Murder at Sunrise Lake

· Sold by Penguin
4.4
56 reviews
Ebook
432
Pages
Eligible
35% price drop on May 21

About this ebook

#1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan reaches new heights of passion and suspense in this thrilling novel that takes readers deep into the California backcountry, where a woman is tormented by visions of a killer. 

It starts in her dreams. Hideous flashes from a nightmare only she can stop. Images of a murderer stalking the ones she cares about most…

Stella Harrison thought she got away from the traumas of her past. Running the Sunrise Lake resort high in the Sierra Nevada mountains has brought her peace, even though she doesn’t truly share her quiet life with anyone. Not even Sam, the hired handyman that notices everything and always seems to know exactly what she needs. 

Stella doesn’t know anything about Sam’s past, but somehow over the last two years his slow, steady presence has slipped past her defenses. Still, she knows she can’t tell him about her recent premonitions. So far there’s been no murder. No body. No way to prove what’s about to happen without destroying the life she’s built for herself. 

But a killer is out there. And Stella knows that this time she’ll do whatever it takes to stop him.
4.4
56 reviews
Sandy S.
June 30, 2021
MURDER AT SUNRISE LAKE by Christine Feehan is a contemporary, adult, romantic, suspense, slightly paranormal, thriller focusing on vacation resort manager Stella Harrison, and groundskeeper Sam Rossi. WARNING: Due to the nature of the story line premise, there may be triggers for more sensitive readers. Told from third person perspective MURDER AT SUNRISE LAKE follows the search for a serial killer in the fictional resort town of Knightly, on Sunrise Lake in the Sierra Nevadas. Stella Harrison has future sight; a precognitive ability of foreknowledge. In the days before a serial killer takes down his next victim, Stella’s nightmares worsen to reveal the probable location and method of each of his kills but Stella’s abilities are also tied to a horrific childhood wherein she had personal knowledge of the kind of monster that was currently taking down the people in her beloved town. Always at her side, Sam Rossi, a man whose past is awash in government secrets and military assignments, ensures that our heroine is always protected and there whenever Stella’s nightmares and dreams reveal a little more about another kill. What ensues is the building romance and relationship between Stella and Sam, as our couple begin to amass a series of clues that quite possibly points to one of their own. We are introduced to a large ensemble cast of secondary and supporting characters including a few ‘Mafia’ members that may or may not have a future story line: nurse/photographer Harlow Frye; café owner Shabina Foster; computer IT expert and contracted government employee Raine O’Mallory; surgican nurse Vienna Mortenson; nurse Zahra Metcalf; Dr. Denver Dawson; Deputy Sheriff Griffen Cauldry; Sam’s father Don Marco Rossi, and underboss Lucio Vitale. There is definitely a prior history between Lucio and Raine. MURDER AT SUNRISE LAKE is a character driven, complex and detailed story wherein the author introduces numerous characters whose backgrounds and histories are heart breaking, painful and sad. From our story line couple, to most of their friends, each has a story that would break all but the strongest. Christine Feehan pulls the reader into an intriguing, suspense-filled and haunting story of obsession and power, vengeance and betrayal, murder and hate. For fans of Christine Feehan, MURDER AT SUNRISE LAKE is an about-face: there are no erotic $ex scenes, everything fades to black or is mostly implied. There were a few awkward moments of the women acting a little TSTL (too stupid to live) but thankfully smarter heads, or the author, prevailed. I am not sure if the author has plans for future instalments but there are several characters with stories to tell.
31 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Cheryl McCullough
June 18, 2021
"Mommy, Daddy's doing the bad things again" First sentence of Murder At Sunrise. Reaches out and grabs you. Makes you take a breath and wonder what's to come. Stella is intriguing, gutsy, intelligent, caring and beautiful.. Sam reminded me a tad of the men we met in her Torpedo Ink Series, but more well rounded, They both keep secrets. Mystery, suspense , romance. It's all there. This is a stand alone, and I a guessing it will become book 1 in a series ( I can be way off base here) because it was so detailed, so heavy with people and backgrounds, Like laying the ground work for future books.. We meet Stellas' "posse" so to speak, and each one has secrets, each one is beautiful, intelligent and talented. I believe the only creeps, or rude, obnoxious people were men. I loved some of the secrets that came out from the whole group and how they were handled, I was disappointed that most of them were shared here, maybe running my theory of this starting a series. When the background of the killer comes out is heart wrenching, When the final twist comes out, my jaw dropped and I thought whatttttt, missed that. I also loved the epilogue, the very, ending, and I wanted to see more . Thank you for the arc, I freely volunteer my thoughts and opinions.
37 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Mona Lisa
July 6, 2021
A story of deep love.a true happpines found on him.a love measured by full of misery a test of dark shadow cant recognise if ther what kind of creature.a different kind of demons.hundreds black soul in that farm house not happy and try to seperate the two.the nights comes then bad guys entry the house by force. And destroy the good life of the two.a big question to people the incident that night if how they survive by those gangster.some say the boy escape and the girl stay in woodhouse.nobody knows were gone the loveone.after the sunrise the girl meet the love guy just like nothing happen back to normal but everyone asking and scared of the two.some strange in ther faces when they meet the two..the one thing to be surethat anything happen important is he is ther die or alive the true love can make our death to comebk even just a few chance.stiil hope to wake and comback to our loveones.
14 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Christine Feehan is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Carpathian series, the GhostWalker series, the Leopard series, the Shadow Riders series, and the Sea Haven novels, including the Drake Sisters series and the Sisters of the Heart series.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.