Dead Pretty

DS McAvoy

Book 5
Hachette UK
2

The fifth novel in the DS McAvoy series by bestselling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.

Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days.

One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done.

But some people have their own ideas of what justice means...

DEAD PRETTY is the stunning new novel from one of Britain's most original crime writers.

Read more

About the author

David Mark spent more than 15 years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with the Yorkshire Post - walking the Hull streets that would later become the setting for the Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy novels.

He has written four novels in the McAvoy series, Dark Winter, Original Sin, Sorrow Bound and Taking Pity. Dark Winter was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel, a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. He is currently reader in residence for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival.

He lives in Lincolnshire with his family, and you can find him on Twitter @davidmarkwriter.

Read more
4.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Hachette UK
Read more
Published on
Jan 28, 2016
Read more
Pages
336
Read more
ISBN
9781444798081
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Thrillers / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

See entire series

Over 60 high-quality recipes covering debugging, security, performance, microservices, web frameworks, databases, deployment and more; rewritten for Node.js 8, Node.js 6, and Node.js 4About This BookActionable recipes across the full spectrum of Node.js developmentCutting edge techniques and tools for measuring and improving performanceBest practices for creating readily-scalable production systemsWho This Book Is For

If you have good knowledge of JavaScript and want to build fast, efficient, scalable client-server solutions, then this book is for you. Some experience with Node.js is assumed to get the most out of this book. If working from a beginner level Node Cookbook 2nd Edition is recommended as a primer for Node Cookbook 3rd Edition.

What You Will LearnDebug Node.js programsWrite and publish your own Node.js modulesDetailed coverage of Node.js core API'sUse web frameworks such as Express, Hapi and Koa for accelerated web application developmentApply Node.js streams for low-footprint data processingFast-track performance knowledge and optimization abilitiesPersistence strategies, including database integrations with MongoDB, MySQL/MariaDB, Postgres, Redis, and LevelDBApply critical, essential security conceptsUse Node with best-of-breed deployment technologies: Docker, Kubernetes and AWSIn Detail

Today's web demands efficient real-time applications and scalability. Asynchronous event-driven programming is ideal for this, and this is where Node.js comes in. Server-side JavaScript has been here since the 90s, but Node got it right.

With Node for tooling and server-side logic, and a browser-based client-side UI, everything is JavaScript. This leads to rapid, fluid development cycles. The full-stack, single language experience means less context-switching between languages for developers, architects and whole teams.

This book shows you how to build fast, efficient, and scalable client-server solutions using the latest versions of Node.

The book begins with debugging tips and tricks of the trade, and how to write your own modules. Then you'll learn the fundamentals of streams in Node.js, discover I/O control, and how to implement the different web protocols.

You'll find recipes for integrating databases such as MongoDB, MySQL/MariaDB, Postgres, Redis, and LevelDB. We also cover the options for building web application with Express, Hapi and Koa.

You will then learn about security essentials in Node.js and advanced optimization tools and techniques.

By the end of the book you will have acquired the level of expertise to build production-ready and scalable Node.js systems.

The techniques and skills you will learn in this book are based on the best practices developed by nearForm, one of the leaders in Node implementations, who supported the work of the authors on this book.

Style and approach

This recipe-based practical guide presents each topic with step-by-step instructions on how you can create fast and efficient server side applications using the latest features and capabilities in Node 8 whilst also supporting usage with Node 4 and 6.

The New York Times hails David Mark's work as "in the honorable tradition of Joseph Wambaugh and Ed McBain"; in Taking Pity, Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy returns for another darkly enthralling installment of this internationally acclaimed series.

It’s been three months since Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy returned home, or what was left of it after a horrific tragedy. All that remained was charred masonry, broken timbers, and dried blood—a crude reminder of the home invasion and explosion that tore his house and family apart. McAvoy’s wife and daughter are safe, he’s been assured; he just wishes he knew where they were.

            As McAvoy wrestles with his guilt, self-hatred, and helplessness, trouble persists in stormy Hull. Organized crime emerges as the city’s latest threat, with two warring factions leaving plenty of bodies for Detective Superintendent Trish Pharaoh and her unit to clean up. Now more than ever, Pharaoh needs her sergeant to return to work and be a policeman again. She gives McAvoy a case that’s supposed to ease him back into the game: a re-investigation of  a rural  quadruple murder that was put to bed fifty years ago. But what was supposed to be a cut-and-dry job quickly unravels as McAvoy digs up new evidence and witness testimonies, steering him closer to some of the most notorious criminals in northern England.

            Fast-paced, noir-ish and fresh off the heels of Sorrow Bound’s violent finale, Taking Pity is the latest page-turning installment in the gripping Detective McAvoy series. Hailed by The New York Times as being “in the honorable tradition of Joseph Wambaugh and Ed McBain,” David Mark’s police procedurals are smart, dark, and above all, wholly captivating.




From the Hardcover edition.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.