Brass Ring

Diane Chamberlain
23
Free sample

 Perpetual optimist Claire Harte-Mathias and her disabled husband, Jon, run a successful foundation to help people with spinal cord injuries. One night, Claire witnesses a woman leap to her death from a bridge, and the tragedy sparks murky childhood memories that leave her confused and frightened. As Claire becomes obsessed with trying to understand the power the haunting memories have over her, she's torn between blocking them from her mind entirely and trying to unearth their source. Putting both her marriage and self image on the line, she struggles to uncover the truth, only to discover that the past, present and future are connected in ways she never dreamed. 


Library Journal called Brass Ring "well-written" and "suspenseful." Brass Ring was a Literary Guild and Doubleday alternate selection.


Read more

More by Diane Chamberlain

See more

Reviews

4.2
23 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Diane Chamberlain
Read more
Published on
Dec 1, 2010
Read more
Pages
529
Read more
ISBN
9780988205734
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Family & Relationships / Abuse / Child Abuse
Family & Relationships / General
Family & Relationships / Marriage & Long Term Relationships
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Kerry Fisher
‘I just couldn't put it down … It's not very often when reading a book that you find yourself laughing, crying snotty tears, feeling sick with tension … Yes, honestly, it really is that good.’ Being Anne Reading

‘OMG, do I ever like this writer. I don't usually gush … But rarely have I come across a character that I so instantly identified with … The acerbic wit is my style. I want to meet and be friends with Lydia Rushfield.’ All Words Matter

‘An absolutely BRILLIANT read! Oh Gosh I wish I hadn’t finished it so quickly … sheer perfection … gripped me like Velcro from the very start and completely enthralled and entertained me right the way through.’ Beady Jan’s Books

Your past will devastate your family. But your lies could destroy them. What would YOU do?

Sometimes a lie can split your life in two. There is “before”, and there is “after”. Try as you might – you can never go back.

When Lydia was a teenager, she made a decision that ruined her family’s life. They’ve spent the last thirty years living with the consequences and doing their best to pretend it never happened.

Lydia’s husband, the gorgeous and reliable Mark, and her two teenage children know nothing about that summer back in 1982. And that’s the way Lydia wants it to stay. The opportunity to come clean is long gone and now it’s not the lie that matters, it’s the betrayal of hiding the truth for so long.

When someone from the past turns up as a parent at the school gates, Lydia feels the life she has worked so hard to build slipping through her fingers. The more desperate she becomes to safeguard her family, the more erratic her behaviour becomes. But when the happiness of her own teenage son, Jamie, hangs in the balance, Lydia is forced to make some impossible decisions. Can she protect him and still keep her own secret – and if she doesn’t, will her marriage and family survive?

From the author of THE ISLAND ESCAPE comes a powerful and heartbreaking story, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

What people are saying about After the Lie:

‘I absolutely loved it … Kerry Fisher goes straight away to my 'most favourite authors' list … Yes, I was touched by this book as it is one continuous roller-coaster of emotions on a very twisty track.’ Relax and Read Reviews

‘Five out of five stars. Past collides with present in this compelling book.' Portobello Book Blog

'This book was - in a word - addictive.'Voracious Reader's Blog

‘I loved it! A brilliantly woven, emotional, page-turning tale of the damage caused to a family by secrets and lies across the generations’ Rachael Lucas

‘Five out of five stars! This was a real page turner for me, and as the story went on I just couldn't predict how it was going to pan out. ' Dee Cees Reviews

'If you like reading about real women and a compelling family drama then this is the book for you. A terrific read.' Jane Lythell

'This book will make you laugh, frown and cry in equal measure.' Claire Dyer

Laura Elliot
‘I was astounded at how the book ended! Not many books make me say wow at the end, but this one has me repeating it. It is an ending that you won't see coming in a million years.' Kelly's Book Corner

A perfect divorce. A new flame. And a deadly obsession.

Nadine and Jake Saunders were married as teens. Tied to one another by a night of passion that resulted in a pregnancy neither could turn away from.

Now, years later, their children have all flown the nest and the pact they made as teenagers – to give one another the freedom to pursue their own dreams – has resurfaced.

But freedom comes at a price …

While Nadine and Jake begin to untangle their lives from one another, Jake embarks on a passionate affair with a beautiful woman, Karin Moylan. What he doesn’t know is the dark history Karin shares with Nadine.

As lust spirals into dangerous obsession, Jake must break free from Karin. But he must also ask himself how well he ever really knew Nadine. What secret is she hiding? The truth, when it is revealed, could destroy them all.

If you devoured Girl on the Train, The Husband’s Secret and Gone Girl then make sure THIS is the book you pick up next.

‘The Betrayal certainly makes for a tense read that had me at times literally on the edge of my seat.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

‘The story is beautifully descriptive…one of those truly unforgettable stories which you just want to tell everyone to read for themselves.’ Jaffa Reads Too

‘I was desperate to find out what was going to happen next, terrified of what was to come. A psychological thriller with many twists and turns…a definite page turner that once started was very difficult to put down.’ Cal’s Blog

‘I was astounded at how the book ended! Not many books make me say wow at the end, but this one has me repeating it. It is an ending that you won't see coming in a million years. The Betrayal is utterly compelling and gripping. It will get into your head and you will become immersed in the story from the very first page.’ Kelly’s Book Corner

‘Laura Elliot builds up the tension and sense of intrigue right from the first few pages…I just couldn’t put it down once I started!’ Portobello Book Blog

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.