You Come When I Call You: A Novel of Supernatural Horror

Alkemara Press
11
Free sample

Who – or what – is Wendy Swan? 
A girl born from nightmares pursues four friends bound by a shocking event from the past in this supernatural horror epic. A desert town. A ritual of darkness. An unending horror unleashed. An old friend is hunting them. He calls himself the Desolation Angel. At the center of it all, a mysterious girl, missing for years — and the creature that possesses her soul. 

Read all of New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Douglas Clegg’s novels of the supernatural, including NeverlandGoat Dance, and The Children’s Hour

For fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Guillermo del Toro.

*"Horror at its finest!” – Starred Review in Publisher’s Weekly. 
Read more
Collapse

More by Douglas Clegg

See more
4.3
11 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Alkemara Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Nov 1, 2014
Read more
Collapse
Pages
486
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780984975617
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / General
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Never play the Dark Game...It will take you over...it will come alive... From New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg comes this riveting supernatural thriller of dangerous secrets within a haunted family. After one of the most vicious killings of recent years, Nemo Raglan must return to the New England island he thought he'd escaped for good . . . and the shadowy home called Hawthorn.

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction, and The Hour Before Dark is his best and most exciting novel to date. This is pure imagination, and it is wearing speed skates." - Peter Straub, New York Times bestselling author of Ghost Story and, with Stephen King, The Talisman.

*"...An eerie psychological tale of supernatural horror that builds suspense gradually as the characters slowly peel back the layers of their past and face the terrors of their shared childhood. Clegg approaches horror with a stark and vital simplicity that is utterly convincing.  Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will appreciate this atmospheric gem." -- Library Journal.

"I was compelled to keep turning the pages as fear...raised my pulse to racing level from cover to cover." -- DarkEcho.

Here Comes a Candle to Light You To Bed...
As Nemo unravels the mysteries of his past and a terrible night of childhood, he witnesses something unimaginable...and sees the true face of evil...while Burnley Island comes to know the unspeakable horror that grows in darkness.

From the Publishers Weekly Starred Review:
"Suspenseful and relentlessly spooky, told in economical prose yet peopled by characters as fully realized as one’s own blood kin, this is at once the most artful and most mainstream tale yet from one of horror’s brightest lights."

"... A dark,psychologically astute novel that pushes beyond the horror genre
and into raw suspense...THE HOUR BEFORE DARK is a powerful and deeply engaging novel of disturbance and redemption...highly recommended to any reader who enjoys Stephen King, Dean Koontz, or Pat Conroy." - The BookReporter.

 "In his finest novel to date, Clegg establishes himself firmly as one of the leading authors in the horror genre...Hold onto your chair;  The Hour Before Dark is a powerhouse of a read." - Cemetery Dance Magazine.

A gripping read that is refreshingly character-driven, yet still produces a palpable sense of dread." --  Fangoria

 Books by Douglas Clegg
The Children’s Hour
Goat Dance
Purity
Dark of the Eye
The Words
Wild Things
Nightmare House
Bad Karma
Red Angel
Night Cage
Mischief
The Infinite
The Abandoned
The Necromancer
Isis
The Hour Before Dark
You Come When I Call You
Naomi
The Nightmare Chronicles
The Machinery of Night
Breeder
The Attraction

Praise for Douglas Clegg's Fiction
"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of the Rizzoli & Isles series. 

"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation."
— Bentley Little, author of The Policy

"Clegg delivers!"
— John Saul, bestselling author of Faces of Fear and The Devil's Labyrinth.

"Clegg is one of the best!"
— Richard Laymon

"Douglas Clegg is a weaver of nightmares!"
— Robert R. McCammon
author of The Queen of Bedlam and Speaks The Nightbird.

Claiming his inheritance, Ethan Gravesend unlocks long-buried secrets within a sinister mansion and awakens its nest of hungry spirits in this chilling gothic horror novel of ghosts and psychic phenomena from Bram Stoker Award-winning novelist, Douglas Clegg -- Book One of the Harrow Series. 

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby." - Dean Koontz 

An unquiet grave...


Psychic manifestations, poltergeist activity, hallucinations, and other residue of terror have all been documented in Harrow. It is a place of paranormal nightmare. 

"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation."- Bentley Little, bestselling author of The Haunted. 

Ethan doesn't suspect the horror that awaits him -- the terror of the woman trapped within the house, the visions of occult rituals and psychic manifestation -- and the endless crying of an unseen child. 

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction." - Peter Straub, NY Times bestselling author of The Talisman (with Stephen King) and Ghost Story. 

Don't Miss A Single Harrow Novel! 

The Harrow Series:Book #1, Nightmare House - set at Harrow in the 1920s, the grandson of its creator has come to claim his deadly inheritance and explore the terrifying mystery within the ancient stones and passages of the house.
#2, Mischief - Boys will be boys -- and a dark fraternity of misfits seek out Jim Hook, the new student at Harrow Academy -- but something more terrifying is hunting Jim, as well.
#3, The Infinite - A handful of psychic investigators are called in to document the horrors of Harrow -- but little do they know that the house is more than simply a haunted place -- it may be the soul of evil itself.
#4, The Abandoned -- In the village of Watch Point, New York, in the bucolic Hudson Valley, something toxic and horrifying has leaked from the old boarded-up mansion called Harrow. Throughout the town, people who sleep awaken with blood-lust in their hearts -- and hatchets in their fists. A rampage of mayhem, murder and madness begins -- and only those brave enough to enter Harrow may find a way to stop the terror.


Harrow Prequel Novellas 

The Necromancer - set in the 1800s, this is the story of the young Justin Gravesend and his initiation into a terrifying mystery cult.
Isis - set right at the end of the 1800s, the story of the young Iris Villiers when she discovers the terrible price that must be paid to speak with the dead.


Look for other books by Douglas Clegg


The Children’s Hour 
Goat Dance 
Purity 
Dark of the Eye 
The Words 
Wild Things 
Nightmare House 
Bad Karma 
Red Angel 
Night Cage 
Mischief 
The Infinite 
The Abandoned 
The Necromancer 
Isis 
The Hour Before Dark 
You Come When I Call You 
Naomi 
The Nightmare Chronicles 
The Machinery of Night 
Breeder 
The Attraction 

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.