Brain Dead: Medical Thriller

ePublishing Works!
10
Free sample

"Riveting plot, terrifying premise..." ~Tami Hoag, NYT Bestselling Author of Down The Darkest Road

When forensic nurse Timmie Leary-Parker moves from LA to Puckett, Missouri to care for her ailing father, she's prepared for the slow pace, the small-town politics and the feeling that everyone knows her business.

Then, patients in the hospital's Alzheimer's Unit start dying in unprecedented numbers.

Everyone refuses to investigate the town's most lucrative business, and no one will challenge the hospital's Golden Boy director.

No one, except Timmie.

Convinced a serial killer walks the Alzheimer's Unit where her father lies ill, Timmie digs up a burned-out Pulitzer-winning reporter and dives into a quagmire of corruption and greed.

"Dreyer writes with great wit and sensitivity, especially about the problems of loving and coping with older relatives." ~The Times-Picayune

Eileen Dreyer knocks readers off their feet. You won't forget the power, pain and moral ambiguity of this incredible novel." ~Romantic Times

Publisher's Note: As a former trauma nurse, Eileen Dreyer combines her real-world medical knowledge and superb story-telling to bring readers a series of uniquely plotted, spine-tingling, medical mysteries. Fans of Tami Hoag, Elizabeth George, Nora Roberts as well as John Lutz, Michael Crichton and Patricia Cornwell will enjoy these well-crafted medical thrillers.

OTHER MEDICAL SUSPENSE/THRILLERS by Eileen Dreyer:
Nothing Personal
Brain Dead
Bad Medicine
If Looks Could Kill

Read more
Collapse

About the author

New York Times bestselling author Eileen Dreyer has been inducted into the Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame, nominated for the Anthony Award and is a retired trauma nurse. Also trained in forensic nursing and death investigation, Eileen doesn't see herself actively working in those fields, unless this writing thing doesn't pan out.

Read more
Collapse
4.6
10 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
ePublishing Works!
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 28, 2012
Read more
Collapse
Pages
512
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781614173519
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Medical
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
 Isobel Donnelly has a perfect life. Married to a renowned orthopedic surgeon, she also has a successful and satisfying career as a pediatric nurse at the prestigious Sydney Harbour Hospital. Life couldn’t get any better.

But then her babies arrive and the husband she adores turns into a cold and angry stranger. Her perfect world is shattered the first night he hits her.

Now, she’s trapped in a violent marriage with nowhere to turn. Her husband has threatened to kill her and the kids if she ever dares to leave. In public, they’re the perfect couple, but inside, she’s slowly dying… 

Mason Alexander has relocated to the city to take up his dream job as a pediatric doctor at the prestigious Sydney Harbour Hospital. Recovering from a failed marriage, he’s determined to put the change of scene to good use. The distractions and demands of his new job are just what he needs to get his life back on track.

Then he runs into Isobel Donnelly and his world is once again turned upside down. He’s loved her since they were children. She’s the reason his marriage failed. But Isobel’s still married to his nemesis: the incomparable Nigel Donnelly. From all accounts, the two of them are still blissfully in love.

Vowing to steer clear of the woman who’s haunted his dreams for far too many years, Mason does his best to avoid her, but Isobel continues to seek him out and he can’t help but notice her assurances about her happy marriage appear a little forced.

When she arrives at work with a blackened eye, he’s immediately suspicious: There’s no way she fell over toys left in the way. The thought that Nigel might be abusing her is abhorrent, but the signs are there for all to see. 

Will Mason be able to convince her to leave her husband…or will they both die trying?


NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “The memorable scenes are powerfully drawn. . . . A spiritual mystery . . . both moving and brave.”—The New York Times Book Review

The acclaimed author of the phenomenal bestseller The Road Less Traveled adds a natural gift for storytelling to his spiritual insight and profound awareness of human nature in this mesmerizing, deeply moving new work.

Among those within the self-contained world of the Willow Glen nursing home are two extraordinary people. One is there to give care, the other to receive it. Yet together they form a bond of love and trust that transcends their expectations and changes their lives.

Stephen Solaris—Imprisoned in a helpless body since birth, unable to even speak, he has an incredible ability to touch the hearts and minds of those around him with the power of his personality.

Heather Barsten—a nurse whose devotion to her patients surpasses her ability to fulfill her own needs. From Stephen she learns the importance of being true to one’s heart—and she finds herself falling in love.

Then violence shatters Willow Glen. Now a murderer roams the halls of the home, and the residents and staff must confront a truly terrifying evil and face their innermost fears, suspicions, and darkest secrets. . . . 

