ROMARD: Research on Medieval and Renaissance Drama, vol 51: Special Issue: Showcasing Opportunities

Free sample

ROMARD is an academic journal devoted to the study and promotion of Medieval and Renaissance drama in Europe. Previously published under the title of Research Opportunities in Renaissance Drama (RORD), the journal has been in publication since 1956. ROMARD is published annually at the University of Western Ontario. Manuscripts are submitted to the Editor, Mario Longtin, via email at romard@romard.org. For further details, please visit the ROMARD website at www.romard.org.

Special Issue: Showcasing Opportunities
Co-Edited by Jill Stevenson and Mario Longtin

This volume consists of fourteen short essays, all tackling different aspects of drama observed through a variety of disciplines, theoretical perspectives, and/or methodologies. We asked contributors to begin their pieces by introducing a new critical approach, a new methodology, a specific problem in the field, or an operative link between disciplines that fosters productive connections. In some cases, this framing concept introduces a new concept, methodology, or theoretical approach to the field of early drama studies. In other instances, authors invite readers to reconsider an existing topic or theme from a new perspective. We further asked contributors to select one specific example from early drama and to analyze it critically, but briefly, in order to illustrate their framing concept. We encouraged authors to be bold and, in some cases, to leave questions unresolved. Consequently, this special issue of ROMARD aims to advance the study of early drama by capturing research and ideas in the making. 

Read more

Reviews

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
First Circle Publishing
Read more
Published on
Aug 22, 2013
Read more
Pages
164
Read more
ISBN
9780991976010
Read more
Read more
Best For
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Drama / Medieval
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
John Milton
Edited by William Kerrigan, John Rumrich, and Stephen M. Fallon
 
Derived from the Modern Library’s esteemed The Complete Poetry and Essential Prose of John Milton, this new volume, extensively revised and updated by its editors, contains Milton’s two late masterpieces, the brief epic Paradise Regained and the tragic drama Samson Agonistes. Age after age, these works have inspired new controversy and exciting interpretive debates. With expert commentary to guide the reader through historical contexts and verbal details, as well as the larger political and philosophical implications, the concerns of these canonical pieces live once again for today’s audiences. The volume also contains Milton’s complete shorter poems, which include such major achievements as “Lycidas,” “A Masque Presented at Ludlow Castle, 1634,”  “L’Allegro,” and “Il Penseroso,” and the author’s twenty-four influential sonnets. Thoughtfully edited and carefully designed, this is an essential publication of Milton’s classic poetry.
 
Praise for The Complete Poetry and Essential Prose of John Milton
 
“For generations of readers Milton has been the measure of both eloquence and nobility of mind. For the next generation, this new Modern Library volume will be the standard. It brings Milton, as a poet and a thinker, vividly alive before us.”—Robert Hass, former Poet Laureate of the United States
 
“A superb edition of the great poet, with modernized spelling, lucid introductions to each work, illuminating footnotes, and fresh prose translations in Latin, Greek, and Italian. This will surely be the edition of choice for teachers, students, and general readers too.”—Leo Damrosch, Harvard University
Jody Enders
Was there more to medieval and Renaissance comedy than Chaucer and Shakespeare? Bien sûr. For a real taste of saucy early European humor, one must cross the Channel to France. There, in the fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries, the sophisticated met the scatological in popular performances presented by roving troupes in public squares that skewered sex, politics, and religion. For centuries, the scripts for these outrageous, anonymously written shows were available only in French editions gathered from scattered print and manuscript sources. Now prize-winning theater historian Jody Enders brings twelve of the funniest of these farces to contemporary English-speaking audiences in "The Farce of the Fart" and Other Ribaldries. Enders's translation captures the full richness of the colorful characters, irreverent humor, and over-the-top plotlines, all in a refreshingly uncensored American vernacular.

Those who have never heard the one about the Cobbler, the Monk, the Wife, and the Gatekeeper should prepare to be shocked and entertained. "The Farce of the Fart" and Other Ribaldries is populated by hilarious characters high and low. For medievalists, theater practitioners, and classic comedy lovers alike, Enders provides a wealth of information about the plays and their history. Helpful details abound for each play about plot, character development, sets, staging, costumes, and props. This performance-friendly collection offers in-depth guidance to actors, directors, dramaturges, teachers, and their students.

"The Farce of the Fart" and Other Ribaldries puts fifteenth-century French farce in its rightful place alongside Chaucer, Shakespeare, commedia dell'arte, and Molière—not to mention Monty Python. Vive la Farce!

Book 1
Her breath rose and fell in fearful gasps but it was too late. She could already see what she dreaded most. The back seat was empty. 

Her little girl was gone. 

Abigail lives the perfect life with her doting husband and adorable baby Izzy. But someone knows a secret about Abigail and they want the truth to be told.

When Izzy is snatched from a carpark, it becomes as case for Detective Robyn Carter. Someone has been sending threatening messages to Abigail from an anonymous number. What is Abigail hiding? 

Roby’s instincts tell her there’s a connection between Izzy’s abduction and two murders she is investigating. But the last time she acted on impulse her fiancé was killed. To break this case and earn her place back on the force, she must learn to trust herself again – and fast. Robyn is on the hunt for a ruthless serial killer. And unless she gets to the twisted individual in time a little girl will die ….

Gripping, fast paced and nail-bitingly tense, this serial killer thriller will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

What everyone is saying about Little Girl Lost:

'What a page turner! Wow. My head was spinning from the first page to the last. I was so gripped by the introduction to the characters and then just pulled right into the meat of the thriller until the very last page! Five Stars!' Jersey Girl Forever

'The suspense was fantastic ...the drive to keep turning pages was overpowering ...really well written I want more!' The Belgian Reviewer

'This book totally gripped me from start to finish. It is a very cleverly crafted thriller which leaves no loose ends. Five stars!' Sincerely Book Angels

'I was gripped from the first page it was really good. I couldn't put it down, I was engaged right through to the end of the book. A solid 5 out of 5.' Bonnie's Book Talk

'If I didn’t have do to things like work, Little Girl Lost would have been a one-sitting read. As it was, it was still a one day read before work, at lunch, and finishing it up late last night. It was that suspenseful.' Unrepetant Bibliovores

'Wow! What a book! I started reading it and couldn't stop - kept turning the pages and finished it in one sitting ...I am absolutely blown away!' For the Love of Books

'This was such a good book, I hardly know where to start. This was like a merry - go - round .. up and down, around and around. Five Stars!' Strong Book Reviews

'OMG what can I say? This is the first book I have read by Carol Wyer and I find it very hard to believe that this is her first thriller. I was totally hooked from the first page and the suspense kept delivering all the way through the book right to the last page with several red herrings to keep the reader guessing. This is a very special book that has all the makings of a bestseller and I eagerly await the next in the series.' All Things Books

'An exciting female detective and thrilling storytelling ...I'm already looking forward to the next book in the series!' Reviewing and Recommended Reads

'Wow! What a book! I started reading it and couldn't stop - kept turning the pages and finished it in one sitting!' Renita D'Silva

'This was certainly a gripping read, Carol Wyer presents the reader with a large jigsaw puzzle, or that's what it feels like I found myself constantly wondering how the pieces would fit together, but the author very skilfully puts them all together in the most spectacular way. I will certainly read the next book in the series without hesitation' The Book Review Cafe 

'Can't wait to see what is next in store for D.I.Robyn Carter!' Best Crime Books and More
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.