One Child Alive: An absolutely gripping crime thriller packed with nail-biting suspense

· Rockwell and Decker Book 3 · Bookouture
4.8
21 reviews
Ebook
398
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

One, two, three. She counts the bodies dragged from the burning beach house, smoke rising from their cotton pajamas, and remembers a fourth; red hair, freckles, clinging to his mother’s legs, begging to watch the fireworks a while longer. “Where’s the little boy?” she whispers…

 

In the ashes of the Fox family’s seafront vacation home, Olivia Rockwell can barely hold back her tears as she wonders who in the close-knit town of Fog Harbor could destroy such a warm, loving family. Then she spots a little green toy soldier in the sand and follows a set of small footprints along the beach to an abandoned lifeguard hut. Inside, she finds the youngest Fox child, Thomas. The only survivor…

 

Holding his trembling body close, Olivia promises to keep him safe. She knows the agony of losing family at such a young age. But the second Thomas catches sight of Detective Will Decker’s sliver police badge over her shoulder, the little boy’s scream pierces the night. Could the family have been targeted by someone sworn to protect them? Is anyone safe if the police themselves are the primary suspect?

 

Unsure who she can trust, Olivia keeps hold of the tiny horseshoe charm she finds at the scene and follows the trail deep into the web of lies surrounding this seemingly perfect family. But just as a tip-off from a local lighthouse-keeper puts the killer within reach, tragedy strikes: little Thomas is snatched from his bed.

 

Up against a calculating monster who seems to know her every weakness, Olivia must dig deeper than ever before to find this innocent child. But when one twisted killer becomes two, can she stay alive long enough to save him?


A totally gripping and utterly addictive page-turner that will have you biting your nails and reeling at the twists. Perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot!


Readers love One Child Alive:

‘Omg! nerve-shredding and nail-biting with a mind-blowing twistbrilliant and addictiveVery, very highly recommendedone of my favourite reads of this year.’ Nickislifeofcrime, 5 stars

 

I absolutely lovedI literally didn’t want it to endnail-biting and unpredictable. I have devoured this book in just one sitting. I have been gripped and need more.’ Little Miss Book Lover 87, 5 stars

 

‘Absolutely LOVED it. Kept me guessing right up to the end. Non-stop from the first page. This is a must-read… The twists and turns keep you guessing the whole way through. Full of suspense, this one made my heart stop a few times.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘WOW, what a read, it’s the type of book you will get lost in and won't put down… so pull up a chair, get a drink and a snack, and sit back and enjoy the story page by page.Spooky's Maze Of Books, 5 stars

 

‘When I first downloaded this, I swore to myself that I was only going to read a few pages because my kitchen was a mess and I needed to clean it. Yeah… my partner came home with our daughter a few hours later and there I was… curled up on the sofa with a dirty kitchen. I just couldn’t put it down!Thebutterflyreader, 5 stars

 

Just when I thought I figured it out, I found out I was wrong!I didn’t want it to end but I couldn’t stop readingphenomenal! The story was pulse-pounding!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

Everyone is talking about Ellery Kane:

 

Omg Wow, just wow, I loved this… addictive… gripping… fast-paced, packed full of twists and turns, kept me guessing and had me captivated and glued to my kindle gave me a very bad case of just-one-more-chapter syndrome… I would give it more than five stars if I could…Very, very highly recommended.’ Nicki’s Life of Crime, 5 stars

 

Gripping… kept me reading until late at night and on the edge of my seat… I LOVED IT!’ Bookworm86, 5 stars

 

PERFECTION!… you won’t want to put this book down… keeps you guessing until the end!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

Ratings and reviews

4.8
21 reviews
Mags_louise
June 23, 2021
4.25⭐ One Child Alive, the third in Ellery A. Kane's Rockwell and Decker series was a great read. That was full of mystery as Detective Will Decker (Deck) and his friend prison psychologist Olivia Rockwell investigate the murder of a family vacationing in Fog Harbor over the 4th of July holiday. But with a four-year-old as their only witness, and the possibility of a fellow officer being responsible, finding the killer seems an uphill task. Especially when Will alone begins to fear the person responsible is someone with no links to the family, but him instead. And with twists, shocks, surprises and characters who are really starting to develop. This was an extremely enjoyable read, and I'm looking forward to reading more, as there are still mysteries to be solved, including what really happened to Olivia's father. Would recommend. **I was kindly provided with an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**
Did you find this helpful?
Annette Johnson
June 23, 2021
I thought this was a good continuation of the series. It was intense and full of action. It kept me guessing who was behind the murders. I enjoyed the book and look forward to more in this series Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for the early copy
Did you find this helpful?
Katrina Vallett
June 23, 2021
4.5 rounded up. This is the third book in the Rockwell and Decker series and my favorite yet! Although this is part of a series you can definitely read it as a standalone. This book has everything you need from a police detective thriller: action, unpredictability and some romance on the side. Throw in some humorous banter between Will and his partner, JB, and I'm a happy camper! Thank you Netgalley, Bookouture and Ellery Kane for the advanced copy in exchange for my honest opinion!
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.