Where the Missing Go

Kensington Books
2
Free sample

In Emma Rowley’s emotionally gripping, unpredictable novel of psychological suspense, a mother who works at a charity helpline for missing teens receives a desperate call—from her own daughter...

The missing don’t always want to be found.

Kate Harlow recognizes this painful truth, even as she keeps searching for her daughter, Sophie, who disappeared two years ago. The police have stopped investigating—after all, Sophie has sent postcards home, insisting that she’s fine. To fill the space in her increasingly empty days, Kate volunteers at Message in a Bottle, where runaways can leave messages for loved ones, no questions asked.

Then one evening, a call comes in from a voice Kate instinctively recognizes, even through bursts of static and beyond the sudden dial tone that breaks their connection.

Those closest to Kate worry she’s cracking under her grief, imagining that it was Sophie. But Kate knows—that it was her daughter on the phone. And that a stranger has been inside her house. Watching her.

Sophie is out there. And Kate has to find her, even if someone will try anything to stop her . . .


“Kept me guessing to the final twist; creepy and addictive. My perfect type of book!”
—Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Emma Rowley is a much-respected writer: journalist, ghost‑writer and editor currently on staff at the Daily Mail as associate editor (features), having previously been deputy features editor at the Daily Telegraph. Emma has also spent considerable time in the courts and covering major crime stories which imbues Where the Missing Go with authenticity. Visit emmarowley.co.uk for updates.
Read more
Collapse
3.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Kensington Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 1, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
304
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781496723116
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
‘I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me…’

Grace hasn't been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie's last words, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie's. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn't know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie's father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie's sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan's home.

But something isn't right. Things disappear, Dan's acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace's mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie... or was there?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and The Girl With No Past.

What people are saying about The Sister:

‘I was gripped to The Sister from the first page until the very end. I thought I had it all worked out until I was proven sooo wrong.’ Robert Bryndza

‘I could not put this book down. I neglected all the house work and put off cooking dinner until I was finished… I loved every page.’ Renee Reads

‘My eyes were racing down the pages… had me guessing right up to the very end and I had tears in my eyes as I relived Charlie's last moments… exceptional… It's an addictive page-turner that begs time and again for just one more chapter until the whole book has been devoured and thoroughly enjoyed.’ The Book Magnet

‘Wow! What an amazing debut novel! Full of intense twists! Fantastic book to start off summer reading! Highly recommend.’ Loud and Proud Book Junkie, 5 stars

‘I loved this book, it grabbed me right from the beginning.' Beady Jans Books

'I genuinely struggled to put this book down… I can't recommend this book enough, it's made it to my favourites... I can't wait for more books to come from Louise Jensen… A well-deserved five stars from me.' Emporio Epidemic

'I couldn't put my Kindle down until I had answers!!… I wasn't sure which characters to trust and which to not trust… a 5 star book that would make a fantastic summer read!' Steph and Chris’ Book Review

'As the skillfully woven web of lies and deceit starts to untangle the author throws in a massive twist that I certainly didn't see coming… a definite must read for all psychological thriller fans and it's one of those books that deserves to be talked about.' The Haphazardous Hippo

'One of those books that you can't stop thinking about even when you're not reading it!!... the tension never seems to drop for one second!… an absolute treat, albeit a scary one, to read!! Highly recommended!' Books and Me!

'Just as I thought the story was wrapping up BANG! I was hit again with another twist. Brilliant! It is chilling and sinister and yet heart-breaking and tragic, and I felt really emotional on finishing it… I can’t wait to read more by Louise.' Bloomin Brilliant Books

'OMG I love this... one corker of a psychological thriller which ticked all the boxes for me giving it an easy 5 stars.' Chelle’s Book Reviews

'Hooked from the first page till the end... A gripping tale for fans of I Let You Go and The Girl on the Train. A must read.' Berlitz Chile

'I was left gaping… You cannot help but speed read through this novel. You have to know what happens.' Aloha Reviews

'I was hooked on the story from the word go.' Hollie in Wanderlust

THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE NOVEL YOU CAN'T MISS...

“A cracking read...Our Little Secret builds to a deliciously dark conclusion.” —Ruth Ware, New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin 10

Roz Nay's Our Little Secret is a twisted tale of love, pain, and revenge that will stay with the reader long after they turn the last page.

They say you never forget your first love. What they don’t say though, is that sometimes your first love won’t forget you...

Angela Petitjean sits in a cold, dull room. The police have been interrogating her for hours, asking about Saskia Parker. She’s the wife of Angela’s high school sweetheart, HP, and the mother of his child. She has vanished. Homicide Detective J. Novak believes Angela knows what happened to Saskia. He wants the truth, and he wants it now.

But Angela has a different story to tell. It began more than a decade ago when she and HP met in high school in Cove, Vermont. She was an awkward, shy teenager. He was a popular athlete. They became friends, fell in love, and dated senior year. Everything changed when Angela went to college. When time and distance separated them. When Saskia entered the picture.

That was eight years ago. HP foolishly married a drama queen and Angela moved on with her life. Whatever marital rift caused Saskia to leave her husband has nothing to do with Angela. Nothing at all. Detective Novak needs to stop asking questions and listen to what Angela is telling him. And once he understands everything, he’ll have the truth he so desperately wants...

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It—publishing just as the second part of It, the movie, lands in theaters.

In the middle of the night, in a house on a quiet street in suburban Minneapolis, intruders silently murder Luke Ellis’s parents and load him into a black SUV. The operation takes less than two minutes. Luke will wake up at The Institute, in a room that looks just like his own, except there’s no window. And outside his door are other doors, behind which are other kids with special talents—telekinesis and telepathy—who got to this place the same way Luke did: Kalisha, Nick, George, Iris, and ten-year-old Avery Dixon. They are all in Front Half. Others, Luke learns, graduated to Back Half, “like the roach motel,” Kalisha says. “You check in, but you don’t check out.”

In this most sinister of institutions, the director, Mrs. Sigsby, and her staff are ruthlessly dedicated to extracting from these children the force of their extranormal gifts. There are no scruples here. If you go along, you get tokens for the vending machines. If you don’t, punishment is brutal. As each new victim disappears to Back Half, Luke becomes more and more desperate to get out and get help. But no one has ever escaped from the Institute.

As psychically terrifying as Firestarter, and with the spectacular kid power of It, The Institute is Stephen King’s gut-wrenchingly dramatic story of good vs. evil in a world where the good guys don’t always win.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.