Jess, Rising

Guardians of Salt Creek

Book 1
D.M. Guay
5

Seventeen-year-old Jess Flowers sees the killer in visions. He's a shadow, stalking Salt Creek, striking down the helpless, slaughtering with fire and lightning. After she finds the bloated body of a teenage victim at Whispering Falls, Jess realizes her visions aren't harmless, haunting dreams. They're truth.


Jess is the new kid in Salt Creek, an isolated small town in rural Southern Ohio with a ferociously-guarded secret. People in Salt Creek are not what they seem, and it appears to be contagious. Her visions were just the start. She's changing, and even though it sounds crazy, she's sure the town is to blame.


Billy, the outcast with the unsettling past who has stolen her heart, is the only one willing to help her. But as the body count ticks higher, evidence links Billy to the crimes. Can she trust him? Who is the real killer? Jess better piece together the clues quickly, because it'll soon be her turn to die.


Murder, lies, betrayal and supernatural powers collide in this magical YA love story for fans of Beautiful Creatures, Twilight, and Vampire Diaries.


Winner, 2016 Romance Writers of America Joyce Henderson Contest for Young Adult romance. (Under its working title, Girl with the Sun on her Heart.)

Read more
Collapse

About the author



Read more
Collapse
5.0
5 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
D.M. Guay
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 4, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
222
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
Fiction / Romance / Paranormal / General
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Instant New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazine’s 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweek’s 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe’s Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” —New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” —New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” —Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” —Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.