The Whisky Wedding: a Mr. Darcy & Elizabeth Bennet story: a Mr. Darcy & Elizabeth Bennet story

Elizabeth Ann West
Free sample

 When Elizabeth Bennet of Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice learns of her sister's elopement before leaving for the Peaks District, she and her aunt are off to Scotland to chase the wayward couple. Inn after inn, there is no sign of Lydia or Mr. Wickham, but Elizabeth won't give up. A foolhardy decision to continue to search on her own lands Elizabeth right into the arms of a familiar face . . . Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy. Join author Elizabeth Ann West in a tale of carriage accidents, amnesia, and a forced marriage, but happy endings for all. Well, maybe not Mr. Wickham!

A stand-alone novel in the world of Jane Austen Fan Fiction that reimagines Pride & Prejudice.
Read more

More by Elizabeth Ann West

See more


5 total

Additional Information

Elizabeth Ann West
Read more
Published on
Dec 31, 2016
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Regency
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Scottish
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A Top 10 Google Play Bestseller from a New York Times Bestselling Author!

England & Scotland, 1668: Kendra Chase's brothers are telling her it's high time she get married. But although they've presented her with many wealthy, titled suitors, no man has caught her fancy—until her coach is held up by a dashing, mysterious highwayman. When she and the dangerous man are caught in a compromising embrace and her overprotective brothers insist they wed, Kendra cannot believe it. Are they really desperate enough to match her with an outlaw?

Scottish-born Patrick "Trick" Caldwell is the Duke of Amberley—and also the notorious Black Highwayman, an identity he has assumed in order to right past wrongs and serve his king. But his already complicated life becomes positively convoluted when he finds himself compelled to marry a red-headed temptress he's only just met. Caught in a web of half-truths and forced into a perilous mission, can Trick extricate himself and find love with the woman destined to steal his heart?


A complete, standalone story—no cliffhangers!

Series: Chase Family Series: The Jewels, Book 4
Style: Humorous historical romance
Length: 118,000 words (about 475 standard pages)
Bonus Material: Author’s Note, preview of next book, link to giveaway
R-rated Content: Steamy love scenes!*

* If you’d prefer to read a Sweet & Clean (kisses only) version of this story, look for “The Duke’s Reluctant Bride” by Lauren Royal & Devon Royal.


• Top 10 Bestseller on Google Play, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, and Kobo
• A Booklist Top Ten Romance of the Year
• Winner of the Romantic Times K.I.S.S. Award for Best Romantic Hero


"A captivating historical romance. Fans of Julia Quinn and Tessa Dare will love Lauren Royal!"
—Glynnis Campbell, USA Today Bestselling Author

"Lauren Royal sweeps readers up into the 17th century, bringing all the excitement and glamour of the Restoration to life with her colorful characters, vivid backdrop, and passionate romance."
—Romantic Times

"An impressive talent!"
—Publishers Weekly (Forecasted review)

"A passionate tale that brings late seventeenth-century England vividly and filled with action from the very first page to the climax."
—Midwest Book Review


While AMBER can be read as a stand-alone novel, many readers enjoy reading it as part of a series. All of Lauren's books feature Chase family members. Should you wish to read them in chronological order, this is the sequence:

Chase Family Series: The Jewels
1666 - AMETHYST (Colin & Amy)
1667 - EMERALD (Jason & Caithren)
1667 - FOREVERMORE (Cameron & Clarice)
1668 - AMBER (Trick & Kendra)

Chase Family Series: The Flowers
1673 - VIOLET (Ford & Violet)
1677 - LILY (Rand & Lily)
1677 - ROSE (Kit & Rose)
1651 - A SECRET CHRISTMAS (Joseph & Chrystabel)

Chase Family Series: The Regency
1815 - LOST IN TEMPTATION (Tristan & Alexandra)
1816 - TEMPTING JULIANA (James & Juliana)
1817 - THE ART OF TEMPTATION (Sean & Corinna + Griffin & Rachael)

