To Suffer a Witch: The Blackthorne Chronicles, Book 1

BRP Publishing Group
1
Free sample

Salem, Massachusetts—1692. A plague of witches and dark magic has descended upon the village of Salem. When a court of Oyer and Terminer is called by the governor to bring the guilty to trial, Judge Jacob Blackthorne and the Reverend Cotton Mather are are tasked with discovering the cause for all of this evil.

The trouble is, Jacob Blackthorne is part of the problem. Fifteen years ago, he was seduced by a witch named Abigail Colman. One night in the woods outside of Salem Village, she shared her secret with him—the power of the Sangreal—a magical elixir that forestalls the natural process of death… for a price.

Now cursed with near-eternal youth and the loss of his soul, Jacob prays that he can yet find a path to salvation. Instead, he uncovers a conspiracy dating back to Biblical times.

“With To Suffer a Witch, Christopher Treagus has created a dark fantasy masterpiece. An emotional gauntlet full of brooding atmosphere and prose as sharp as a razor, this is one you don’t want to miss!” — Brian Keene, author, The Rising, City of the Dead and The Conqueror Worms

“Treagus depicts another time and place with his characterization of Salem in the 1600s. The subject matter makes To Suffer a Witch unique, as the language and actions of the people cast in the story are as though you are a witness to those days. Treagus provides many insights into how people lived in that time as his main character, Jacob Blackthorne, reveals how his depravity caused him to fall into the clutches of a witch and become cursed forever. His journey to regain his soul delves into the dark and sordid world of witchcraft, yet justice is served to reaffirm the perception of good surpassing evil.” — The Quill Review

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Christopher Treagus is a novelist and video game writer living in the San Francisco Bay Area. He is the author of several novels, including "To Suffer a Witch," which is set during the Salem witch trials, and its two sequels: "At Play with Ravenous Wolves" and "Before an Angry God." Other books include "In the Autumn of the Unfortunates," a Jack-the-Ripper speculation; "Building a Better Monster," a tale of the chupacabra; and an Eqyptian mummy legend, "The Hunting Sorrow." He is currently working on "Dance of the Firebird," an historical epic that begins with the Russian Revolution, leading up to today. He is also the writer of the bestselling video game "Prey." Find out more about Chris at his website, www.christophertreagus.com, or on his Facebook page.

Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
BRP Publishing Group
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 11, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
228
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781935460695
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Fiction / Fantasy / Paranormal
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
YOUR CALL TO CTHULHU IS IMPORTANT TO US.  PLEASE HOLD.

Red tape. Catch-22s. Circular chains of command. Whether you're a customer or co-worker, bureaucracies drive us all insane. Even management is just a cog in a vast machine. Information, items, and even people get lost in the system, never gone but never found. No one seems to notice the insanity surrounding them... or if they do, they keep it to themselves. After all, those who notice and call attention to it tend to disappear, leaving nothing behind but an empty desk and whispered rumors in the break room. If ever there was a place for a cosmic horror to hide, grow, and thrive, it's deep within the archives of a huge, old bureaucracy.

But of all bureaucracies, corporations are the most powerful, seeming to have a life and will of their own. They're privately held with a multi-national reach, seemingly bottomless resources, and armies of lawyers jealously guarding their trade secrets. Corporate culture fiercely resists any attempt to change or regulate it, and anything and everything is justified by the bottom line. Who needs a Cthulhu Cult when you've got Cthulhu, Inc.?

Into this insidious world are thrust our heroes—the curious, the puzzled, and the frustrated. Defying authority, seeking answers they'd be better off not knowing, the secrets they discover threaten their sanity and their lives. Will they become the next whistleblower media hero? Or the next no-call / no-show their coworkers promptly forget? Just remember: it's nothing personal—it's just business.

This book contains twenty-five tales of bureaucratic insanity, including:

Death Pledge by Jeff Deck
Welcome to the R’lyeh Corporation by James Pratt
Shadow Charts by Marcus Johnston
Casual Friday by Todd H. C. Fischer
The God Under the Church by David Tallerman
Refusal by DJ Tyrer
Dagon-Tec by Adam Millard
Esoteric Insurance, Inc. by Evan Dicken & Adrian Ludens
Career Zombie by John Taloni
Boedromion Noumenia by Andrew Scott
Incorporation by Max D. Stanton
The Loponine Exploitation by John M. Campbell
Festival Preparations by Justin Bailey
Maryanne’s Equations by Harry Pauff
Wholesome Labor by Sam Rent
Like a Good Neighbor by Wile E. Young
Tindalos, Inc. by Charlie Allison
Clean Up Aisle Four by Josh Storey
Forced Labor by Peter Rawlik
The Shadows Lengthen in the Close by Ethan Gibney
It Came From I.T. by Gordon Linzner
Retraction by Marie Michaels
Facilities Management at Dagocorp HQ by L Chan
No Doves Come From Raven Eggs by Mark Oxbrow
Apotheosis by Darren Todd
Fans of Ian Rankin and Lee Child will relish this thriller from the author of Thou Shalt Kill—the second novel in the heart-pounding series featuring hardened homicide detective Franco Patrese.

Daniel Blake more than delivers on the promise of his acclaimed thriller Thou Shalt Kill, bringing back detective Franco Patrese in City of the Dead, “a blood-soaked, full-throttle descent into hell and one of the best thrillers you will read this or any other year” (Lorenzo Carcaterra).

“You’re not tainted. You’re not one of them. I need you alone...”

The woman who contacted Franco Patrese was the ultimate New Orleans society belle: beautiful, seductive, cunning, and, in this case, desperate. The personal assistant to the city’s most powerful man, she had to meet Patrese in secret. Fearful whispers of “sacrifices” were all Patrese could glean; she didn’t live long enough to tell him any more.

Patrese had come to New Orleans, buffeted by the winds of fate, bearing a pain that cops know too well. His native Pittsburgh was still in his bones, while a disaster on a tropical island had shaken his soul. In the thick, hot, exotic world of the Crescent City he began to come alive again. But now he cannot afford to be the new guy, the guy on the outside looking in. A second body has been found, just like the first: Dismembered. A snake, an axe head, a mirror. And blood. A whole lot of blood.

Patrese’s partner is a devout New Orleans native with a past she keeps private. By Selma Fawcett’s side, Patrese races in the footsteps of a serial killer who seems steeped in voodoo and linked to a priestess who practices her dark arts in the clear light of day—and the glare of the media. The more he learns about the victims and their connections, the more bizarre the case becomes. Then a veteran-turned-drug dealer takes him one step further, deep into a realm in which murder is only one kind of perversion.

Patrese and Selma, traveling from the French Quarter to Natchez and the bayou, don’t realize they are out of time. A tide of corruption and secrecy is rising all around them. They are the tainted ones: two good cops, targeted by a force more malevolent than any one before.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.