Fatal Heat: A Jess Kimball Thriller

· AugustBooks
Ebook
44
Pages

About this ebook

Exciting short read! Investigative Reporter Jess Kimball’s impossible mission to help crime victims continues in this new short from New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Diane Capri.


In Fatal Heat, Jess Kimball helps a friend find and stop a killer in the deadly Arizona heat.


For fans of Lee Child, Jack Reacher, John Grisham, and James Patterson’s Women's Murder Club


“Full of thrills and tension – but smart and human too.” — Lee Child, #1 World Wide Bestselling Author of Jack Reacher Thrillers


“Expertise shines on every page.” -- Margaret Maron, Edgar, Anthony, Agatha and Macavity Award Winning MWA Past President


"Relentlessly determined to bring justice to an unjust world, Jess Kimball is like a female Jack Reacher, only nicer!" -- Martha Powers, award winning author of Conspiracy of Silence and Death Angel

About the author

Diane Capri was born in Alabama, but grew up in a small German-American farming town north of Detroit. She graduated from Wayne Law School cum laude and served as an editor of the Wayne Law Review. Ranked in the top 1% of lawyers nationwide, she practiced law throughout the U.S. Always an insatiable reader with a keen interest in crime fiction, Diane spent the time on airplanes and in hotel rooms learning fiction craft when not practicing law. In 1995, Diane's largest client filed for bankruptcy protection. The hours to write what she loved instead of what paid the bills stretched endlessly before her. She figured it was now or never. Diane challenged herself to complete Due Justice in the style of stories she loved to read. She'd moved to Florida and adored everything about the Sunshine State. No surprise, then, that her first novel and all Diane's books that followed are suspenseful Florida mysteries. Diane's heroes are Wilhelmina Carson, Jennifer Lane, and Jess Kimball women who deliver true justice along with a splash of humor. The books quickly found a publisher, an audience, and acclaim as well, under the author name M. Diane Vogt. She was humming along on all cylinders again when her publisher failed, bankruptcy followed, and a legal quagmire swallowed her books and her career - again. Diane had long been active in Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, Romance Writers of America, and other writing organizations. After her publisher's bankruptcy, while she was writing the new Jess Kimball novel, Fatal Distraction, she was invited to join International Thriller Writers at its inception and shortly thereafter, became a member of the board along with her friend, the #1 International Bestselling author, Lee Child. At a cocktail party in New York in 2009, Lee and Diane discussed a great question: Where is Jack Reacher? The answer was unknown, which inspired Diane to write a series of suspense novels answering the inquiry with Lee's blessing. The first of those novels is Don't Know Jack, introducing FBI Special Agents Kim Otto and Carlos Gaspar. The short story singles, Jack in a Box, and Jack and Kill quickly followed. The second novel in the series opened to rave reader reviews on September 15, 2013. The sixth book in the Hunt for Jack Reacher series, Jack and Joe, is a 2016 USA Today Bestseller. Diane is a snowbird, dividing her time between homes in Northern Michigan and Florida. Of course, she will always love sharing adventures with Willa Carson and Jenny Lane and Jess Kimball, and reading Travis McGee. But these days, she's busy on The Hunt for Reacher.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.