Poison Girls

Diversion Publishing Corp.
Free sample

“A great new voice in crime fiction. Noir fans and readers of Laura Lippman will love Poison Girls” (Jamie Freveletti, international-bestselling author of Blood Run).
 
It’s the summer of 2008. Chicago’s “Hyde Park Senator” is running for the president, the city is vying to host the 2016 Summer Olympics, and “Poison,” a lethal form of heroin, has killed more than 250 people, including dozens of suburban girls from prominent families.
 
Natalie Delaney, a crime reporter from the Chicago Times, discovers that daughters of Democratic powerhouses are the real targets. Obsessed with finding who is behind the killings, Natalie becomes entangled in an underworld where drugs, cops, gangs, politics, and privilege collide. Risking everything, this reporter becomes the story . . .
 
“Touching, salty, brutal, organized, lost, powerful and tragic.” —Janet Burroway, author of Writing Fiction
 
“An ambitious book, noirish, Dickensian in a modern way, and rooted in the realistic tradition. It tells a complex story.” —Stuart Dybek, MacArthur Fellow and author of The Coast of Chicago
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Cheryl L. Reed is a veteran journalist. She is the author of Poison Girls, a thriller about mysterious deaths of girls in Chicago. She is also the author of Unveiled: The Hidden Lives of Nuns, which chronicles her four years living off and on with nuns. She is a former editor and reporter at the Chicago Sun-Times and other newspapers. She earned her MFA from Northwestern University and recently was a US Fulbright Scholar in Ukraine. She is an assistant professor at Syracuse University. Reed's reportage of girls using drugs drug is the inspiration for Poison Girls, her fiction debut.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Diversion Publishing Corp.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 12, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
374
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781682308257
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Political
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
INSTANT BESTSELLER

“This is seriously good. I mean—seriously.” —Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Past Tense

“A powerful, thoughtful, realistic, at times terrifying thriller that I could not put down. A terrific addition to the genre, Jack Carr and his alter-ego protagonist, James Reece, continue to blow me away.”—Mark Greaney, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Mission Critical

“True Believer, the highly anticipated new thriller from Jack Carr, is one of this year’s hottest thrillers, and a perfect fit for fans of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and Daniel Silva.” —The Real Book Spy

In acclaimed author Jack Carr’s follow-up to The Terminal List, former Navy SEAL James Reece’s skill, cunning, and heroism put the US government back in his debt and set him on another path of revenge.

When a string of horrific terrorist attacks plagues the Western world during the holiday season, the broader markets fall into a tailspin. The attacks are being coordinated by a shadowy former Iraqi commando who has disappeared into Europe’s underground. The United States government has an asset who can turn the Iraqi against his masters: James Reece, the most-wanted domestic terrorist alive.

After avenging the deaths of his family and team members, Reece emerges deep in the wilds of Mozambique, protected by the family of his estranged best friend and former SEAL Team member. When a series of events uncovers his whereabouts, the CIA recruits him, using a Presidential pardon for Reece and immunity for the friends who helped him in his mission of vengeance.

Now a reluctant tool of the United States government, Reece travels the globe, targeting terrorist leaders and unraveling a geopolitical conspiracy that exposes a traitorous CIA officer and uncovers a sinister assassination plot with worldwide repercussions.

A high-intensity roller-coaster ride, True Believer explodes with action and authenticity that cements Jack Carr as the new leader in political thrillers.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.