Chase Family Series: The Renaissance
1549 - ALICE BETROTHED (Adam & Alice)

Specially Priced Boxed Sets

Themes: sexy love stories, lords and ladies, wealthy and rich dukes, castles and country houses, England and English history, 17th century and 1600s, Restoration and Charles II, Scotland and Scottish Highlanders, sisters and brothers, family life and friendship, weddings and matchmaking, romantic comedy, travel and road stories, buried treasure, mistaken identities and disguises, highwaymen and outlaws
Together of the first time, Diana Cosby's MacGruder Brothers series!

His Captive

Alexander just wants to avenge his father's murder, not to become entangled with the enemy. But his desire to keep Lady Nichola, his English captive, with him, in his home--in his bed--unwittingly makes her a target for zealous Scottish rebels.

Nichola is trapped--by her powerful attraction to a man whose touch shakes her to the core. Unwilling and unable to resist each other, can Nichola and Alexander save a love that has enslaved them both?

His Woman

Isabel Adair is the last woman Duncan MacGruder wants to see again, much less save. Three years ago, Isabel broke their engagement to become the Earl of Frasyer's mistress, shattering Duncan's heart. But with a promise to Isabel's dying brother, he is compelled to rescue her.

Isabel betrayed the man she loved to save her father, but every moment she spends with Duncan reminds her how much she sacrificed. Though he despises her, Duncan cannot withstand the desire that has grown wilder with time. Now, the two wary lovers must confront both the enemies hunting them, and the secret legacy that threatens their very lives...

His Conquest

Linet Dancort will not be sold. But that's essentially what her brother intends to do--trade her like so much chattel. Seizing any opportunity to escape her fate, Linet escapes with a rebel prisoner trapped in her brother's dungeon.

Seathan MacGruder is surprised when a beautiful Englishwoman creeps to his cell and offers him his freedom in exchange for safe passage to the Highlands. The only thing more dangerous than the journey through Scotland is the desire that smolders between these two fugitives...

His Destiny

Emma Astyn, an English mercenary, can charm an enemy and brandish a knife like no other. Charged with befriending an infamous Scottish rebel, she assumes the guise of innocent damsel Christina Moffat to spy on him. But as she gains the dark hero's confidence, she realizes they share a tattered past, which distracts her from the task at hand. . .

Sir Patrik Cleary MacGruder is driven by duty and honor, not heroics. Rescuing Christina is a just matter of obligation for the Scot. But there's something alluring about her fiery spirit, even if he has misgivings. Together, they'll endure a perilous journey of love and betrayal...

His Seduction

When Lady Rois Drummond believes her father, the Scottish Earl of Brom, is about to be exposed as a traitor to England, she must think quickly. Desperate, Rois makes a shocking claim against Griffin Westcott. But her impetuous lie leaves her in an outrageous circumstance: hastily married to the enemy.

Griffin may be an Englishman, but in truth he leads a clandestine life as a spy for Scotland. Refusing to endanger any woman, he has endured the loneliness of his mission. But Rois has suddenly changed all that. Now, Griffin must find a way to keep his secret while keeping his distance from his spirited and tempting new wife--a task that proves more difficult than he ever imagined...

His Enchantment

Lady Catarine MacLaren is a fairy princess, duty-bound to her realm. But when English knights launch an assault on her family, just as the Scottish king has been captured, Catarine is torn between loyalty to her people and helping the handsome, rust-haired Lord Trálin rescue the Scottish king...

As guard to King Alexander, Lord Trálin MacGruder will stop at nothing to defend the Scottish crown. And he finds a sympathetic ally in the enigmatic Catarine. As they plot to rescue the kidnapped king, Trálin and Catarine will discover a love made all but impossible by her obligations. But a passion this extraordinary may be worth the irreversible sacrifices it demands...
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.