Missing Persons

River's Edge Media, LLC
Free sample

A riveting, unforgettable story of vengeance stretched to the outer limits of sanity.

Fatal attraction to a charismatic killer—the only apparent link in the lurid slayings of young women across a dozen states, but seemingly enough for criminologist Joanne Fleming to create a psychological profile of the murderer: brilliant, elusive, sometime voyeur, too often an angel of no mercy, the awful truth of him cloaked in his “innocent”—and irresistible—sexual allure. Fleming, the professional, seeks rehabilitation, not retribution. What she finds—and what finds her—is a fight to the last ounce of cunning and courage for the life of her teen-age daughter against a man out to teach the expert a lesson she will never forget.

Through the swamps and bayous of Florida, and the mired channels of the criminal justice system, Joanne Fleming’s professional and personal lives collide, as mother and murderer track each other in an intricate—and ultimately intimate—dance of death-and-survival.

 

Read more

About the author

C. Terry Cline Jr. was born in Birmingham, Alabama “on a train going out,” he always said, because his family moved often during his youth. Terry looked at life as a big adventure and aspired to be a writer from an early age, despite the fact that he hated school. His relationship with traditional learning and his desire to escape authority to his natural environs was captured in Judith Richards's novel, Summer Lightning, set in Belle Glade, Florida.

Writing was an early interest, and he was selling articles on nature and short stories by age seventeen. As an adult, and creator of his own advertising and public relations business, Terry once trained a chimpanzee to bowl – a unique way to draw crowds to newly opened bowling alleys. He traveled the U.S. with Judy the “Chimpion” Bowler, appearing on every major TV outlet. The outgrowth of working with a chimp was a magazine, Land Alive, and an educational program on animals offered to schools.

At age 37, Terry sold his business to concentrate on writing novels. The first of his ten novels of psychological suspense sold after a three year effort. Cline was called a “master of suspense” by more than one reviewer. He finished his last work, The Cordoba Connection, a few months before suffering a stroke, which resulted in his death in 2013.

C. Terry Cline’s wife of thirty-four years, author Judith Richards, collaborated with him in the writing of all his works.

 

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
River's Edge Media, LLC
Read more
Published on
Jun 2, 2016
Read more
Pages
332
Read more
ISBN
9781940595481
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING DEBUT PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER YOU CAN'T MISS!

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

“A hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep you reading long into the night.” —Mary Kubica, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Good Girl

“This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” —Booklist (starred review)

"A can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“This debut is guaranteed to haunt you...Warning: brace yourself.” —Bustle (10 New Thrillers to Read This Summer)

“The sense of believably and terror that engulfs Behind Closed Doors doesn't waver.” —The Associated Press, picked up by The Washington Post

“This was one of the best and most terrifying psychological thrillers I have ever read.” —San Francisco Book Review


Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He’s a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You’re hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are inseparable.

Some might call this true love. Others might wonder why Grace never answers the phone. Or why she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. Or why she never seems to take anything with her when she leaves the house, not even a pen. Or why there are such high-security metal shutters on all the downstairs windows.

Some might wonder what’s really going on once the dinner party is over, and the front door has closed.

From bestselling author B. A. Paris comes the gripping thriller and international phenomenon Behind Closed Doors.

The instant New York Times Bestseller (January 2018)!

"A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" —New York Times Book Review

"Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." —Glamour

"Jaw dropping. Unforgettable. Shocking." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The best domestic suspense novel since Gone Girl." —In Touch Weekly

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of Glamour Magazine's Best Books of 2018 | One of Hello Giggles' 19 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Fiendishly clever...in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." —Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

“A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it." –Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

“This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!” —Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault

“Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession.” —Javier Ramirez, The Book Table

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.