Prime Deception

Sold by HarperCollins UK
5
Free sample

John Quinn, an investigative journalist on England’s biggest-selling and most notorious tabloid newspaper, is about to write the story of his life – a kiss-and-tell with one of the country’s most powerful men at its heart. But the story dies when Lorna Thomas, the kiss in his kiss-and-tell, kills herself on a quiet country road.

Unable to accept her twin’s suicide, Laurie Thomas follows in her sister’s footsteps to London and to the heart of government. And as she becomes more involved in Lorna’s world, she grows more convinced than ever that Lorna did not take her own life.

But if Lorna didn’t kill herself, who did?

Praise for Carys Jones

'Carys has created a wonderful thriller that will keep you on your toes and make you turn the pages in a hurry to get more of the story.' - Sabina's Adventures in Reading

'I had a blast reading this, and it made me really miss the days when I would sit down and devour a mystery in a few sittings.' - Live a Thousand Lives

'...I loved it all! Carys is such a brilliant writer and I hope to read more of her work! I give this book 5 stars! ' - Lovely Reads

Don't miss Carys Jones' new Avalon series:

First to Fall

Second to Cry

Third to Die

Fourth to Run - out now!

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Carys Jones loves nothing more than to write and create stories which ignite the reader's imagination.

Read more
Collapse
3.8
5 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 7, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
304
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781472094728
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Legal
Fiction / Thrillers / Political
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In Book 2 of the bestselling thriller series, lawyer Kate Lange must defend an accused who is indefensible—her boss.

What if you were accused of a terrible crime—by your own child?

When Elise Vanderzell plummets from her bedroom balcony one gorgeous summer night, her children awaken to a nightmare.

Their mother is dead.
Their father is charged with her murder.

"...a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller..."—Omnimystery 

Lawyer Kate Lange knows all about nightmares. She's survived the darkest period of her troubled life and the wounds are still raw. 

Now she's been handed a case that seems utterly unwinnable: defending her boss, high-profile lawyer Randall Barrett. 

A prosecutor's dream suspect, Randall is a man who was cuckolded by his ex-wife. A man who could not control his temper. A man who had argued bitterly with the victim the previous day in full view of his children.

"...the suspense is intense, the action shocking and the plot intriguing..."—RT Book Reviews 

With limited criminal law experience, Kate finds herself enmeshed in a family fractured by doubt. Randall's teenage son is intent on killing him. His daughter wants only to feel safe again. And the entire legal community would like nothing better than to see Randall receive a public comeuppance. 

As Kate races to stay a step ahead of the prosecution, a silent predator is waiting for the perfect time to deal the final blow.

"Indefensible is a one-seat read!"—Manic Readers 

If you love "...a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller"( —Omnimystery) with psychological and domestic suspense elements, a strong police procedural storyline, heart-stopping action, a complex cast characters whose motives are questioned at every turn, then you will enjoy INDEFENSIBLE. 

With over one million readers, the bestselling Kate Lange Thriller Series is perfect for fans of John Grisham, Harlan Coben, James Patterson, Scott Pratt, Tess Gerritsen, David Baldacci, and Lisa Scottoline.

What readers are saying about INDEFENSIBLE: 

"This is an amazing series. It's like the last few chapters keep my legs jerking with tension...be prepared to not put it down once you start reading."

"Couldn't put this book down...This one keeps you on the edge of your seat. Her characters seem so real."

"What an amazing thriller...I highly recommend this book and author. She is highly talented and an expert at writing thrillers."

"You won't want to put it down."

"Absolutely amazing read."

"A mystery thriller that really thrilled."

"Gripping...These characters and stories are addicting. Highly recommend if you like a good mystery."

"Page turning crime drama. Fast paced twisting crime thriller that will keep any crime thriller reader on the edge of his seat. A great read."

"Riveting. Very exciting and action packed...It was thoroughly enjoyable. Highly recommend."

"Page turner! I read the first of the series and immediately bought the sequel. It was terribly difficult to put down. Excellent murder/mystery."

"Terrific thriller! Ms. Callow skilfully builds the story to a point where you can't put it down."

"Another intense and interesting read in the Kate Lange series."

"The whole series is FANTASTIC."

"Wonderful...the first book in the series was amazing. I couldn't wait to read this one. Now I can't wait to read the next one."

The bestselling Kate Lange Thriller Series—
Thrillers that will keep you up at night. 

DAMAGED (Book 1). ISBN 978-0-9951543-1-5 
INDEFENSIBLE (Book 2). ISBN 978-0-9951543-3-9 
TATTOOED (Book 3). ISBN 978-0-9951543-5-3 
EXPLOITED (Book 4). ISBN 978-0-9951543-7-7 

THE CONFIDENCE MAN (prequel novella) - exclusive to the Ladies of the Legal Thriller LEGAL BRIEFS Anthology until February 2019. 

Look for the individual release of THE CONFIDENCE MAN in February 2019! 

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.