Warchild: Judas: The Warchild Young Adult Dystopian Series

Ernie Lindsey
41
Free sample

Book Two of The Warchild Series - Don't miss Book One, Warchild: Pawn! 

*********** 

Hope alone can not win the war. 

Caroline Mathers, Forward Scout of the People's Republic of Virginia, leads her people to safety after a harrowing escape through the Appalachian Mountains. But, the security of their capitol city won't last for long...maybe even less than a night. Old friends are left behind, while inside the walls, new alliances are formed and trust betrayed. 

Empowered by the strength of a massive army, their northern enemies suffocate the city outside the walls, preparing to take control of what they believe is rightfully theirs: citizen slaves. 

With the help of her fellow Kinder, Finn, and an ill-equipped group of volunteer soldiers, Caroline must defend her city to the last breath or watch her people marched away in chains.

Keywords and themes: science fiction books, dystopian novels, dystopian science fiction, thriller novels, young adult dystopian fiction, thriller, suspense, science fiction & fantasy, war, future

Read more

About the author

 Ernie Lindsey is the author of eleven mystery and suspense novels. He lives in Oregon with his family.

Read more
4.1
41 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Ernie Lindsey
Read more
Published on
Jul 18, 2014
Read more
Pages
264
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Dystopian
Fiction / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure / General
Juvenile Fiction / Dystopian
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"This impressive novel is part coming-of-age action-adventure and part fierce war games dominated by a young girl just coming into her powers. A fine, durable, inaugural volume brimming with imagination and sparkling, inventive characters."

*********

The world ended long before Caroline Mathers was born, but that doesn't mean life stops for the fourteen-year-old scout for the People's Republic of Virginia. Abandoned by her parents, raised by her grandfather, she guards the forests surrounding their crumbling encampment, keeping a watchful eye on their devious and shadowy enemies from the north.

Drastic, terrifying change comes the day Caroline hears the sound that everyone dreads: distant drums echoing throughout their quiet valley, pounding to the beat of the war rhythm. With much-needed help from unlikely allies, Caroline leads her people in a breathtaking retreat, praying they'll find salvation in their capitol city. Along the way, haunting dreams may reveal a look into her mystifying past.

The first book of the Warchild series is a powerful, gritty, dystopian thriller full of fast-paced action, hard choices, and the undeniable strength of the human bond.







Google Topics: free science fiction books, dystopian novels, dystopian science fiction, thriller novels, young adult dystopian fiction, thriller, suspense, science fiction, war, future, free, freebie, young adults free books, young adults, free dystopian books, dystopian novels free, dystopian free, dystopian novels, young adults books, top free adventure books for young adults, free fantasy books for young adults, free young adults books, free novels for young adults

This collected edition contains all three novels in the Warchild series, over 600 pages of thrilling suspense.

CAROLINE MATHERS NEVER WANTED TO BE A HERO...

Under dark clouds thick with never-ending rain, and with another civil war looming on the horizon, the eastern states teeter on the brink of collapse. Those with means threaten to pillage and plunder what isn't rightfully theirs.

They say history repeats itself, but perhaps the horrors of the past are also forgotten when the northern armies prepare to invade the south with one horrible result in mind.

In the midst of it all...war, hunger, and despair, an unlikely leader will emerge: a fourteen-year-old army scout named Caroline Mathers, who may also be the last of a special breed called Kinders. Are they human legends or deceitful traitors?

As a quarter-finalist in Amazon's Breakthrough Novel Award contest, the first book in the series, Warchild: Pawn is a "...coming-of-age action-adventure dominated by a young girl just coming into her powers. A fine, durable, inaugural volume brimming with imagination and sparkling, inventive characters." --Publishers Weekly

Warchild: Pawn 

The world ended long before Caroline Mathers was born, but that doesn't mean life stops for the fourteen-year-old army scout for the People's Republic of Virginia.

With a civil war brewing on the horizon, she slinks through the forests surrounding her encampment, monitoring the woods for nomadic bands of criminals, all while keeping a watchful eye on her dangerous northern enemies from the Democratic Alliance.

