Dark of the Eye: A Supernatural Horror Thriller

Alkemara Press

Her touch can heal – or kill. And they’re coming for her.

A mother and daughter on the run fall prey to a monstrous hunt in this heart-pounding supernatural horror novel.

A tragic accident leaves young Hope Stewart with an extraordinary power that is both blessing and curse. Hope’s scientist father is determined to exploit her frightening gift, a relentless government agent is out to kill her – and a damaged soul called Monkey vows to deliver her to the mercies of the fiendish forces he serves...

For fans of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, and Guillermo del Toro.

“An omnibus of unexpected horrors!” – Publisher’s Weekly

“Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills…” – Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of the Rizzoli & Isles series.
Read more

More by Douglas Clegg

See more
What calls to the children from within the dark shadows of the shack called Neverland? New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Douglas Clegg blends dark suspense and gothic horror in Neverland, a novel of deadly secrets and innocence corrupted. What lurks within the shack? What kinds of dangerous — and deadly — games do the children play there? 

For years, the Jackson family vacationed at their matriarch's old Victorian house on Gull Island, a place of superstition and legend off the southern coast of the U.S. One particular summer, young Beau follows his cousin Sumter into a shack hidden among the brambles and windswept trees near bluffs overlooking the sea. 

And within Neverland, the mysteries and terror grow... 

For fans of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, and Bentley Little. 

"Neverland is a masterpiece of dark suspense that will forever haunt your dreams." - Douglas Preston, New York Times Bestselling Author of Impact and (with Lincoln Child) of Relic and Gideon's Corpse. 

"Douglas Clegg's Neverland is an unforgettable novel that combines creeping horror and psychological suspense. It starts like a bullet and never slows down." - David Morrell, New York Times Bestselling Author of Murder as a Fine Art. 

“This is a powerful and thrilling tale, Douglas Clegg’s best novel yet. The novel builds in whispers and ends in a scream. You will never forget Neverland.” - F. Paul Wilson, New York Times Bestselling Author of Nightworld and the Repairman Jack series. 

"From start to finish, Neverland is a haunting and tragic masterpiece. A powerful, thrilling tale, Douglas Clegg tells Beau and Sumner's incredible story with a subtle blend of humor and sadness that resonates with the reader long after the novel ends.” - Marjorie M. Liu, New York Times Bestselling Author. 

“A brilliant novel that grows richer with each reading, a multilayered marvel that will one day be recognized as one of the classics of supernatural literature.” - Bentley Little, Bestselling Author of The Influence and The Haunted. 

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby." - Dean Koontz, New York Times Bestselling Author of Odd Thomas and Innocence. 

"Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills. Neverland is Clegg at his best." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times Bestselling Author of Girl Missing and the Rizzoli & Isles series of novels. 

“Douglas Clegg . . . could have hung out with (in a better world) Robert R. McCammon, Bentley Little and Stephen King. These are guys who know America, and know how to literally scare up the best and worst aspects of the American character and slap them into a ripping yarn full of monsters, terror and enough action to keep the pages turning late into the night.” - Rick Kleffel, book commentator for NPR 

“Combing elements of H.P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, southern gothic, and adolescent angst, Douglas Clegg subsumes us in horror with Neverland, a tale so chilling it infected my dreams. Clegg builds horror in rich detailed layers. It is a testament to Clegg’s gifts that we can’t turn away; scary though the trip may be, the fright reaches out from the pages and pulls us along…Neverland is scary stuff, the product of a skilled writer of horror, and best read with the lights on.” - San Francisco Book Reviews 

“I can tell you without hesitation that Neverland is a true gothic masterpiece. I am incredibly impressed with it. This is a remarkable piece of literature.”- Scott A. Johnson, Dread Central.com 

"Neverland is a scary work written by an author soaring to the top of his game." - The Merry Genre Go Round Review. 

“Neverland delivers . . . delicious slow horror…I’m going to put a library hold on one of Clegg’s other novels, because if they’re anything like this one, I’m an instant fan.” - Sci-Fi Saturday Night.



Never play the Dark Game...It will take you over...it will come alive... From New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg comes this riveting supernatural thriller of dangerous secrets within a haunted family. After one of the most vicious killings of recent years, Nemo Raglan must return to the New England island he thought he'd escaped for good . . . and the shadowy home called Hawthorn.

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction, and The Hour Before Dark is his best and most exciting novel to date. This is pure imagination, and it is wearing speed skates." - Peter Straub, New York Times bestselling author of Ghost Story and, with Stephen King, The Talisman.

*"...An eerie psychological tale of supernatural horror that builds suspense gradually as the characters slowly peel back the layers of their past and face the terrors of their shared childhood. Clegg approaches horror with a stark and vital simplicity that is utterly convincing.  Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will appreciate this atmospheric gem." -- Library Journal.

"I was compelled to keep turning the pages as fear...raised my pulse to racing level from cover to cover." -- DarkEcho.

Here Comes a Candle to Light You To Bed...
As Nemo unravels the mysteries of his past and a terrible night of childhood, he witnesses something unimaginable...and sees the true face of evil...while Burnley Island comes to know the unspeakable horror that grows in darkness.

From the Publishers Weekly Starred Review:
"Suspenseful and relentlessly spooky, told in economical prose yet peopled by characters as fully realized as one’s own blood kin, this is at once the most artful and most mainstream tale yet from one of horror’s brightest lights."

"... A dark,psychologically astute novel that pushes beyond the horror genre
and into raw suspense...THE HOUR BEFORE DARK is a powerful and deeply engaging novel of disturbance and redemption...highly recommended to any reader who enjoys Stephen King, Dean Koontz, or Pat Conroy." - The BookReporter.

 "In his finest novel to date, Clegg establishes himself firmly as one of the leading authors in the horror genre...Hold onto your chair;  The Hour Before Dark is a powerhouse of a read." - Cemetery Dance Magazine.

A gripping read that is refreshingly character-driven, yet still produces a palpable sense of dread." --  Fangoria

 Books by Douglas Clegg
The Children’s Hour
Goat Dance
Purity
Dark of the Eye
The Words
Wild Things
Nightmare House
Bad Karma
Red Angel
Night Cage
Mischief
The Infinite
The Abandoned
The Necromancer
Isis
The Hour Before Dark
You Come When I Call You
Naomi
The Nightmare Chronicles
The Machinery of Night
Breeder
The Attraction

Praise for Douglas Clegg's Fiction
"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of the Rizzoli & Isles series. 

"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation."
— Bentley Little, author of The Policy

"Clegg delivers!"
— John Saul, bestselling author of Faces of Fear and The Devil's Labyrinth.

"Clegg is one of the best!"
— Richard Laymon

"Douglas Clegg is a weaver of nightmares!"
— Robert R. McCammon
author of The Queen of Bedlam and Speaks The Nightbird.

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Alkemara Press
Read more
Published on
Jun 14, 2017
Read more
Pages
430
Read more
ISBN
9780979686214
Read more
Features
Read more
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.