The Ringmaster's Daughter: A beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 love story

· Bookouture
4.0
4 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages

About this ebook

'Just about broke my heart… I finished this book in a couple of hours because I couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


A heartbreaking and beautiful love story set in the darkest hours of World War Two – perfect for fans of The Nightingale and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.


Paris, 1940. Twenty-year-old Michel Bonnet lives on the edge of the law, finding work where he can at the horse fairs on the outskirts of the city. But when Paris falls to the Nazis, Michel escapes as a stowaway on a secret midnight train bound for the south. It’s a journey that will change his life forever.


It’s there Michel first sees Frieda – dark-haired, mysterious and also fleeing the Germans. Homeless and hungry, Michel would do anything for a safe place to sleep… and the chance to spend one more hour with her.


But there’s something Frieda isn’t telling him, a secret she has sworn to carry to her grave. As Michel leaves Paris behind for the lavender fields and hillside villages of the rural south, he’s in more danger than he could ever know…


What readers are saying about The Ringmaster’s Daughter:


This is the best book I have read this year, it is beautiful and atmospheric. The story really draws you in and you find yourself really caring about all of the characters and their battle for survival as outsiders in occupied France.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I felt the heartache, fear and desperation of the characters living in France at this time… The place descriptions, particularly of Paris, were phenomenal… I read it in twenty-four hours and just could not put it down. A moving, captivating read.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Beyond amazing. I enjoyed this book so very much. The characters and storyline were fantastic. Could not put it down nor did I want to. This is going to be a must read for many many readers.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


‘The author of this book weaves a marvellous story together… It is both a thought provoking and, at times, emotionally punching read. I'm hooked. I devoured The Ringmaster's Daughter in two sessions. Brilliant story.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


The Ringmaster's Daughter was a true delight to read. From the very first page, the writing was absolutely gorgeous and painted such a beautiful picture with its imagery.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘Schabowski's debut novel, The Ringmaster's Daughter, is impressive in both expanse and execution. If I had to describe this novel in 3 words they would be: poignant, earnest, and undaunted. Schabowski is a gifted wordsmith… overall this novel is an affecting, entertaining, and intriguing read.’ NetGalley reviewer


‘The world of The Ringmaster's Daughter is well-crafted and wonderfully vivid – especially that of circus… The story is captivating.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘This is a truly sensational debut novel. Carly Schabowski is definitely one to watch out for, I certainly will be.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘This is a wonderful wartime love story but also a story about friendship, hope and sacrifice. A delightful read that will get you hooked from the get go!’ Lu Reads Anything, 5 stars

Ratings and reviews

4.0
4 reviews
Rosemary De Gouveia
July 14, 2023
Good story about a ringmaster who hides some Jews in 1940, within the circus. Michel escapes from Paris and befriends 2 of them. He has a way with horses, so he is allowed to stay. He falls in love with Frieda, the ringmaster's daughter. Along the way they run into trouble with the Germans and have to flee.
Cindy Murphy
July 7, 2020
I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. The description of this book said it was good for fans of Water for Elephants, The Nightingale and The Tattooist of Auschwitz. All of these are books I enjoyed. The cover of the book is beautiful and has the words "A beautiful and heartbreaking Word War 2 love story. I have read a number of WW2 love stories and I would not have classified this book as being one. It is a love story and it does take place during WW2. While this is a very good book it is also very similar to the books listed in its description. The title is a bit of a disappointment as it is one of the big reveals in the book. I did enjoy the book which is why I gave it 4 stars but it did not grab my attention like it should have.
Annette Johnson
July 7, 2020
I love this gorgeous cover! This is a love story set during WW2 and amid the backdrop of a circus. It has a cast of interesting characters each trying to survive during a troubling time. I enjoyed the story Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the early copy

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.