Before the Storm

Chris Kuzneski, Inc.
Free sample

Before the Storm is the first story in THE HUNTERS: ORIGINS, and it focuses on the team leader of the Hunters. After his unexpected discharge from the U.S. Army, Jack Cobb finds it difficult to adjust to civilian life. He flies to Florida to meet with his contacts at MacDill AFB, but he is denied entry to the base because of the scandal that ended his military career.

Thankfully two of Cobb’s closest friends (Jonathon Payne and David Jones) come to his rescue. Braving an approaching thunderstorm and some of the worst beach music they’ve ever heard, their tales of adventure do more than cheer him up. They open Cobb’s eyes to an opportunity that will change his life forever.

NOTE: This is not a full-length book. It is a short novella that takes place prior to the action of THE HUNTERS. The goal of ORIGINS is to delve into the backstory of the major characters in the Hunters series while setting the stage for future books and providing clues and insight into THE HUNTERS movie.
Read more

More by Chris Kuzneski

See more
14 total

Additional Information

Chris Kuzneski, Inc.
Read more
Published on
Dec 1, 2016
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Humorous / General
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Main plot

While on duty as an officer with the U.S. Air Force in Libya, the central character successfully negotiates with a small Arab girl at a Roman ruins site for a recently unearthed golden urn. The girl is subsequently “killed’ by a driven assassin who is part of a worldwide collaboration organized to prevent the urn and its contents from being made public. The collaboration consists of a rogue Monsignor of the Vatican, a separate rogue, rabbinical group in Israel, and the reluctant Director of the USA’s CIA.

The urn is smuggled out of Libya by the USAF officer to the U.S., but only after the assassin attempts, but fails, to stop the officer. However, the officer’s Libyan friend/ interpreter is murdered. The assassin had been previously directed to follow the urn wherever it goes and stop public acknowledgement by any means at his disposal, including death, if necessary. The officer and his two friends, against many obstacles, eventually recover the contents of the urn – an old Hebrew parchment that relates to the location of a stone tablet, purportedly kept and hidden by Moses himself, containing six additional commandments that ultimately could change the religious history of the world.

The trio later manages to travel to Saudi Arabia to unearth the stone tablet, but they further encounter the assassin once again. Other difficulties put in their path, not only by the rogue groups, but also by the American CIA and unexpected, unexplained tablet radiation give the trio a dilemma–filled journey.
A secondary sub-plot involves the romantic rivalry between the officer, his best friend and the female of the trio. All three, after reconciliation, are stalked, harassed and almost killed many times by the assassin.

A third subplot involves the covert use by the CIA of the Foundation, where the trio is employed. That Foundation also serves as a front for a Washington, D.C.-based overseas group of ambitious Muslims, initially unbeknown by the main characters. In the beginning of the story, the rivalry between the main character and his long-time friend for the position of the Director dominates this subplot. They ultimately do expose and force the termination of the CIA’s involvement, however.

The story ends with the traumatic and climactic demise of the rogue Monsignor.
One by one, in cities across America, people of all ages are taken from their homes, their cars, their lives. But these aren't random kidnappings. They're crimes of passion, planned and researched several months in advance, then executed with a singular objective in mind. Revenge.

Ariane Walker is one of the victims, dragged from her apartment with few clues to follow. The police said there's little they can do for her, but that isn't good enough for her boyfriend, Jonathon Payne.

With the help of his best friend, Payne gives chase, hoping that a lead in New Orleans somehow pays off. Together, they uncover the mystery of Ariane's abduction and the truth behind the South's most violent secret.



James Patterson, #1 international bestselling author—“THE PLANTATION is a rip-roaring page-turner based on an ingenious idea. No reader will easily forget it.”

Lee Child, #1 international bestselling author—“Excellent! High stakes, fast action, vibrant characters, and a very, very original plot concept. Not to be missed!”

Nelson DeMille, #1 international bestselling author—“Wear your running shoes when you read THE PLANTATION. This is the most action-packed, swiftly paced, and tightly plotted novel I’ve read in a long time.”

James Rollins, #1 international bestselling author—“Chris Kuzneski displays a remarkable sense of suspense and action in THE PLANTATION. A riveting ride from start to finish as an ex-Special Forces soldier searches for the kidnappers of his girlfriend, leading to an international manhunt that will leave readers breathless and up much too late. Don’t miss it!”

Douglas Preston, #1 international bestselling author—“THE PLANTATION is a powerful read with a great plot twist. Right from the opening scenes the book takes off, and all I can say is, hang on for the ride.”

Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King’s Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert’s name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildings and worse—unnatural things relegated to myth during the centuries-long summer, but proving all too real and all too deadly in the turning of the season.
Yet a more immediate threat lurks to the south, where Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, has died under mysterious circumstances. Now Robert is riding north to Winterfell, bringing his queen, the lovely but cold Cersei, his son, the cruel, vainglorious Prince Joffrey, and the queen’s brothers Jaime and Tyrion of the powerful and wealthy House Lannister—the first a swordsman without equal, the second a dwarf whose stunted stature belies a brilliant mind. All are heading for Winterfell and a fateful encounter that will change the course of kingdoms.
Meanwhile, across the Narrow Sea, Prince Viserys, heir of the fallen House Targaryen, which once ruled all of Westeros, schemes to reclaim the throne with an army of barbarian Dothraki—whose loyalty he will purchase in the only coin left to him: his beautiful yet innocent sister, Daenerys.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.