Resurrection Mall

Down & Out Books
Free sample

As if things aren’t bad enough in Penns River, development and funding of a new religious-themed mall grinds to a halt when heavily-armed assassins cut down five leaders of the town’s fledgling drug trade while eating lunch in the food court. The television minister behind the mall has associates not normally associated with a ministry, outside drug gangs may be muscling into town, and the local mob boss could have an angle of his own. The cops have this and all the usual local activity to contend with in a story that extends beyond the borders of Penns River.


Praise for RESURRECTION MALL...


“Dana King’s Resurrection Mall is a patchwork of desperation from a depressed river town written with genuine style and grit.” —Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times bestselling author of What You Break

 

“Another thoughtful, taut, suspense filled novel from one of America’s best new writers, the great Dana King.” —Adrian McKinty, author of the Sean Duffy trilogies

 

Resurrection Mall is a brilliant crime novel that deserves to win every award in sight. One of the best of the year.” —Tim Hallinan, author of the Poke Rafferty, Junior Bender, and Simeon Grist mystery series.

 

“Dana King’s Resurrection Mall draws you in from the beginning, like sipping a fine single malt that opens wonderfully in the glass and you have to keep sipping until the end. King has a skillful grasp on character and dialogue, and that, along with his rock-solid police procedure, makes for a gripping, authentic read. I am a big fan of the Penns River series, and I want more.” —David Swinson, author of The Second Girl.

 

“Along with Worst Enemies and Grind Joint, Resurrection Mall elevates Dana King’s masterful Penns River crime series into the best hard-nosed police procedural since TV’s The Wire. Fun, gripping and thought-provoking, this third entry firmly plants ace Detective Ben ‘Doc’ Dougherty in the ring with heavyweight crime-stoppers Elvis Cole, Alex Cross and Jack Reacher. All of King’s characters burst with no-nonsense, rural Pennsylvania life, but the author dives deepest into the most realistic and engaging crew of municipal cops I’ve encountered since Joseph Wambaugh. Don’t miss it!" —Jack Getze, author and Fiction Editor for Spinetingler Magazine.

 

“Complex characters, smooth dialogue and a hell of a plot make this one a winner. Rest easy, Ross Macdonald. The torch has been passed.” —Terrence McCauley, author of Sympathy for the Devil and A Murder of Crows.


Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Down & Out Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Apr 17, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
350
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

Vicki Leydig thought she was going to have a few drinks with her friend Mary. She didn’t expect Doug Stirnweiss to offer her a ride home, and she sure didn’t expect to watch a stranger blow Doug’s head off in the parking lot. Penns River police don’t have much to go on until Detective Ben “Doc” Dougherty interviews casino employees and learns of drug deals going down in and around the property. Leads show promise and fall apart with depressing frequency until the local prosecutor turns a minor charge into a statement that leads Doc and the rest of the police force to a surprising conclusion, though not before tragedy strikes one of their own.

 

Meanwhile, Pittsburgh mob boss Mike Mannarino faces increasing pressure from his bosses in New York, so much so he’s thinking of reaching out to Chicago for protection. What the rest of his crew has to decide is whether Chicago is the only other organization Mike might make an arrangement with.

 

It’s another week in Penns River, with distractions that range from petty vandalism to a bridge jumper keeping the cops’ full attention away from the critical task at hand.

 

Praise for TEN-SEVEN:

 

“Consistently one of the best in the business. As good as any I’ve ever read. Dana King, to quote Don Kirkendall of Men Reading Books, is ‘top-shelf entertainment.’ Ten-Seven keeps that ball rolling.” —Charlie Stella

 

“Dana King’s latest novel Ten-Seven returns his readers to Penns River in a propulsive mystery thriller that showcases his ear for dialogue, penchant for wry humor, and mastery of the police procedural, all while his finger is firmly on the pulse of America’s Rust Belt. Ten-Seven is the perfect novel for fans of Elmore Leonard and Tana French and will leave his readers hungrily awaiting the next installment.” —Eryk Pruitt, Anthony Award-nominated author of What We Reckon

 

“Ten-Seven is a prime example of the kind of small-town procedural that tells you as much about the town and its denizens as it does the crime at hand. The kind of solid plotting and characterizations I love in another favorite Pennsylvania crime writer, the great KC Constantine.” —Scott Phillips, author of The Ice Harvest and The Walkaway


Nick Forte has a hard time leaving well enough alone. He seriously injures a man for slapping a woman Forte has never seen before, so when Becky Tuttle comes to him with disconcerting letters sent to her author alter ago Desiree d’Arnaud, he does more than a cursory investigation. Following the thread of Becky’s problem leads through a local cop who takes the situation too lightly for Forte’s taste and into the disturbing world of men’s rights activists, for whom he has no use at all.

