The Space Trilogy, Omnib: Three Science Fiction Classics in One Volume: Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, That Hideous Strength

Sold by Harper Collins
Free sample

This one-volume edition marks the 75th anniversary of Lewis's classic science fiction trilogy featuring the adventures of Dr. Ransom on Mars, Venus, and Earth. It includes an exclusive foreword compiled from letters by J.R.R. Tolkien, who inspired Lewis to write the first volume and on whom the main character of Ransom was largely based. The Space Trilogy is a remarkable work of fantasy, demonstrating the powerful imagination of C. S. Lewis.

The Space Trilogy, Omnibus Edition includes:

Out of the Silent Planet
Dr. Ransom, a Cambridge academic, is abducted and taken on a spaceship to the red planet of Malacandra, which he knows as Mars. His captors are plotting to plunder the planet's treasures and offer Ransom as a sacrifice to the creatures who live there.

Having escaped from Mars, Dr. Ransom is called to the paradise planet of Perelandra, or Venus. When his old enemy also arrives and is taken over by the forces of evil, Ransom finds himself in a desperate struggle to save the innocence of this Eden-like world.

That Hideous Strength
Investigating the truth about her prophetic dreams, Jane Studdock encounters the fabled Dr. Ransom, who is in great pain after his travels. A sinister society run by his old adversaries intends to harness the ancient powers of a resurrected Merlin in their ambition to subjugate the people of Earth.

Read more

More by C. S. Lewis

See more
50 total

Additional Information

Harper Collins
Read more
Published on
Feb 18, 2014
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Christian / Futuristic
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Religion / Christianity / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Grip yourself as you discover Prikhodkos story about her quest to find love, and a dreamland to the cold north. Her mother, a widow fights for every inch along her bloody road while raising her two daughters. Beasts on horses raid the savages lands, cannibalizing their captured prey. Salko (the widow) defies all odds by keeping her family together. One morning she awakes and decides to chase the dream of her grandmother. They now discover that the beasts are not the only dangers on Lamenta. Death demands a high price for this dream quest as they to no avail try to squeeze past its hellish grip. Prikhodko finds love and tears many times. Her mission includes destroying many evil races that live in the underworlds. Her dream captures and destroys all her loves until she escapes her dreams bloody cage. She finds herself in so many different places, including Sharyawn, the next planet in their solar system. Prikhodko holds one great secret, that being the future divinity of her daughter (the Chosen One) who will someday rule more galaxies then Lamenta has grains of sands. Her daughters first throne will rule over demons as their Queen. She eventually escapes and creates the greatest empire of love and peace throughout the remainder of this series. How can we not know about the millions of galaxies and different dimensions? Life does exist as so many great Empires exist and evolve. Some are from the light of good, while others are from the dark of evil. There shall come forth the chosen one. This first book shares the birth of the chosen one's mother, and her tribulations as the powers of the lights and powers of the dark fight so hard to capture the chosen one, who shall first be the queen of evil and then fight her way back into the light to be the Queen of Queens of light. prikHodko loses all to find her dream, only to have it taken from her.
In the Jhanctum galaxy, far beyond ours, a highly communicable contagion called the Wehtiko Influence has inexplicably escalated in its infection rate that is normally manageable by the unwavering vigilances of an alien military Corp. called the Qi-Tahh Supremacy. This outbreak began thousands of years ago, but its origin remains unknown, its actions are unpredictable and the cure is still as elusive as the contagion itself. This insidious strain does not affect all who are exposed, it cannot be eradicated and once Influenced, neither the host nor their planet can ever be completely cleansed of its barbarous effects.The Wehtiko is not an organism or a viral-based pathogen, it is an affliction of evil that unleashes the darkest nature of those Influenced. To combat the threat, the Ohdens, the Governing Council Authority mobilized the Supremacy who fights to maintain order over the populists gone mad and unravel the mystery behind the escalation. Planet Thada Argen is discovered to be ground zero, and is home to two peaceful species, the Dir-nays, a pygmy race, and the Eanois; humanoids with whom they have shared friendship and trade for decades. The Zahnobein Qi-Tahh, Wild Cards as good as their flag ship, are sent to inoculate the Influenced and prevent the Wehtiko from becoming a full-blown contagion that if not stopped here, will engulf their galaxy and spread beyond unchecked. However, during a skirmish with the Pygmies, the Elphah and eight Pridesmen are mysteriously whisked away leaving the remaining Pride to cope with the Dir-nays and an unforeseen circumstance that jeopardizes the success of their mission. They must delay searching for their missing family and complete the inoculation assignment within the allotted time, or the Life Protectors will be forced to destroy the planet and kill everyone on itincluding their own Pride.
A space-traveling Jesuit priest confronts a moral but godless alien race in this Hugo Award–winning novel by the author of the Cities in Flight saga.

Father Ruiz-Sanchez is a dedicated man, a Jesuit priest who is also a scientist, and a scientist who is also a human being. He doesn’t feel any genuine conflicts in his belief system—until he is sent to Lithia.
The reptilian inhabitants of this distant world appear to be admirable in every way. Untroubled by greed or lust, they live in peace. But they have no concept of God, no literature, and no art. They rely purely on cold reason. But something darker lies beneath the surface: Do the Lithians pose a hidden threat? The answers that unfold could affect the fate of two worlds. Will Ruiz-Sanchez, a priest driven by his deeply human understanding of good and evil, do the right thing when confronted by a race that is alien to its core?
The Science Fiction Encyclopedia lauds A Case of Conscience as “one of the first serious attempts to deal with religion [in science fiction], and [it] remains one of the most sophisticated. It is generally regarded as an SF classic.” Readers of Isaac Asimov’s Foundation Trilogy, Mary Doria Russell’s The Sparrow, or Walter M. Miller Jr.’s A Canticle for Leibowitz will find this award-winning novel a gripping, compelling exploration of some of the most intractable and important questions faced by the human species. Includes an introduction by Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author Greg Bear.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.