Killing Secrets: A Nan Vining Mystery

· Alibi
4.8
9 reviews
Ebook
277
Pages

About this ebook

For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner comes a razor-sharp novel of suspense featuring Detective Nan Vining—a single mother whose worlds collide when her teenage daughter stumbles upon a grisly double homicide.
 
When she gets the call, Nan Vining responds as a mother first and a detective second. Her daughter, Emily, has made a gruesome discovery in a secluded section of a Pasadena park: a pretty, popular young teacher from Emily’s high school and a bright yet troubled transfer student—both dead and bloody in a copse of trees. But the crime scene isn’t the only thing that seems off to Detective Vining. There’s also the cocky classmate who was with Emily in the park—the boyfriend she never knew about. What else doesn’t she know about her daughter?
 
As she attempts to channel both her maternal and investigative instincts into one single point of focus, Vining’s superiors at the Pasadena Police Department are moving at lightning speed. Before the evidence has even been processed, the case is closed as a clear-cut murder/suicide: a disturbed teenager murders his teacher, then takes his own life. Vining doesn’t buy it. Now she’s chasing dangerous, powerful people with secrets they would kill for—and taking them down means risking her own flesh and blood.

Praise for Killing Secrets
 
Killing Secrets is diabolically good, a top-notch murder mystery. Nan Vining is a heroine you’ll love.”—Allison Brennan, New York Times bestselling author of Compulsion
 
“A complex, challenging and engaging mystery for Vining to unravel . . . Readers will love tagging along for the ride.”The Florida Times-Union
 
“A suspenseful thriller . . . that will surprise readers with its stunning conclusion.”Kings River Life Magazine
 
“I would strongly recommend Killing Secrets to anyone who likes a good mystery/crime novel—especially one with a strong, intelligent female lead character.”—A Book Geek
 
“Five out of five . . . I didn’t want to put it down.”—Bewitched Bookworms
 
Killing Secrets is my idea of a hard-edged police drama, the kind I love best, and I want more.”—Buried Under Books

“From the beginning, I was hooked. . . . Highly recommended for those who enjoy a good thriller!”—Peeking Between the Pages

Praise for the novels of Dianne Emley
 
The Night Visitor grabbed my attention on page one and never let up. It’s a creepy, crafty thrill ride, and I enjoyed every word. I’ll be looking for more of Dianne Emley’s books.”—Karen Robards
 
“Emley masterfully twists, turns, and shocks.”—Tess Gerritsen, on Love Kills
4.8
9 reviews
Sandra Jett
October 9, 2015
First time reading this author. Was enthralled all the way to the end.
Third-party review
This book was a good read. I liked the fact that it went into the personal life and relationship of Nan and her daughter Emily. Raising a teenager can be scary enough in itself but adding murder makes ...
Third-party review
This book was a good read. I liked the fact that it went into the personal life and relationship of Nan and her daughter Emily. Raising a teenager can be scary enough in itself but adding murder makes ...

About the author

Dianne Emley is the bestselling author of The Night Visitor and the Nan Vining series: The First Cut, Cut to the Quick, The Deepest Cut, and Love Kills. A Los Angeles native, she lives in the Central California wine country with her husband, Charlie.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.