Girl on the Run: An absolutely gripping and addictive crime thriller

· Detective Madison Knight Series Book 11 · Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc.
4.0
3 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

College student Courtney Middleton disappeared fifteen years ago. Everyone presumed she was dead…

 

Detective Madison Knight shows up at the local train station in the aftermath of a fatal shooting, and finds two women killed on scene. One was expecting her first child. The other was a wife and mother of two children and has Madison seeing a ghost from her past. She’s convinced the woman is her missing college friend, but why would she change her identity? And where has she been all this time?

 

There’s no lead on the gunman, but eyewitnesses tell of a mysterious young woman who may have triggered him. There’s no sign of her either—or another man who is said to watch over her all the time.

 

As the investigation continues, a drug-trafficking ring is exposed with connections to the Russian Mafia. The girl is one of their runners, and the man shadowing her is one of their handlers. When he’s found murdered in his apartment, shot with bullets of the same caliber used in the train station shooting, Madison knows the Russians will retaliate. She also realizes the women weren’t killed in some random incident.

 

As Madison works to figure out that piece of the puzzle, she’ll need to stay one step ahead of the mob to beat them to the elusive gunman and the girl. But when saving them puts her life and that of a loved one in danger, Madison finds out too late that the cost for justice comes at too high a price.

 

An absolutely gripping and addictive crime thriller. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan, and Rachel Caine.


The Detective Madison Knight Series is currently optioned and under development by Muse Entertainment and Pop Fiction.

 

Readers love Girl on the Run:

 

“Keeps you glued to the pages… An intense ride full of mystery!” ~ The Avid Reader, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“This book had suspense, action, intrigue, mobsters, drama and great police work! I will definitely recommend!” ~ Goodreads Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“This is a fast-paced, action-packed thriller/mystery that I couldn't put down.” ~ Goodreads Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  


Amazing twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat.” ~ Goodreads Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Loved the plot, the characters, and the ever-changing suspect list. Highly recommend.” ~ Goodreads Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.0
3 reviews
Kristina Anderson
April 24, 2022
Girl on the Run by Carolyn Arnold is the eleventh novel in Detective Madison Knight Series. I was not aware that this book was part of a series when I obtained it (I really need to start checking). While I could read Girl on the Run, I believe I would have benefited from reading the first book in the series. I believe it would have given me a different perspective on Detective Madison Knight. I thought Girl on the Run contained good writing with developed characters. I found the pacing to be mixed. There were areas that were fast paced and others that were slow. Detective Madison Knight is not a likeable character in this story. I found her to be annoying and abrasive. Madison is rude and dismissive. I understand that she is dealing with her miscarriage, but that is no excuse for the way she treated people. It seems Madison needs some time off and a good therapist. I did not like the bickering between Madison and her partner, Terry. She also kept punching him in the shoulder. Terry told her repeatedly that she gets more flies with honey than with vinegar (she treated victim’s and their families as well suspects terribly). If I was Terry, I would have asked for a new partner. Madison is extremely confrontational. She was focused on the crime to the exclusion of everything else. I wonder if she believes anyone tells the truth. Madison believes corruption is everywhere (it could be, but the repetitiveness got annoying). The mystery was complex. The crime ties back to previous books. The explanations slowed down the pacing considerably (again, reading the previous books would have been beneficial). Madison and her partner, Terry work hard to get the truth and find the guilty party. The pace increased at the end with the story with their being a rapid conclusion. I thought the story wrapped up a little too quickly. There is a lot of repetitive details in the story especially surrounding the case. Girl on the Run does contain violence and foul language. While Girl on the Run was not a good fit for me, I suggest you read a sample to see if it suits you. We all view books differently. Girl on the Run has a complex crime with curious killings, an exasperated partner, Russian mobsters, corrupt cops, a manager who micromanages, and one dogged detective.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

***Hélène Joy (Durham County, Murdoch Mysteries) to star as Detective Madison Knight in the series adaptation currently being developed by Muse Entertainment and Pop Fiction.***

 

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has several continuing fiction series and has many published books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from police procedurals, hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures. Her crime fiction series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining. This led to her adopting the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives near London, Ontario, Canada with her husband and two beagles.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.