You Come When I Call You: A Novel of Supernatural Horror

Alkemara Press
11
Free sample

Who – or what – is Wendy Swan? 
A girl born from nightmares pursues four friends bound by a shocking event from the past in this supernatural horror epic. A desert town. A ritual of darkness. An unending horror unleashed. An old friend is hunting them. He calls himself the Desolation Angel. At the center of it all, a mysterious girl, missing for years — and the creature that possesses her soul. 

Read all of New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Douglas Clegg’s novels of the supernatural, including NeverlandGoat Dance, and The Children’s Hour

For fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Guillermo del Toro.

*"Horror at its finest!” – Starred Review in Publisher’s Weekly. 
Read more

More by Douglas Clegg

See more
Beneath the hospital for the criminally insane, there's an older asylum...full of night cages... In Book 3 of the Criminally Insane Series, New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg blends psychological action-suspense with a twist of psychic horror as he unlocks the dangerous corridors of the Darden State Hospital for Criminal Justice in southern California for the most terrifying mother-son murder team in history. 

"Bloody Mary" Chilmark is certifiable -- just ask her doctor. The Darden State Hospital is home to the most dangerous psychopathic killers in the country. But Bloody Mary got out, and raised her baby away from that bad environment. 

She kept him in a cage...where he began to see dead people, all the time. 

Especially the ghosts of those he's killed... 

What a mother she turned out to be -- raising her son, "Doc" with her traditional family values, which often involved surgery -- because her son just has a knack for cutting people open. But Doc's been arrested, processed and held at Darden State -- and is considered one of the most dangerous of the hospital's inmates. 

When wildfires burn out of control in Southern California, authorities face the overwhelming task of relocating hundreds of Darden's patients to other prison hospitals before the raging inferno descend 

In the frenzy, "Bloody Mary" finds her opportunity to free her son. 

It's up to Trey Campbell and officer Jane Laymon to hunt for the mother-son duo in the dark underworld maze of the old asylum beneath the hospital. 

The Criminally Insane Series:


Book #1, Bad Karma 
Book #2, Red Angel 
Book #3, Night Cage 

Author Note: Night Cage was originally published under the author's pen name, Andrew Harper. 

Books by Douglas Clegg


Afterlife 
Goat Dance 
Purity 
Dark of the Eye 
The Words 
Wild Things 
The Children's Hour 
The Criminally Insane Series: 
Bad Karma 
Red Angel 
Night Cage 
The Harrow Series: 
Nightmare House 
Mischief 
The Infinite 
The Abandoned 
The Hour Before Dark 
You Come When I Call You 
Naomi 
The Nightmare Chronicles 
The Machinery of Night 
Isis 
The Necromancer 


With more to come… 

Praise for Douglas Clegg's fiction


"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation." 
-- Bentley Little, author of The Policy 

"Clegg delivers!" 
-- John Saul, bestselling author of Faces of Fear and The Devil's Labyrinth. 

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction." 
-- Peter Straub 
author of Lost Boy, Lost Girl and the New York Times Bestseller Black House (with Stephen King) 

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby." 
-- Dean Koontz 

"Clegg is one of the best!" 
-- Richard Laymon 

"Douglas Clegg is a weaver of nightmares!" 
-- Robert R. McCammon 
author of The Queen of Bedlam and Speaks The Nightbird.

4.3
11 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Alkemara Press
Read more
Published on
Nov 1, 2014
Read more
Pages
486
Read more
ISBN
9780984975617
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / General
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Never play the Dark Game...It will take you over...it will come alive... From New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg comes this riveting supernatural thriller of dangerous secrets within a haunted family. After one of the most vicious killings of recent years, Nemo Raglan must return to the New England island he thought he'd escaped for good . . . and the shadowy home called Hawthorn.

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction, and The Hour Before Dark is his best and most exciting novel to date. This is pure imagination, and it is wearing speed skates." - Peter Straub, New York Times bestselling author of Ghost Story and, with Stephen King, The Talisman.

*"...An eerie psychological tale of supernatural horror that builds suspense gradually as the characters slowly peel back the layers of their past and face the terrors of their shared childhood. Clegg approaches horror with a stark and vital simplicity that is utterly convincing.  Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will appreciate this atmospheric gem." -- Library Journal.

