The Far Side of the Stars

Titan Books
2

The Republic of Cinnabar and the Alliance of Free Stars have reached an uneasy truce and for the first time in years, the Republic of Cinnabar Navy is not at war. For Lt. Daniel Leary and Signals Officer Adele Mundy, this can only mean one thing - adventure!

When the Princess Cecile is sold as a private yacht, Leary and Mundy bring together the old crew to escort a pair of wealthy nobles on an expedition to the Galactic North. With jealous lovers, winged dragons and a mysterious oracle to contend with, the voyage is far from peaceful. But on their search for a rare and priceless treasure Leary and Mundy find something far more sinister - a secret Alliance base, and the looming threat of war...
Read more

About the author

David Drake is one of the most respected military science fiction authors in the industry, having developed the "Hammer's Slammers" series and the "RCN" series for Baen Books - two of the first hugely popular military SF series. A Vietnam War veteran, he is renowned for bringing the military sensibility to his stories and the soldier's sensibilities to his characters.

Read more
3.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Titan Books
Read more
Published on
Apr 4, 2017
Read more
Pages
560
Read more
ISBN
9781785652226
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Fiction / Science Fiction / Military
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
 A NEW NOVEL IN THE NATIONALLY BEST-SELLING RCN MILITARY SF SERIES. David Drake, Dean of Military Science Fiction, returns with another entry in his best-selling RCN series.

FROM WEALTH AND POWER, TO POVERTY AND INSULTS!

Roy Olfetrie planned to be an officer in the Republic of Cinnabar Navy, but when his father was unmasked as a white-collar criminal he had to take whatever he was offered.

What is offered turns out to be a chance to accompany Captain Daniel Leary and Lady Adele Mundy as they go off to start a war that will put Roy at the sharp end.

Duty snatches Roy from the harem of a pirate chief to a world of monsters, from interstellar reaches in a half-wrecked starship to assassination attempts at posh houses. Roy has the choice of making friends or dying friendless; of meeting betrayal and responding to it; of breaking his faith or keeping it at the risk of his life.

Pirates, politics, and spies--and waiting for Roy if he survives all the rest, a powerful warship.

The action doesn't slow--nor can Roy, for if he does the only question is which of the many threats will be the one to catch and kill him. But Captain Leary himself has given Roy a chance, and Roy is determined make the most of it—THOUGH HELL SHOULD BAR THE WAY.

At the publisher's request, this title is sold without DRM (Digital Rights Management).

About David Drake’s RCN series:

“[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera.”—Publishers Weekly

“The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!”—Philadelphia Weekly Press

“[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along…character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs.”—SFReader.com

“Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera.” —Publishers Weekly

About David Drake:

“[P]rose as cold and hard as the metal alloy of a tank…rivals Crane and Remarque…”—Chicago Sun-Times

“Drake couldn’t write a bad action scene at gunpoint.”—Booklist

RCN series:

With the Lightnings

Lt. Leary, Commanding

The Far Side of the Stars

The Way to Glory

Some Golden Harbor

When the Tide Rises

In the Stormy Red Sky

What Distant Deeps

The Road of Danger

The Sea Without a Shore

Death's Bright Day

Though Hell Should Bar the Way
THE MOST COLORFUL MYTH
FROM SCIENCE FICTION'S
GOLDEN AGE IS REBORN IN
SEAS OF VENUS

Earth is a dead cinder beyond the dense clouds. On a terraformed Venus the land is ruled by savage plants and the even more savage beasts that prey on them, while monsters out of nightmare swim though the globe-girdling seas. Mankind huddles in domed underwater Keeps, living a purposeless static existence¾dedicated to pleasure but destined for oblivion later if not sooner.

Only the Free Companions, the mercenaries who fight proxy wars for the Keeps, live on the surface of Venus. Their warships course the seas, battling one another in struggles to decide victory or defeat for one day, life or death for a few individuals. The Free companions live till they die with the searing thrill of danger, and their deeds bring excitement and color to the bored residents of the Keeps; but Mankind is doomed unless something changes.

Few are willing to risk their lives for that change, battling both the terrifying environment and the ruthless oligarchs for whom the status quo means a lifetime of luxury. But there are a handful of courageous visionaries in the Keeps and in the Free Companies where death is a way of life!

At the publisher's request, this title is sold without DRM (Digital Rights Management).

"Only a few of us have enough willpower, when a new Dick Francis or the latest volume of a David Drake series comes out in hardcover, to wait for the paperback."
-David Friedman, Hidden Order: The Economics of Everyday Life

"... the best in military science fiction. Recommended...."
-Booklist

"... the master of the mercenary science fiction novel. He has developed a following... just short of cult proportions."
-Rave Reviews

"Drake is one of the most gifted users of historical and military raw materials at work today."
-Chicago Sun-Times
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.