A Bed by the Window is an exceptional work, a gripping psychological thriller and a luminous synthesis of Peck’s thinking on good and evil, spiritual growth, and the miracles worked by love.

“Scott Peck . . . [is] a born storyteller. . . . His unique insights and wisdom [come] through pin] pure story. This is . . . a page-turner, a book that you start and can’t put down.”—Madeleine L’Engle, author of A Wrinkle of Time
"A wicked prescription guaranteed to give you sleepless nights." ~Nora Roberts

St. Louis Trauma nurse Casey McDonough thinks her life is interesting enough. Her best friend still drops acid, her ex-husband is a cross-dressing psychiatrist, and her mother has turned the third floor of the family home into the Chapel of Eternal Vigilance.

Then, things begin to really go wrong when OB/Gyn Dr. Dale Hunsacker arrives. Handsome, wealthy and charismatic, the good doctor is enchanting the patients of the St. Louis hospital. But, Cassy believes he is a serial killer. And the only person who takes her seriously, is Hunsacker himself.

Caught in a spiral of suspicion and intimidation, Casey approaches ex-Marine, ex-Jesuit homicide sergeant Jack Scanlan for help. All she has are hunches for proof, but she'll do anything to stop the monster walking the halls of her hospital.

"Eileen Dreyer creates the sort of skin-crawling suspense that will leave readers looking with a wild and wary eye upon anyone at the other end of a stethoscope." ~Elizabeth George

Publisher's Note: As a former trauma nurse, Eileen Dreyer combines her real-world medical knowledge and superb story-telling to bring readers a series of uniquely plotted, spine-tingling, medical mysteries. Fans of Tami Hoag, Elizabeth George, Nora Roberts as well as John Lutz, Michael Crichton and Patricia Cornwell will enjoy these well-crafted medical thrillers.

OTHER MEDICAL SUSPENSE/THRILLERS by Eileen Dreyer:
Nothing Personal
Brain Dead
Bad Medicine
If Looks Could Kill
‘It is SUCH a good mystery book, a real page turner...definitely a book I'll remember having read for a long time. I'd mark it a 6 out of 5 if I could.’ (5 stars) Goodreads reviewer

‘I took you, Becca. You’re not my daughter.’

Since Becca Wall’s mother was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s, every day Becca loses a little more of the loving, caring mother who would do anything for her only daughter. But when one day Nancy Wall confesses that Becca is not her child, Becca’s world falls apart.

Becca tells herself that the words are just a cruel symptom of Nancy’s illness; after all, she has her birth certificate, and pictures of herself as a newborn along with her Mom, Dad and older brother, Danny. Becca tries to forget, to get on with on her life – until the day the police question her about the whereabouts of a missing woman, Katie Collins.

Katie has disappeared without a trace, telling her husband that she is leaving to find Rebecca Wall. But Becca doesn’t know Katie, so it’s a case of mistaken identity – isn’t it? But as Becca discovers why Katie was desperate to find her, the lies that Becca has always believed come crashing down. Soon, it’s clear that someone knows the truth – and that they’ll stop at nothing to keep their secrets...

An addictive, fast-paced psychological thriller with a shocking twist that will leave you gasping. Fans of The Girl on the Train, The Wife Between Us and T.M Logan will be gripped until the very last page.

Readers are hooked on Familiar Strangers...:

‘Familiar Strangers is packed to the brim with suspense that will have you hooked throughout... once you start it, you will not want to stop until you turn that very last page.’ (5 stars) By The Letter Book Reviews

'Iloved this and devoured it to the end... A stunning piece of writing with the tension and drama you expect from a top psychological thriller. Very highly recommended.’ (5 stars) Goodreads reviewer

‘wow! It was excellent...This book is very well written, has great characters and grabbed my attention and held it the entire time I was reading.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘uncharacteristically I am very nearly speechless. I've just finished this novel and my head is still processing the events that unfolded within... I look forward to any future novels written by Jackie Walsh.’ Goodreads reviewer

'gripped me from page one and I raced through it to the end. The story is full of mystery and tension along with humour, and sadness. I highly recommend this excellent debut novel.Patricia Gibney, author of Final Betrayal

‘Wow. What a great, twisty book. Kept me guessing until the very end.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Familiar Strangers has an utterly captivating plot, and I was drawn further and further into the story as it progressed, I was kept guessing all the way through.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Compelling, fast-paced, and utterly gripping, Familiar Strangers will keep you hooked until the very end. I loved it’ Louise Phillips, author of the Dr. Kate Pearson crime thriller series

‘A fast-paced but sensitive thriller. A cracking debut.' Andrea Carter, author of the Inishowen Mystery series

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.