"I was compelled to keep turning the pages as fear...raised my pulse to racing level from cover to cover." -- DarkEcho.

Here Comes a Candle to Light You To Bed...
As Nemo unravels the mysteries of his past and a terrible night of childhood, he witnesses something unimaginable...and sees the true face of evil...while Burnley Island comes to know the unspeakable horror that grows in darkness.

From the Publishers Weekly Starred Review:
"Suspenseful and relentlessly spooky, told in economical prose yet peopled by characters as fully realized as one’s own blood kin, this is at once the most artful and most mainstream tale yet from one of horror’s brightest lights."

"... A dark,psychologically astute novel that pushes beyond the horror genre
and into raw suspense...THE HOUR BEFORE DARK is a powerful and deeply engaging novel of disturbance and redemption...highly recommended to any reader who enjoys Stephen King, Dean Koontz, or Pat Conroy." - The BookReporter.

 "In his finest novel to date, Clegg establishes himself firmly as one of the leading authors in the horror genre...Hold onto your chair;  The Hour Before Dark is a powerhouse of a read." - Cemetery Dance Magazine.

A gripping read that is refreshingly character-driven, yet still produces a palpable sense of dread." --  Fangoria

 Books by Douglas Clegg
The Children’s Hour
Goat Dance
Purity
Dark of the Eye
The Words
Wild Things
Nightmare House
Bad Karma
Red Angel
Night Cage
Mischief
The Infinite
The Abandoned
The Necromancer
Isis
The Hour Before Dark
You Come When I Call You
Naomi
The Nightmare Chronicles
The Machinery of Night
Breeder
The Attraction

Praise for Douglas Clegg's Fiction
"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of the Rizzoli & Isles series. 

"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation."
— Bentley Little, author of The Policy

"Clegg delivers!"
— John Saul, bestselling author of Faces of Fear and The Devil's Labyrinth.

"Clegg is one of the best!"
— Richard Laymon

"Douglas Clegg is a weaver of nightmares!"
— Robert R. McCammon
author of The Queen of Bedlam and Speaks The Nightbird.

The children are back. And this time, they're out for blood. In this gripping supernatural thriller of horror and edge-of-your-seat suspense -- from New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg -- something is terribly wrong with the children of Colony, West Virginia. 

Innocent though they seem, these kids come out at night -- to hunt. 

"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation." - Bentley Little, bestselling author of The Haunting. 

When Joe Gardner returns with his wife and two young children to the peaceful mountain town of Colony, West Virginia, he doesn’t expect to find the girl who disappeared when he was a boy. 

But she remembers Joe -- and her other friends who left her behind, way down in a deep well within a mysterious barn. 

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby."-- Dean Koontz, NY Times Bestselling Author. 

Is she a vampire? 

Or something more demonic... 

Whatever’s lurking in the old mines under the town has been disturbed by Joe’s return. Joe did something when he was a boy – something that stopped the terror and evil from erupting. 

But now, a creature living in darkness wants out. 

It’s going to use the children of Colony to exact its revenge... 

Its hour has come 'round at last – the Children’s Hour… 

"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." -- Tess Gerritsen, New York Times Bestselling Author. 

Books by Douglas Clegg


Afterlife 
Goat Dance 
Purity 
Dark of the Eye 
The Words 
Wild Things 
The Children's Hour 
The Criminally Insane Series: 
Bad Karma 
Red Angel 
Night Cage 
The Harrow Series: 
Nightmare House 
Mischief 
The Infinite 
The Abandoned 
The Hour Before Dark 
You Come When I Call You 
Naomi 
The Nightmare Chronicles 
The Machinery of Night 
Isis 
The Necromancer 

Praise for Douglas Clegg's fiction


"Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation." 
-- Bentley Little, author of The Policy 

"Clegg delivers!" 
-- John Saul, bestselling author of Faces of Fear and The Devil's Labyrinth. 

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction." 
-- Peter Straub 
author of Lost Boy, Lost Girl and the New York Times Bestseller Black House (with Stephen King) 

"Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby." 
-- Dean Koontz 

"Clegg is one of the best!" 
-- Richard Laymon 

"Douglas Clegg is a weaver of nightmares!" 
-- Robert R. McCammon 
author of The Queen of Bedlam and Speaks The Nightbird. 

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.