Her Perfect Bones: A totally addictive mystery and suspense novel

· Rockwell and Decker Book 2 · Bookouture
4.5
13 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

The girl’s body is curled up like a shell and almost completely buried in sand. Only her fingertips can be seen, reaching helplessly up towards an escape she will never find…

 

Seventeen-year-old Shelby Mayfield sits alone on a bus to Fog Harbor, California. Aside from a few items of clothing, all she has with her is twenty-two dollars, the ragdoll she’s kept since kindergarten, and the devastating secret she’s been hiding.

 

How long will it be before her family realizes she’s gone?

 

Can anyone see the fresh bruise on her cheek beneath the makeup?

 

Perhaps she was a fool to believe the person she is meeting in this remote little town could help her…

 

When a girl’s body is found hidden in a barrel in a woodland cabin, the local police are at a loss. The film from an old camera found looped around her neck is their only lead, but Criminal Psychologist Olivia Rockwell’s blood turns to ice when she recognizes the ragdoll in one of the girl’s last photographs. She used to own one just like it, and it can only mean one thing: if she doesn’t dig deep into the mind of a deadly killer from her pasther own fathermore innocent lives will be in danger…

 

A totally gripping and utterly addictive crime thriller for readers who love Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh. But be warned: you’ll be sleeping with the lights on after you’ve raced through the pages in one sitting!

 

Everyone is talking about Her Perfect Bones:

‘Omg Wow, just wow, I loved this… addictivegripping fast-paced, packed full of twists and turns, kept me guessing and had me captivated and glued to my kindle… gave me a very bad case of just-one-more-chapter syndrome… I would give it more than five stars if I could…Very very highly recommended.’ Nicki’s Life of Crime, 5 stars

 

‘Perfectheart-stopping glued to this book!... Buckle your seatbelt and prepare for a bumpy ride!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Fantastic… a hold-on-tight, prepare-to-not-sleep, white-knuckle suspense! Keeps you guessing to the end! Novels and Latte, 5 stars

 

‘Grabbed me from the beginning and sucked me in. I couldn’t put this one down and read it in one sitting.’ Nicki's Book Blog

 

‘Will keep you turning the pages on the edge of your seat and biting your lip with no time to catch your breath. Spooky's Maze of Books, 5 stars

 

‘Looking for twists and turns you never see coming? Then this is the book for you!... perfectly pacedkeeping you on the edge of your seat. Start this series today! You will not regret it!’ The Butterfly Reader, 5 stars

 

Grippingkept me reading until late at night and on the edge of my seatI LOVED IT!Bookworm86, 5 stars

 

PERFECTION!you won’t want to put this book down… keeps you guessing until the end!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

4.5
13 reviews
Cheryl McCullough
January 30, 2021
Have you ever heard the saying, "God works in mysterious ways"? Well I thought this was book 2 in another series I was reading, so I requested the arc., by accident. I was not disappointed. Mysterious ways indeed. Fast paced, suspense, mystery all rolled into one. There is a lot going on, different threads being pulled for a multi layered read. I loved the relationship between Deck and JB it had me laughing out loud, which lightens the murder trail they follow. I could relate to the push and pull between Olivia and Deck. The issue with their families and jail is gritty and real. I personally feel you can read this book without having read book 1, but I think reading book one would give you a little more connection with the characters, I love a read that takes me on a twisty turn and provides the feels. Check! New author, new series, and will be looking for book 3. Thank you for the arc! I freely volunteer my thoughts and opinions! And I love the cover :)
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Duchess Sarah Ferguson
February 22, 2021
I enjoyed reading Ellery A. Kane's latest police procedural / psychological mystery-thriller. Her Perfect Bones is a well-plotted mystery, featuring a cast of complex characters, and with a strong sense of setting. Having travelled in northern coastal California several years ago, I found that the book brought a sense of nostalgia for the stunning setting of dramatic coast bordered by mysterious redwood forests. Will Decker is a detective based in Fog Harbor (a fictional location somewhere in the vicinity of the real Crescent City), California. Off-duty, he's alerted by a frantic neighbour, who's made the blood-curdling discovery of a young woman's body, hidden in a sand-filled barrel in his cabin's basement. The investigation by Decker and his colleague Detective Jimmy Benson, firstly to identify the woman in the barrel, then to solve the mystery of her death, leads the detectives to a San Francisco parolee, an elderly former porn-film producer who once owned the cabin and a lonely woman who lives in the backwoods. Meanwhile, Dr. Olivia Rockwell, chief psychologist at the nearby Crescent Bay State Prison, is dealing with confronting personal issues, in addition to the demands of her professional role. Her father, imprisoned for the murder of a prostitute - which he has always denied - is up for parole. Her efforts to prove his innocence take her also to San Francisco, and the underworld of criminal gangs operating in the city's social housing areas. Decker and Rockwell each harbour romantic feelings for the other, which they're reluctant to reveal. which gives rise to a sweet (if rather far-fetched) sub-plot, as they circle one another while balancing their professional relationship and several high-octane situations with suspects. I felt there was a well-executed escalation of tension over the course of the book, as the various threads of the investigation come together to reveal a ruthless killer. Her Perfect Bones was a satisfying, undemanding read with some excellent insight into the complexities of working in the criminal justice system. Author Ellery A. Kane has clearly drawn on her personal experience from her "day job" as a forensic psychologist, injecting a healthy dose of verisimilitude, without overburdening the narrative with technical detail. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy police/psychology crossover mysteries and evocative settings. My thanks to the author, Ellery A. Kane, publisher Bookouture and NetGalley for the oppportunity to read and review this title.
Did you find this helpful?
Linda Strong
September 8, 2021
When a young girl's body is found hidden in a barrel, the local police are baffled. The only lead they have is an old camera found looped around her neck. Criminal Psychologist Olivia Rockwell is stunned when she recognizes a picture of a rag doll. Olivia used to have a doll just like that ... given to her by her father ... himself a deadly killer. Intense suspense from start to finish, this is a well-written page turner littered with twists and turns that lead to a surprising conclusion. The characters are solidly drawn. As the author herself is a forensic psychologist, I expected a great deal of realism, credibility. I was not disappointed. Although this is 2nd in the series, it is easily read as a stand alone. I would definitely recommend reading in order, as this is a riveting series. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this crime fiction. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.