In Darkness, Look for Stars: An absolutely gripping, heartbreaking and epic World War 2 historical novel

Bookouture
This book will become available on April 17, 2020. You will not be charged until it is released.

Paris, 1941: The city is growing more dangerous by the day. Signs proclaiming ‘No Jews’ are posted everywhere in the maze-like streets, and people are dragged away in handcuffs.


Maggie Brouillard devotes herself to the Resistance, helping Jews escape. Though her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and midnight runs, she cannot stop thinking about her fiancé, who was forced to flee. She prays that the love of her life is safe, and sends coded, handwritten letters to her dear sister, Cécilia.


England, 1949: Harriet Conway arrives at grand, grey-stoned Chaffingham House to start her job as secretary. Home to the Brouillard family since they escaped Paris after the war, Chaffingham’s opulence has all but disappeared – its curtains faded, its carpets worn, tragedy hanging in the air…


Harriet is soon consumed by the mystery surrounding the family. The daughter, Cécilia, is confined to a wheelchair due to an accident they refuse to discuss and when a strange man turns up asking for Maggie, the door is slammed shut on him. Why won’t Cécilia look her son in the eye? Why will no one utter Maggie’s name?


It’s clear that Chaffingham is shrouded in secrecy, the family haunted by a past too shocking to speak of. And when Harriet stumbles upon a crumpled letter she uncovers something that will either repair a lifetime of heartbreak, or rip the family apart.


An evocative, riveting and stirring tale about the tragic realities of war, the fine line between loyalty and lies, and the power of love, even in the darkest of times. Fans of The Nightingale, The Letter and All The Light We Cannot See will be spellbound by this magnificent historical novel.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bookouture
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 17, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
405
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781838881993
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
This omnibus edition contains the first three books in the Angela Marchmont Mystery series
Meet enigmatic "lady detective" Angela Marchmont in this series of light-hearted and charming 1920s mysteries!

Includes:

THE MURDER AT SISSINGHAM HALL (Book 1)

On his return from South Africa, Charles Knox is invited to spend the weekend at the country home of Sir Neville Strickland, whose beautiful wife Rosamund was once Knox's fiancée. But in the dead of night Sir Neville is murdered. Who did it? As suspicion falls on each of the house guests in turn, Knox finds himself faced with deception and betrayal on all sides, and only the enigmatic Angela Marchmont seems to offer a solution to the mystery. This 1920s whodunit will delight all fans of traditional country house murder stories.

THE MYSTERY AT UNDERWOOD HOUSE (Book 2)

Old Philip Haynes was never happier than when his family were at each other's throats. Even after his death the terms of his will ensured they would keep on feuding. But now three people are dead and the accusations are flying. Can there really be a murderer in the family? Torn between friendship and duty, Angela Marchmont must find out the truth before the killer can strike again.

THE TREASURE AT POLDARROW POINT (Book 3)

When Angela Marchmont goes to Cornwall on doctor's orders she is looking forward to a nice rest and nothing more exciting than a little sea-bathing. But her plans for a quiet holiday are dashed when she is caught up in the hunt for a diamond necklace which, according to legend, has been hidden in the old smugglers' house at Poldarrow Point for over a century.
Aided by the house's elderly owner, an irrepressible twelve-year-old, and a handsome Scotland Yard detective, Angela soon finds herself embroiled in the most perplexing of mysteries. Who is the author of the anonymous letters? Why is someone breaking into the house at night? And is it really true that a notorious jewel-thief is after the treasure too? Angela must use all her powers of deduction to solve the case and find the necklace—before someone else does.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.