is as it seems especially once the CIA gets involved. Throw in an Israeli mercenary, betrayal and double-dealing in Washington and the team soon finds itself wondering what the real mission is.

“A scorcher of a novel. Mayer had me hooked from the very first page.” Stephen Coonts

From Publishers Weekly
When Colombia secretly requests U.S. aid against the drug cartel, a Special Forces A-Team becomes the "eyes" guiding gunships and helicopters--the "hammer"--against jungle cocaine-processing labs. Then treachery leaves four Green Berets dead and one in the hands of the "Ring Man," deadliest of the drug lords. Special Forces warrant officer Riley and CIA agent Kate Westland are sent in to kill the Ring Man and rescue the prisoner. Their slim chances sink to near-zero when Washington pulls the plug on the mission. But before his people are abandoned, a veteran Special Forces colonel still has a few cards to play. In his first novel (launching a series), former Green Beret Mayer successfully establishes the nuanced differences among U.S. Special Operations units: rangers, Delta Force and Special Forces. But his story line jumps unconvincingly from covert infiltration mission to secret agent-type assassination to commando raid. Descriptions of the tools of unconventional warfare are static, and characters, with the exception of agent Westland, never achieve full dimension.
Copyright 1991 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Library Journal
A thriller that delivers in all areas--plot, suspense, authenticity, and pace. Riley, a Special Forces man, is sent to one of a series of invasions of Colombia to destroy cocaine processing plants. After two successes and one failure, he is assigned to terminate a drug lord. His companion is a woman, Westland, a CIA agent. The intrigue and plotting of the military and various government agencies, in the United States and Colombia, and the incredible Colombian corruption are interwoven into a minor masterpiece of technology and suspense. The climax will have the reader yearning for more nails to bite. A first novel by a former Green Beret, this is not to be missed by fans of the genre.
- Robert H. Donahugh, formerly with Youngstown & Mahoning Cty. P.L., Ohio
Copyright 1991 Reed Business Information, Inc.

 

“Dylan Kane leaves James Bond in his dust!”


★★★★★ FROM AWARD WINNING USA TODAY & MILLION COPY BESTSELLING AUTHOR J. ROBERT KENNEDY ★★★★★


IN ORDER TO SAVE THE COUNTRY HE LOVES, DYLAN KANE MUST FIRST BETRAY IT.


Three top secret research scientists are presumed dead in a boating accident, but the kidnapping of their families the same day raises questions the FBI and local police can’t answer, leaving them waiting for a ransom demand that will never come.


Central Intelligence Agency Analyst Chris Leroux stumbles upon the story, and finds a phone conversation that was never supposed to happen. When he reports it to his boss, the National Clandestine Services Chief, he is uncharacteristically reprimanded for conducting an unauthorized investigation and told to leave it to the FBI.


But he can’t let it go.


For he knows something the FBI doesn’t.


One of the scientists is alive.


Leroux makes a call to his childhood friend, CIA Special Agent Dylan Kane, leading to a race across the globe to stop a conspiracy reaching the highest levels of political and corporate America, that if not stopped, could lead to war with an enemy armed with a weapon far worse than anything in the American arsenal, with the potential to not only destroy the world, but consume it.


Award winning USA Today and million copy bestselling author J. Robert Kennedy introduces Rogue Operator, the first installment of his newest series, The Special Agent Dylan Kane Thrillers, promising to bring all of the action and intrigue of the James Acton Thrillers with a hero who lives below the radar, waiting for his country to call when it most desperately needs him.


Get your copy today, and meet one of America's secret heroes: Special Agent Dylan Kane.



WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE DYLAN KANE SERIES


★★★★★ “The action sequences are particularly well-written and exciting, without being overblown.”


★★★★★ “I love how the author explains what's needed but doesn't just ramble on in narrative.”


★★★★★ “The events in this adventure are so real and so heart pounding you can't put it down. Mr. Kennedy is by far my favorite writer.”


★★★★★ “Don’t mess with Kane, he takes no prisoners, especially when you target his friends.”


★★★★★ “This is one of the best stories I have ever read. The action and plot is believable and exciting and of course the climax is nail biting stuff. This author sure knows his stuff - if not, he does a great job of convincing his reader that he does!”


★★★★★ “Fast paced international spy thriller with good old American values among its main characters. I'd like to think we really do have agents like Kane.”



USA Today bestselling author J. Robert Kennedy’s novels are ideal for fans of Dan Brown, Clive Cussler, James Rollins, Tom Clancy, and James Patterson, and those who enjoy intense action and intrigue with a healthy dose of humor and a touch of romance. Readers interested in action adventure, archaeological mysteries, historical fiction, men’s adventure, conspiracies and ancient mysteries, will love the James Acton Thrillers. If spies and espionage is your thing, then check out the CIA Special Agent Dylan Kane Thrillers for riveting tradecraft action. And for those who prefer the team approach and Special Forces, check out the Delta Force Unleashed series for exciting military thrills. Or maybe you just feel like a mystery? Check out the Detective Shakespeare Mysteries for dark, intense psychological thrillers. Into the Templars? Then the Templar Detective Thrillers are for you!

©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.