King, Ship, and Sword

Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures

Book 16
Canelo
5

December 1801. The long war is over, but Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is appalled by its consequences. What is a dashing and successful frigate captain to 'do' with himself if he's ashore?

And where will Lewrie twiddle his thumbs and be bored to death until the war begins again, as he's sure it will? Will he idle in expensive, exciting London, or go home to his rented farm in Anglesgreen in Surrey, and rejoin his wife? Peace and domesticity are hellish-hard on the rakehells!

Yet by the spring of 1802, Lewrie and his Caroline have reconciled (again) and are off to make a go of a second honeymoon - in Paris, France, of all places! But Lewrie just can't help getting into trouble, and he and Caroline must flee for their lives, with aid from the most unlikely source imaginable.

When war breaks out again in May of 1803, Lewrie has fresh orders, a new frigate, and a chance to punish and pursue the French, but it's no longer for Duty or King and Country - now it's personal!

Number sixteen in The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, King, Ship and Sword is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.

‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily’ New York Times Book Review

'The best naval series since C. S. Forester... Recommended’ Library Journal

‘Fast-moving... A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff’ Kirkus Reviews

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Dewey Lambdin is an American nautical historical novelist. He is best known for his Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures series, spanning the American Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars. A member of the U.S. Naval Institute and a Friend of the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, England, he spends his free time working and sailing. Besides the Alan Lewrie series, he is also the author of What Lies Buried: a novel of Old Cape Fear.

Read more
Collapse
4.0
5 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Feb 17, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
300
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788638753
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Historical
Fiction / War & Military
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.