 

Becky’s case isn’t the only thing going on in Forte’s life. A chance meeting with Lily O’Donoghue, a former prostitute whose mother’s death Forte feels responsible for, leads to a blackmailer who has videos of Lily’s former occupation. Forte takes care of the blackmailer with minimal fuss, but learns (again) that no good deed goes unpunished. Forte’s innocent intercession brings him back into the sphere of Chicago gangster Mickey Touhy, who has interest in both Lily and Forte.

 

Forte’s usual cast of Sharon, Goose, Delbert, Sonny, Jan, and, of course, his daughter Caroline do what they can to keep him on an even keel. The problem is that Forte’s keel may be permanently damaged and the only resolutions he can arrive at satisfy no one, least of all himself.

 

Praise for BAD SAMARITAN:

 

“Nick Forte is a throwback to the classic tough guy, politically incorrect PI who takes care of business. He’s the kind of guy you’d want working for you, if you were in a tough spot. And Dana King is a master at creating a low-down, dirty world where everyone needs a someone like Forte on his side.” —Charles Salzberg, author of the Henry Swann mysteries

 

“Tough, taut, unsentimental, and as hard-boiled as a dinosaur egg; Dana King delivers a private-eye procedural that would make Joe Gores proud.” —David Housewright, Edgar Award-winning author of Darkness, Sing Me a Song

 

“Dana King’s Nick Forte is a two-fisted, no-nonsense PI in the tradition of Amos Walker and Mike Hammer, who is aware of his strengths and willing to confront his weaknesses. Don’t pick up Bad Samaritan if you can’t take a punch.”—J.L. Abramo, Shamus Award-winning author of Circling the Runway

 

“Dana King is such a terrific writer that if he wrote soup label copy, I’d have a cupboard full of tomato, mushroom and chicken noodle soup… and never open a can. The good news is that he has a new book out titled Bad Samaritan and once again, King doesn’t disappoint. His bad-ass detective, Nick Forte, is after nasty guys who abuse and exploit women and since these jerks operate in Chicago, they’re in a world of hurt as Nick also lives in Chicago and doesn’t suffer creeps gladly. Full-bore action coming at you on every page. Glom onto this one—you’ll thank me if you do.” —Les Edgerton, author of The Bitch, The Genuine, Imitation, Plastic Kidnapping, The Rapist, Just Like That and others 

 

A new casino is opening in the rural town of Penns River, Pennsylvania but just where the money is coming from no one really knows. Is it Daniel Hecker, bringing hope to a mill town after years of plant closings? Or is the town’s salvation really an opening for Mike “The Hook” Mannarino’s Pittsburgh mob to move part of their action up the river? Or could it be someone even worse?

 

When the body of a drug dealer is dumped on the casino steps shortly before its grand opening, Detectives Ben Doc Dougherty and Willie Grabek have to survive their department’s own inner turmoil and figure out not only who's behind the murder, but what it means to whoever is behind the operation itself. Between the cops, the mob, and the ex-spook in charge of casino security (Daniel Rollison, a man with more secrets than anyone will ever know), GRIND JOINT is a mesmerizing mix of betrayal, police action, small town politics, sudden violence and the lives of the people of a town just trying to look after itself.

 

Praise for GRIND JOINT …

 

“King has created vividly drawn characters, a plot the late Elmore Leonard would appreciate, and dialogue that hits all the right notes. Let’s hope Grind Joint is the first in a new series chronicling life and crime in the Alleghenies.” —Booklist

 

“One of the best novels I’ve read this year. Period.” —Les Edgerton, author of Bomb, The Bitch and The Rapist

 

“I cannot remember a book I’ve read—including anything by Elmore—where the cops sounded more like cops, tricking suspects, stumbling with women, smart-talking the tough guys, and finally getting out of a big shootout with brains, brawn, and guts.” —Jack Getze, author of the award-winning Austin Carr series

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.