The Witch of Babylon

Mesopotamian Trilogy

Book 1
Canelo
3
Free sample

A horde of riches, a dangerous, ancient mystery and a deadly witch’s curse...

John Madison was raised by his older brother Samuel, a famed Mesopotamian scholar. John’s world changes forever when Samuel’s relentless obsession with the recovery of a priceless relic looted from Iraq’s National Museum collides with a deadly game of revenge staged by a childhood friend.

Aided by Tomas, an archaeologist, and Ari, an Iraqi photojournalist – men who have secrets of their own – his quest brings him to Iraq in search of a treasure trove of unparalleled value. To find it, John must discover the link between an ancient witch and a modern-day one, and tread a path fraught with life-threatening danger.

First in the thrilling Mesopotamian trilogy, The Witch of Babylon is perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Raymond Khoury and Scott Mariani
Read more
Collapse

About the author

D. J. McIntosh is the author of The Mesopotamian Trilogy, which has been sold in twenty countries. Her interest in Mesopotamian mythology and history, along with a love for propulsive thrillers, inspired D. J. McIntosh’s debut novel The Witch of Babylon. A finalist for the Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger, the book has sold in twenty countries to date. CNN calls it: “One of six historical thrillers to get you hooked” along with novels by Agatha Christie, Umberto Eco, Kate Mosse, Dan Brown and Wilbur Smith. McIntosh’s Mesopotamian trilogy includes The Book of Stolen Tales and The Angel of Eden – a finalist for an International Thriller Writers award. She’s the author of four novels, two of which have received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly. More about her books at: djmcintosh.com

Read more
Collapse
4.0
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 4, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
450
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788634229
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Fantasy / Historical
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Historical
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In this gritty and gripping new novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling series, Eve Dallas fights to save the innocent—and serve justice to the guilty—on the streets of New York.

Homicide cop Eve Dallas and her billionaire husband, Roarke, are building a brand-new school and youth shelter. They know that the hard life can lead kids toward dangerous crossroads—and with this new project, they hope to nudge a few more of them onto the right path. For expert help, they hire child psychologist Dr. Rochelle Pickering—whose own brother pulled himself out of a spiral of addiction and crime with Rochelle’s support.

Lyle is living with Rochelle while he gets his life together, and he’s thrilled to hear about his sister’s new job offer. But within hours, triumph is followed by tragedy. Returning from a celebratory dinner with her boyfriend, she finds Lyle dead with a syringe in his lap, and Eve’s investigation confirms that this wasn’t just another OD. After all his work to get clean, Lyle’s been pumped full of poison—and a neighbor with a peephole reports seeing a scruffy, pink-haired girl fleeing the scene.


Now Eve and Roarke must venture into the gang territory where Lyle used to run, and the ugly underground world of tattoo parlors and strip joints where everyone has taken a wrong turn somewhere. They both believe in giving people a second chance. Maybe even a third or fourth. But as far as they’re concerned, whoever gave the order on Lyle Pickering’s murder has run out of chances...

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.