Caroline's worst fears come true the day she hears the terrifying boom of distant drums beating to the war rhythm, echoing throughout their quiet valley. With some help from two unlikely allies, Caroline leads her people in a breathtaking retreat, praying they'll find salvation in their capitol city. Along the way, haunting dreams may reveal a look into her mystifying past.

The first book of the Warchild trilogy series is a young adult dystopian thriller full of fast-paced action and adventure, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and the Divergent series.

***READER NOTE : SPOILERS BELOW***

Warchild: Judas 

Hope alone can not win the war.

Caroline Mathers, Forward Scout of the People's Republic of Virginia, leads her people to safety after a harrowing escape through the Appalachian Mountains. But, the security of their capitol city won't last for long...maybe even less than a night. Old friends are left behind, while inside the walls, new alliances are formed and trust betrayed.

Empowered by the strength of a massive army, their northern enemies suffocate the city outside the walls, preparing to take control of what they believe is rightfully theirs: citizen slaves.

With the help of her fellow Kinder, Finn, and an ill-equipped group of volunteer soldiers, Caroline must defend her city to the last breath or watch her people marched away in chains.

Warchild: Spirit 

For the citizens of the People's Republic of Virginia, their last hope of freedom has faded with their spirits. The eternal rains continue to fall. Tired, hungry, and soaked to fragile bones, there's nothing left to do but march toward the only fate they have left: a life in slavery.

But not if Caroline can help it. She's out of options, but giving up was never one of them.

Facing overwhelming new challenges and old enemies, Caroline soon learns that even when the bullets stop flying, the war is never over.

 

 

In this coming of age debut trilogy, USA Today bestseller Micah Caida turns dystopian young adult fiction on its ear with a breathtakingly fresh science fiction, fantasy story that is as much a thriller as it is a romantic tale.

Rayen promised to return, Gabby must return, and Tony can’t return.

Three teenage friends are connected by a shared secret that forces a decision with consequences no one expects. When Rayen arrives on the Red Moon sphere again, she finds shocking changes. Her arrival causes more upheaval and danger for the MystiK children, creating a heart wrenching challenge for Callan who must choose between duty and holding onto the one girl he can’t have. But walking away is harder than he expects when a new MystiK male in the sphere is poised to take Callan’s place. Under threat of attack from an unexpected enemy, Rayen and Callan must put their personal feelings aside to unite a village in chaos.

Choices backfire, trust is forfeit and alliances shift as elements of the Damian Prophecy begin to fall into place and the time of reckoning is closer than anyone expected.

What "readers" are saying about Time Return:

“I loved reading this second book, Time Return. Everything developed fluidly from Time Trap, and the characters were true to themselves, and yet bold. There was tons of action in the Sphere and outside of the Sphere, and watching the characters face so much that pushed them all to the physical and emotional limit was a great ride. Time Return certainly delivered what I was looking for-action, intrigue, and a lot of fun. Thank you Micah Caida for another book that I will be rereading a lot!” Emily Gifford, 17, has also read Divergent, The Codex of Alera, and The Lost World

"What an incredible serial escalation! All in all it's a masterful piece of work." Angela Catucci, college student

“Time Return will grip you and keep you reading until the very end. The action is undoubtedly exciting, as well as the suspense. You won't want to put it down!” Brooke McClure, teen

"Time Return is even better with the first one! The story heroes, Rayen, Tony, and Gabby, keep their promises and return to the future. But chaotic challenges ahead will test their loyalty and strength in the second book to the Red Moon trilogy. Absolute must read!" Alexandra Fedor, 17, has also read the Divergent trilogy, The Sea of Tranquility, and Thus Spoke Zarathustra

"Time Return drew me in from the first page, it took hold of my attention and never let go until the last sentence." Alex Bernier, teen, has also read also read all of Rick Riordan’s books, the Hunger Games, the Chronicles of Nick, and the Rangers Apprentice series.

"I was intrigued from the first chapter. And I love the story because it surprised me (and my favorite books surprise me) and the characters are written with so much feeling. I just really like this book." Hannah G, 11, also reads Rick Riordan books
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.