Remote Feed: Stories

Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Free sample

David Gilbert's dark and daring collection of stories was admitted by critics and readers alike when first published in 1998. Gilbert's stories stretch from war-torn Bosnia to a college sorority house to kill-or-be-killed Hollywood. Gilbert's bold prose and perceptive wit paint a devastating picture of normal life on the brink of desperation and paranoia. His insights into the minor tragedies, disappointments, and desires that shape us reflect a deep understanding of human nature and a genuine compassion for his characters. Filled with startling twists, piercing irony, and layers of meaning, the world Gilbert creates in Remote Feed is a complex one-often hilarious, sometimes frightening, but always fascinating.

A New York Times Notable Book
"Gilbert's dead-on mimicry of conversational rhythms makes even the most ludicrous exchanges sound plausible, and he applies physical details sparingly and potently...wickedly funny."-New York Times Book Review
"Hilarious and unnerving."-Vanity Fair
"These stories are funny and thoroughly entertaining."-Washington Post
"One is mesmerized by Gilbert's daring and absolute persuasiveness."-Time Out
"Gilbert is wonderful. I hope readers flock to these vivid tales."-Jay Parini
"Gilbert's strange takes and wonderful dark humor intrude upon the familiar until his own singular vision prevails-he doesn't let anyone get away with anything."-Amy Hempel
Read more

About the author

David Gilbert is the author of the novel The Normals. His stories have appeared in the New Yorker, Harper's, GQ, and Bomb. He lives in New York City with his wife and two children.
Read more



Additional Information

Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Read more
Published on
Dec 5, 2008
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The Washington Post • The New Yorker • Esquire • The Austin Chronicle • Kansas City Star • The Guardian (UK) • BookPage • Flavorwire • Bookish

“[A] big, brilliant novel.”—The New York Times Book Review

Who is A. N. Dyer? & Sons is a literary masterwork for readers of The Art of Fielding, The Emperor’s Children, and Wonder Boys—the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan’s Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in The New York Times notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel Ampersand stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, he suffers a breakdown over the life he’s led and the people he’s hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years—before it’s too late.
So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there’s son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired Ampersand. But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family.
In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. & Sons is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality.

“Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny.”—Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins
“Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, [& Sons] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term ‘instant classic.’”—NPR
“A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . [& Sons] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters’ memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
“[A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.”—Entertainment Weekly
“Audacious . . . [one of the year’s] most dazzlingly smart, fully realized works of fiction.”—The Washington Post

From the Trade Paperback edition.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.