Dead Man's Hand

· Jake Paynter Book 1 · Sourcebooks, Inc.
4.7
3 reviews
Ebook
312
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

An action-packed historical western for fans of William Johnstone and Louis L'Amour.

Condemned to die, he's about to find a reason to live.

Jake Paynter is a doomed man. Haunted by an abusive childhood and his participation in atrocities of the Civil War, he seeks the isolation of the Plains Cavalry as a white officer for an all-Black buffalo soldier troop. Now, he is in irons and certain to be hanged for killing his captain after refusing an inhumane order. Despite his best efforts to maintain isolation, he starts to make friends on his journey to trial. The people of the wagon train begin looking to Paynter for leadership, and he reluctantly falls into the role.

The opportunity to escape arises when the wagon train is attacked by bandits, but Paynter's growing ties to the travelers compel him to stay. As his trial approaches, Paynter must lean on his friends for salvation, but the laws of the west are swift and harsh, and a grueling confrontation with his past is on the horizon.

4.7
3 reviews
Cathy Geha
February 24, 2022
Dead Man’s Hand by David Nix Jack Paynter #1 Stayed up in the dark to finish this book. Living in Lebanon. I usually make sure I know what time it is so I can be in bed before the electricity cut happens. Not last night…nope…no way…I had to find out what would happen so I sat here in the dark, used the flashlight on my phone when I realized the electricity was gone for the night, headed upstairs to read in bed, and hoped the battery on my little laptop would not disappear before I finished the story. What I liked: * The writing and eking out of tidbits about the main character that fleshed him out into a real person who became the man I admired and hoped to read more about…and hoped would live a long and prosperous life * The descriptions of place and time * Jake Paynter: complex, conflicted, conscientious, careful, cunning, cultivated, lethal, and a man with so much potential… * The time period and memories of books read previously * How Jake grew and changed eventually seeming to come into his own * The glimpse into what I fear was the truth of that time period…cringeworthy at times * Jake’s reason for leaving home and his reason for leaving the side he fought on during the American Civil War…and I felt sorry for him after reading what he endured * Feeling a part of the narrative as is took place…though I am not sure WHO I was in the story * Gus: comrade in arms of Jake’s who had a tough row to hoe in more ways than one * Stacy Blue: a young woman who has seen more miles than most but on the trail leading others to their promised land * Wondering if Stacy and Gus will end up together * The forging of a brotherhood created by Paynter within the people on the way west that Paynter rode with * That just enough but not too much of Jake’s past experiences were shared in the story…horrific but not eviscerating Knowing that there are more books in the series to look forward to. What I didn’t like: * All that I was meant not to like…and there were quite a few people and events that were unlikable… Did I enjoy this book? Yes Would I read more in this series? Definitely Thank you to NetGalley and Sourcebooks-Casablanca for the ARC – This is my honest review 5 Stars
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
Dead Man's Hand is the first book I have had the pleasure of reading by David Nix. I thought it was a pretty good western to read. It was exciting to go back in time to the post Civil War Western ...
A Google user
Dead Man’s Hand by David Nix Jack Paynter #1 Stayed up in the dark to finish this book. Living in Lebanon. I usually make sure I know what time it is so I can be in bed before the electricity cut ...

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.