The Faithfuls: An emotional page-turner with a heart-stopping twist

· Bookouture
4.0
8 reviews
Ebook
446
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

A summer house in the Hamptons doesn’t always buy happiness, as one woman is about to find out…

 

For fifteen glorious years, Gina Dewar has been married to her college sweetheart Bobby. Years in which she has lived in the small company town of Alma, New York, lovingly raised their son Calan, been secretary of the Alma Social Club, and tried not to think too often of the family she said goodbye to when she became a Dewar.

 

But then Bobby is publicly accused of having an affair, and Gina’s life changes overnight, overwhelmed with scandal, speculation and the agony of uncertainty.

 

Gina’s sister-in-law Alice is her polar opposite, she has never appreciated the traditional values of Alma, or tried to fit in with its quaint neighborliness. But in these devastating circumstances, could she be the one person who can help Gina piece her life back together?

 

After Gina makes the decision to trust Bobby, who has claimed his innocence all along, she hopes her family can move forward. But then she hears the rumor that his supposed mistress is pregnant and she is shaken to the core. With Alice’s unexpected support, Gina must face up to the secrets within her marriage, and do whatever she can to protect the people she loves…

 

A moving, emotionally gripping novel about family secrets and the unbreakable strength of female friendship. A stunning new read for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Dorothea Benton Frank and Nancy Thayer.

 

Readers love Cecilia Lyra:

“A great storyteller. Her novel had me captivated until the very last page.” Lori Nelson Spielman, #1 internationally bestselling author of The Life List

 

“ABSOLUTELY UNPUTDOWNABLE. Warm and emotional. I loved it completely from beginning to end captured my heart from the first page… Brilliant writing, lovable characters, real situations, the book was everything I needed and more.” Book Reviews by Shalini, 5 stars

 

“A simply glorious read!… One of the best books I read this year!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Definitely for fans of Elin Hilderbrand. I absolutely loved it and liked that the drama was intense but there was reprieve and easy reading in between. It was well-written and truly the perfect beach read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“WOW! What an incredible story that brought out so many emotions.” Heidi Lynn’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

“A fantastic read!… I cried at quite a few spots. I didn't want this book to end!!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Delightful, bittersweet and beguiling… Had me utterly enchanted. The Sunset Sisters is uplifting and compelling and I highly recommend it.” Brianne’s Book Reviews, 5 stars

 

“Brilliant book. Loved it.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“The perfect summer story.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“A fantastic, great read. The story is full of emotions. Recommend it.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“A great book.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Read this in one day.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“A great read… has the full gamut of emotions and it's not to be missed.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“An emotional, heart-warming summer read that is perfect to lay back and relax with on lazy, summer afternoons… this story pulled at my heart strings and took me on an emotional, heart-warming ride the entire way through.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“Love, lies and betrayal at its best. This is a compulsive read, one I had difficulty putting down.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“The kind of story I love! Family secrets, all those skeletons in the closets makes for a book I couldn’t put down!” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

“Amazing, emotional.” Goodreads reviewer

 

“An emotional, heart-warming summer read… will envelope you and not let you out of its grasp until you have read each and every word of this bittersweet, emotional tale… this story pulled at my heart strings and took me on an emotional, heart-warming ride the entire way through.” Goodreads reviewer

4.0
8 reviews
DJ Sakata
September 24, 2020
This family had created and lived in quite an entangled, torn, and mangled web of deceit, power, love, privilege, familial bonds, and avarice. There were numerous betrayals, infidelities, scandals, and everybody lied. And I mean e-v-e-r-y-b-o-d-y! Even the Mormon lady, who was holding on to one of the biggest whoppers of all. And when I say lies, I don’t mean little white lies, omissions, misrepresentations, or even the current occupant’s self-aggrandizing “Alternative Facts.” I’m talking black-hearted and treacherous deceptions. I fell right into this juicy and complex tale of family drama with no hesitation or struggle despite not having read the first in the series, although the characters from the initial book only briefly carried over in passing. The plot was multi-layered and tightly wound with considerable second-guessing, intrigue, and compelling and untrustworthy characters. But which liar is currently lying and which one isn’t this time? The gossip was rabid and even worse the actual events. Ah, small-town living, I remember it well - and not at all fondly.
Did you find this helpful?
Grace J. Reviewerlady
September 21, 2020
Families! Who'd have them, eh? But when the chips are down . . . The town of Alma, New York is looked upon as the perfect place to live; the inhabitants are referred to as Almanacs and there is a huge community spirit. The Dewars are regarded - especially by themselves - as Alma's golden first family and have a hand in running everything. With the public accusation that Bobby Dewar has cheated on his wife Gina, she is faced with very public speculation about whether she should stand by her man or show him the door. With Bobby's strong denial, Gina needs to show her mettle and it turns out she is stronger than she looks. But then, Bobby isn't the only one in the family who has been harbouring secrets. Oh, what a tangled web we weave when we first practice to deceive! To begin with I regarded Alma and it's inhabitants as a bit 'Stepford Wife-ish'. I cringed at the thought of living in the same street as my family - after all, we all need a bit of space! Oh, but there is so much more to this one! When I got really into the story I was convinced that I understood exactly what was going on and where it was heading but, at that point I only had the barest bones of events and there was so much more to come. This is a novel choc-a-bloc with information, but organised info - if you know what I mean. The story is twisted and complicated but the writing is concise and clearly understandable. The shocks and surprises just kept on coming all the way through and this skilfully crafted tale is a riveting read which kept my attention from the very first to the very last. I can honestly say this is a unique book - I've never come across another with similar content, and I really enjoyed it. Perfectly timed in light of the #MeToo movement, and completely eye-opening as well as entertaining. Well worth 4.5* and a hearty recommendation.
Did you find this helpful?
Kathleen Hughes
September 21, 2020
Family drama in a small company town. The Dewar clan has dominated both the social and business lives of the residents of Alma, NY, called Almanacs, for generations. The family business, Alma Boots, is the town jewel. All that is threatened when company CEO Bobby Dewar is threatened with a sexual harassment suit by employee Eva Stone. She says that although their affair was consensual, she was swayed by his power and importance. And she’s now pregnant with twins. It seems that every generation of Dewars produces a set of twins so that adds much credence to her story. While #metoo posts flood social media, Bobby’s wife Gina is confused. Her sister-in-law Alice, married to Bobby’s twin Nick, is herself a victim of harassment. She talks to Gina about inequity in the workplace but Gina remains loyal. Meanwhile her son Calan is being bullied in school and Alice’s daughter is being raised by the gorgeous nanny Malaika. While The Faithfuls is a very entertaining novel with many twists and surprises, it also has surprising depth. It examines workplace statistics (not just in Alma) about women’s leadership and salaries relative to men. Through Malaika, author Cecilia Lyra shoes how women sometimes have to make very hard choices to advance their careers. And who could not love Calan, the small teenage boy, moved a year ahead in school, who wants to be a graphic novelist and is unmercifully bullied. This is a thought provoking, entertaining read worth every one of 5 stars. Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Cecilia Lyra for this ARC.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.