City of Buried Ghosts

Catalan Crime Thrillers

Book 2
Canelo
Free sample

Be careful what you dig up...

Still recovering from tragedy, Inspector Elisenda Domènech takes on a new case involving a body discovered on an archaeological dig. Seemingly executed as part of an ancient tribal ritual, it soon becomes clear that this body is no antiquity but the victim of a brutal murder from the 1980s.

Uncovering the complex world of jealous archaeologists, vicious rivalries and missing persons, Elisenda battles the dark trade in illicit relics while never far from enemies of her own within the police force.

But the murderer has unfinished work...

The atmospheric second crime thriller featuring Catalan detective Elisenda Domènech, for readers of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves.

Praise for City of Buried Ghosts

'A very well written and exciting murder mystery that does much more than just tickle your whodunit fancy... there are twists and turns all over the place. So many characters appear suspicious, and the final revelation of the murderer is a real surprise. This book works on so many levels and I fully recommend it' 5* Reader review

'I loved the way the modern and the historical/mythic were inextricably entwined in the plot... Interesting characters, a rich sense of place and history, all tied together with masterful storytelling... I’m looking forward to the next in the series.' 5* Reader review

'I found this crime debut a thoroughly enjoyable and interesting read. When you finish a book and feel like you’ve been on holiday, well, surely that’s a very good thing indeed.' 5* Reader review

'What a read! I immediately fell in love with Girona, its legends and Elisenda and her team. This fast-paced, complex novel had me from page one and I found myself unable to stop. The issues that the book raises call for a lot of self-questioning. How far would I agree with the actions of the killer? Could I ever agree? An absolute must-read.' 5* Reader review

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Chris Lloyd lived in Catalonia for over twenty years, besides brief spells in Bilbao, Madrid, Grenoble and a mill in Devon. He has written and contributed to several travel books about Spain for Rough Guides, travelling extensively around the country. Now back in South Wales, he works as a Catalan and Spanish translator. This is his first novel.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 30, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
320
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781910859841
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.