The Shooting: Book Nine in the Munro Family Series

LCT Productions Pty Limited
Free sample

USA Today bestselling author Chris Taylor delivers another gripping read…

Detective Senior Sergeant Tom Munro is a veteran police negotiator, but right now he’s in over his head.  Married for sixteen years, Lily Munro and his children are paramount in Tom’s life. But when his loving wife is caught in the crossfires of a school shooting, he is shattered to the core.  While Lily lies in a coma fighting for her life, Tom struggles to pick up the pieces of his crumbling family.  

 Just when he believes life cannot get any worse, Tom’s doctor delivers unexpected and damning test results.  With his teenage daughter acting out, rebelling against the rules, he’s forced to confront his deepest fears.  Now, Tom must face the truth about his own health, deal with his daughter’s issues, all while praying for a miracle for Lily.

Will the shooting be the first of many disasters the family faces or will Tom find a way to save the Munros from destruction? 

Fans of Sandra Brown, Karen Rose, Liliana Hart, Barbara Freethy and J.D. Robb will love this series by USA Today bestselling author Chris Taylor. Start reading now and get hooked on another thrilling read.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

 USA Today bestselling author Chris Taylor grew up on a farm in north-west New South Wales, Australia. She always had a thirst for stories and recalls writing her first book at the ripe old age of eight. Always a lover of romance and happily-ever-afters, a career in criminal law sparked her interest in intrigue and suspense. For Chris to be able to combine romance with suspense in her books is a dream come true.

Chris is married to Linden and is the mother of five children. If not behind her computer, you can find her doing the school run, taxiing children to swimming lessons, football, ballet and cricket. In her spare time, Chris loves to read her favorite authors who include Richard North Patterson, Sandra Brown, Kathleen E Woodiwiss and Jude Devereaux. 


Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
LCT Productions Pty Limited
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 3, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
194
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781925119190
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Family secrets come back to haunt Jack Reacher in this electrifying thriller from “a superb craftsman of suspense” (Entertainment Weekly).

Jack Reacher hits the pavement and sticks out his thumb. He plans to follow the sun on an epic trip across America, from Maine to California. He doesn’t get far. On a country road deep in the New England woods, he sees a sign to a place he has never been: the town where his father was born. He thinks, What’s one extra day? He takes the detour.

At the same moment, in the same isolated area, a car breaks down. Two young Canadians had been on their way to New York City to sell a treasure. Now they’re stranded at a lonely motel in the middle of nowhere. The owners seem almost too friendly. It’s a strange place, but it’s all there is.

The next morning, in the city clerk’s office, Reacher asks about the old family home. He’s told no one named Reacher ever lived in town. He’s always known his father left and never returned, but now Reacher wonders, Was he ever there in the first place?

As Reacher explores his father’s life, and as the Canadians face lethal dangers, strands of different stories begin to merge. Then Reacher makes a shocking discovery: The present can be tough, but the past can be tense . . . and deadly.

Praise for Past Tense

“Child is one writer who should never be taken for granted.”—The New York Times Book Review

“[Lee Child] shows no signs of slowing down. . . . Reacher is a man for whom the phrase moral compass was invented: His code determines his direction. . . . You need Jack Reacher.”—The Atlantic

“Superb . . . Child neatly interweaves multiple narratives, ratchets up the suspense (the reveal of the motel plot is delicious), and delivers a powerful, satisfying denouement. Fans will enjoy learning more of this enduring character’s roots, and Child’s spare prose continues to set a very high bar.”—Publishers Weekly (boxed and starred review)

“Another first-class entry in a series that continues to set the gold standard for aspiring thriller authors.”—Booklist (starred review)

“With his usual flair for succinctness and eye for detail, Child creates another rollicking Reacher road trip that will please fans and newcomers alike.”—Library Journal (starred review)
 Isobel Donnelly has a perfect life. Married to a renowned orthopedic surgeon, she also has a successful and satisfying career as a pediatric nurse at the prestigious Sydney Harbour Hospital. Life couldn’t get any better.

But then her babies arrive and the husband she adores turns into a cold and angry stranger. Her perfect world is shattered the first night he hits her.

Now, she’s trapped in a violent marriage with nowhere to turn. Her husband has threatened to kill her and the kids if she ever dares to leave. In public, they’re the perfect couple, but inside, she’s slowly dying… 

Mason Alexander has relocated to the city to take up his dream job as a pediatric doctor at the prestigious Sydney Harbour Hospital. Recovering from a failed marriage, he’s determined to put the change of scene to good use. The distractions and demands of his new job are just what he needs to get his life back on track.

Then he runs into Isobel Donnelly and his world is once again turned upside down. He’s loved her since they were children. She’s the reason his marriage failed. But Isobel’s still married to his nemesis: the incomparable Nigel Donnelly. From all accounts, the two of them are still blissfully in love.

Vowing to steer clear of the woman who’s haunted his dreams for far too many years, Mason does his best to avoid her, but Isobel continues to seek him out and he can’t help but notice her assurances about her happy marriage appear a little forced.

When she arrives at work with a blackened eye, he’s immediately suspicious: There’s no way she fell over toys left in the way. The thought that Nigel might be abusing her is abhorrent, but the signs are there for all to see. 

Will Mason be able to convince her to leave her husband…or will they both die trying?


©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.