To Catch a Traitor

Crime Bytes Media
Free sample

"The novel brims with bravado, fear, jealousy, sympathy, chicanery, cruelty, and nobility. Shuster makes the emotional life of her major characters come fully alive while she continues to ratchet up the suspense—all of this set against a vivid rendering of Moscow’s material and political culture." - Philip K. Jason, Jewish Book Council

Every family has its secrets. In 1980s Moscow, keeping them is a matter of survival.

As the Cold War escalates, the Soviet Union’s Jewish community finds itself caught in a tug of war between their allies abroad who want to open the doors to emigration and a country that hates them but won’t let them leave.

A Jew in Moscow, Sofia knows better than most how high the stakes are. Her family is among the thousands who have been watched, harassed, and hunted for their defiance of the Soviet machine. Her own husband was sentenced to five harrowing years in the gulag simply for teaching Hebrew. Sofia has dared even greater risks to help her people, and if she’s caught, she won’t be sent to the gulag. She’ll be executed.

When her husband is released from prison six months early, she should be overjoyed, but the KGB has eyes and ears everywhere. Anyone could be an informant, even the beloved husband who has finally returned. A shell of his former self, he can’t--or won’t--explain his unexpected reprieve, and he’s acting guilty. She suspects he’s harboring dangerous secrets of his own. How can she trust him with hers?

The Americans meets Bridge of Spies in this can't-put-down Cold War story of intrigue and betrayal.

Sins of a Spy

1. To Catch a Traitor - released in August 2018
2.To Hunt a Spy - released in September 2019
Read more
Collapse

About the author

D. B. Shuster is the author of the Cold War espionage and family saga series Sins of a Spy, which begins with To Catch a Traitor. The tale continues with the modern-day Russian mafia crime thriller series and family saga Kings of Brighton Beach, which fans describe as "dark," "dramatic," and "addictive": "makes Mario Puzo's Godfather look like a boy scout."

She serves up thrills of another kind in her humorous and sexy Neurotica series, which begins with Pleasing Professor.

By day, she is a professor of Sociology, and her research keeps her busy with facts and numbers. By night, she writes dark, twisted, sexy serial thrillers. Sometimes she sleeps. A native of Cleveland, she lives in New York with her family.

You can learn more about D. B. at dbshuster.com.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Crime Bytes Media
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 21, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
308
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781941132203
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Jewish
Fiction / Thrillers / Espionage
Fiction / Thrillers / Historical
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"A wicked romp through the hallowed halls of academia!"Laugh out loud at these clever and sexy tales. Academia has never been so naughty!The university men in Professor Melanie Stevenson’s life pressure her to take her proper place—under them. While the proper professor indulges in daring daydreams of...submitting to their will, her “evil” twin, Violet, takes on the role of academic avenger and cracks the whip, so to speak, to work out the kinks in higher education. Written by a college professor, this witty series takes a darkly funny look at the neurotic people and politics of higher education. These eight consecutive short stories tell a larger tale with rich characters, escalating stakes, and steamy action. What Readers are Saying"Timid Professors, evil twins and a good dose of slightly naughty will have you chuckling over the office water cooler.""Love this series! Smart, funny, and sexy. Great brain candy!""Hot and hillarious!""These are awesome. They're over the top enough to be funny but really, really good."Excerpt from "Spanking the Chair"“Spanked?” he repeated, his voice cracking. She licked her lips and nodded, knowing she had his full interest now.“Yes, spanked.” She coiled a lock of hair around her finger, looked down at her own knees. “You know, sometimes I miss that.”“You miss being spanked?”“It was so cathartic, you know? A hot hand on my backside, a good wallop, and all the bad was purged out of me. I’d done my penance and could go back to being good again.” “I don’t know what to say,” he said. Perhaps not, but his thoughts broadcast loud and clear, as he undressed her with his eyes and likely imagined turning her over his knee. So not going to happen.“Do you feel you need to be punished for what you’ve done?” he asked.“I know corporal punishment is out of vogue,” she said. “But truly, it could be so therapeutic.” His head bounced like a bobble head as he communicated his willingness to give her what he most desired, him in the role of punisher.Time to change the game.She crossed her legs, leaned forward, and dropped her voice to a husky whisper. “Have you ever been spanked, Simon?"
The #1 International Bestseller & New York Times Bestseller

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.

“The Tattooist of Auschwitz is an extraordinary document, a story about the extremes of human behavior existing side by side: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I find it hard to imagine anyone who would not be drawn in, confronted and moved. I would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, whether they’d read a hundred Holocaust stories or none.”—Graeme Simsion, internationally-bestselling author of The Rosie Project

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.

Imprisoned for over two and a half years, Lale witnesses horrific atrocities and barbarism—but also incredible acts of bravery and compassion. Risking his own life, he uses his privileged position to exchange jewels and money from murdered Jews for food to keep his fellow prisoners alive.

One day in July 1942, Lale, prisoner 32407, comforts a trembling young woman waiting in line to have the number 34902 tattooed onto her arm. Her name is Gita, and in that first encounter, Lale vows to somehow survive the camp and marry her.

A vivid, harrowing, and ultimately hopeful re-creation of Lale Sokolov's experiences as the man who tattooed the arms of thousands of prisoners with what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust, The Tattooist of Auschwitz is also a testament to the endurance of love and humanity under the darkest possible conditions.

Look out for Pam’s new book, The Lost Girls of Paris, a story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II.

A New York Times bestseller!

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. “ —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night.

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.