Warchild: The Collected Edition

Ernie Lindsey
2
Free sample

This collected edition contains all three novels in the Warchild series, over 600 pages of thrilling suspense.

CAROLINE MATHERS NEVER WANTED TO BE A HERO...

Under dark clouds thick with never-ending rain, and with another civil war looming on the horizon, the eastern states teeter on the brink of collapse. Those with means threaten to pillage and plunder what isn't rightfully theirs.

They say history repeats itself, but perhaps the horrors of the past are also forgotten when the northern armies prepare to invade the south with one horrible result in mind.

In the midst of it all...war, hunger, and despair, an unlikely leader will emerge: a fourteen-year-old army scout named Caroline Mathers, who may also be the last of a special breed called Kinders. Are they human legends or deceitful traitors?

As a quarter-finalist in Amazon's Breakthrough Novel Award contest, the first book in the series, Warchild: Pawn is a "...coming-of-age action-adventure dominated by a young girl just coming into her powers. A fine, durable, inaugural volume brimming with imagination and sparkling, inventive characters." --Publishers Weekly

Warchild: Pawn 

The world ended long before Caroline Mathers was born, but that doesn't mean life stops for the fourteen-year-old army scout for the People's Republic of Virginia.

With a civil war brewing on the horizon, she slinks through the forests surrounding her encampment, monitoring the woods for nomadic bands of criminals, all while keeping a watchful eye on her dangerous northern enemies from the Democratic Alliance.

Caroline's worst fears come true the day she hears the terrifying boom of distant drums beating to the war rhythm, echoing throughout their quiet valley. With some help from two unlikely allies, Caroline leads her people in a breathtaking retreat, praying they'll find salvation in their capitol city. Along the way, haunting dreams may reveal a look into her mystifying past.

The first book of the Warchild trilogy series is a young adult dystopian thriller full of fast-paced action and adventure, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and the Divergent series.

***READER NOTE : SPOILERS BELOW***

Warchild: Judas 

Hope alone can not win the war.

Caroline Mathers, Forward Scout of the People's Republic of Virginia, leads her people to safety after a harrowing escape through the Appalachian Mountains. But, the security of their capitol city won't last for long...maybe even less than a night. Old friends are left behind, while inside the walls, new alliances are formed and trust betrayed.

Empowered by the strength of a massive army, their northern enemies suffocate the city outside the walls, preparing to take control of what they believe is rightfully theirs: citizen slaves.

With the help of her fellow Kinder, Finn, and an ill-equipped group of volunteer soldiers, Caroline must defend her city to the last breath or watch her people marched away in chains.

Warchild: Spirit 

For the citizens of the People's Republic of Virginia, their last hope of freedom has faded with their spirits. The eternal rains continue to fall. Tired, hungry, and soaked to fragile bones, there's nothing left to do but march toward the only fate they have left: a life in slavery.

But not if Caroline can help it. She's out of options, but giving up was never one of them.

Facing overwhelming new challenges and old enemies, Caroline soon learns that even when the bullets stop flying, the war is never over.

 

 

Read more

About the author

Ernie Lindsey is the author of several mystery, thriller, sci-fi, and young adult novels. He lives and writes in the Pacific Northwest with his family.

Read more
4.5
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Ernie Lindsey
Read more
Published on
May 19, 2017
Read more
Pages
617
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Dystopian
Young Adult Fiction / Action & Adventure / General
Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
"Builds and builds to a crescendo. Part Stephen King, part Suzanne Collins, part Max Brooks, 100% phenomenal!" - David Eastman, author

"This one's memorable and fascinating heroine is someone you're going to love as much as Katniss Everdeen." - Sandra Brown, author

"A gripping tale. Perfectly paced and brilliantly plotted." - Cathy Thompson, author

"Stanek's written many good, even great, books. This one's exceptional. Read it!" - Shannon Hale, author

"Wonderful action writing. Fast, fun, and smart." - Margaret Brown, author

"I can see why Rothfuss doesn't want people to read Stanek. Stanek's a much more capable writer." - Emily Asimov, author

"What an amazing book! Unique and innovative, captivating to the end." - Mary Osborne, author

"Anyone who enjoyed The Hunger Games, World War Z, or The Maze Runner is going to enjoy this book." - Lisa Gardner, author

Episode #3. The machines control our world. It’s time we took it back. 

In the ruins of our world, a new order arose, an order controlled by the very machines humankind created. The end for us came not from a massive global war but from something unthinkable, incomprehensible. The machines simply replaced us and we let them, and so, in the end, humanity went out not with a bang, but with a whimper. No shots fired. No bombs dropped. No cities destroyed. We ended and the machines began—or at least that is what the few human survivors of the machine apocalypse believe.

After the Machines

Episode One: Awakening
Episode Two: Transition
Episode Three: Descent
Episode Four: Precipice

### 

To the machines, we became nothing—except maybe outsiders, if they considered us at all. Outsiders looking in on their reality, for the machines weren’t bothered by our existence, or at least, if they were, they weren’t bothered enough to bother us. They certainly didn’t seem to require anything of us or have any need of us at all—if they had needed us, they probably would have enslaved us. But they hadn’t. Enslaved us that is.

The machines hadn’t done anything to us really. Except take over the world—and it was their world now. It certainly wasn’t ours.

We were outsiders, strangers really. We looked in on their world. They didn’t acknowledge us. They probably didn’t even consider us a part of their world. Just as we didn’t consider the small things that crawled beneath our feet as part of our world.

Matthew told us it wasn’t the machines who killed us. Matthew being the only one here now who remembered when we drove the automobiles, flew on the airplanes, and rode on cars behind the locomotives. He said most of us just died. Us being the human race.

I didn’t believe that. I believed we died of neglect. The neglect of the machines. The machines who cared not enough to kill or enslave us.

Luke would have called it benign neglect. Luke being the one who taught me to read and write my letters and words. He knew all the fancy words. He taught me everything really. He remembered—I didn’t. Don’t, really. These words—his really as much as my own.

But Luke was gone. Is gone really, if you don’t mind me slipping into the present. Luke said it’s wrong to slip from past to present or present to past, but I do. The present is—and Luke isn’t. The past was—and sometimes I can see it.

###

After the Machines is a story unlike any other you’ve ever read. It’s the story of us, the humans who struggle to survive in a world we no longer control.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.