Warchild: The Collected Edition

Ernie Lindsey
2

This collected edition contains all three novels in the Warchild series, over 600 pages of thrilling suspense.

CAROLINE MATHERS NEVER WANTED TO BE A HERO...

Under dark clouds thick with never-ending rain, and with another civil war looming on the horizon, the eastern states teeter on the brink of collapse. Those with means threaten to pillage and plunder what isn't rightfully theirs.

They say history repeats itself, but perhaps the horrors of the past are also forgotten when the northern armies prepare to invade the south with one horrible result in mind.

In the midst of it all...war, hunger, and despair, an unlikely leader will emerge: a fourteen-year-old army scout named Caroline Mathers, who may also be the last of a special breed called Kinders. Are they human legends or deceitful traitors?

As a quarter-finalist in Amazon's Breakthrough Novel Award contest, the first book in the series, Warchild: Pawn is a "...coming-of-age action-adventure dominated by a young girl just coming into her powers. A fine, durable, inaugural volume brimming with imagination and sparkling, inventive characters." --Publishers Weekly

Warchild: Pawn 

The world ended long before Caroline Mathers was born, but that doesn't mean life stops for the fourteen-year-old army scout for the People's Republic of Virginia.

With a civil war brewing on the horizon, she slinks through the forests surrounding her encampment, monitoring the woods for nomadic bands of criminals, all while keeping a watchful eye on her dangerous northern enemies from the Democratic Alliance.

Caroline's worst fears come true the day she hears the terrifying boom of distant drums beating to the war rhythm, echoing throughout their quiet valley. With some help from two unlikely allies, Caroline leads her people in a breathtaking retreat, praying they'll find salvation in their capitol city. Along the way, haunting dreams may reveal a look into her mystifying past.

The first book of the Warchild trilogy series is a young adult dystopian thriller full of fast-paced action and adventure, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and the Divergent series.

***READER NOTE : SPOILERS BELOW***

Warchild: Judas 

Hope alone can not win the war.

Caroline Mathers, Forward Scout of the People's Republic of Virginia, leads her people to safety after a harrowing escape through the Appalachian Mountains. But, the security of their capitol city won't last for long...maybe even less than a night. Old friends are left behind, while inside the walls, new alliances are formed and trust betrayed.

Empowered by the strength of a massive army, their northern enemies suffocate the city outside the walls, preparing to take control of what they believe is rightfully theirs: citizen slaves.

With the help of her fellow Kinder, Finn, and an ill-equipped group of volunteer soldiers, Caroline must defend her city to the last breath or watch her people marched away in chains.

Warchild: Spirit 

For the citizens of the People's Republic of Virginia, their last hope of freedom has faded with their spirits. The eternal rains continue to fall. Tired, hungry, and soaked to fragile bones, there's nothing left to do but march toward the only fate they have left: a life in slavery.

But not if Caroline can help it. She's out of options, but giving up was never one of them.

Facing overwhelming new challenges and old enemies, Caroline soon learns that even when the bullets stop flying, the war is never over.

 

 

Read more

About the author

Ernie Lindsey is the author of several mystery, thriller, sci-fi, and young adult novels. He lives and writes in the Pacific Northwest with his family.

Read more
4.5
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Ernie Lindsey
Read more
Published on
May 19, 2017
Read more
Pages
617
Read more
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Dystopian
Young Adult Fiction / Action & Adventure / General
Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

“Editorial Review:

In this chilling addition to the Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series, Jade and her partner, J.T., are called on to help with an Indiana case that reeks of the macabre. Women’s bodies are being found frozen and drained of blood, and investigators think that cults and vampire wannabes may be responsible. Lead after lead turns up fruitless until the frustrated agents finally get the break they’ve been looking for, all building to a stunning conclusion that will leave them—and readers—dumbfounded.” Angela M., Editor, Red Adept Editing

 

It’s the dead of winter, and FBI Agents Jade Monroe and J.T. Harper are asked to assist the Gary, Indiana, police force in a possible serial killer case that has everyone stumped.

A body, frozen stiff and drained of blood, is found by children playing near an old quarry. Several weeks later, a second body is discovered in an abandoned house, and the manner of death is identical. The agents race to Gary when word of a third victim comes in.

With no clues and multiple frozen bodies, the agents have no idea when these women died or what the FBI is facing, yet the body count rises and the manner of death remains the same. Jade wonders whether they’re heading into the dark, unknown world of the occult, a place she knows nothing about—and has no desire to.

The most well-known occult leader in the area is in their sights and currently their only lead. Are the agents and local law enforcement heading down the wrong path? The final blindside shakes Jade to her core and leaves the entire police force stunned.


Note: All Jade Monroe books are standalone stories but since characters carry over, they are best read in chronological order.

Series One - Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series

#1 Maniacal

#2 Captive

#3 Fallacy 

#4 Premonition 

#5 Exposed

Note: The Jade Monroe FBI Thriller books follow on the heels of the conclusion of Exposed, Book 5 in the Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series.

Series Two – Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series

#1 Snapped 

#2 Justified

#3 Donors

#4 Leverage

#5 Malice

How to be happy? Live on the street? Remain in present time?

Emily Heart can't. She's something new. Something made in a lab after being abducted and genetically altered against her will.

For most, trusting your feelings is simple and second nature. But for Emily, she must be ever vigilant and careful, because any sudden burst of emotion might send her across time and space, possibly blinking her right out of existence.

But her problems don't end there.

Even with all her rules and precautions, Emily finds herself in a deadly showdown with the worst kind of evil. A predator like no other. A predator with only one thing on his mind.

Can she figure out how to use her time-jumping talents to save herself?

Part 2 of the Time Jumper Series

NOTE: This series has been re-released with all new titles and covers. For more information, please visit the book pages on this site for Shadow Games, Shadow Prey, and Shadow Justice by author Jay J. Falconer.

Shadow Games includes parts 1 and 2 of Glassford Girl, while Shadow Prey is a re-release of Glassford Girl Part 3, and Shadow Justice is the forth and final part of Glassford Girl series of books.

Book Rating PG-13 for language, violence, and sexual situations.

If you're a fan of Hunger Games, Divergent, and Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, you'll definitely want to read this action-packed series.

What the Critics are Saying About This Series:

"a vigorous and engaging entry into a new and promising science fiction series. The narrative is lively and brisk, with plenty of page-turning action" ~IndieReader Book Reviews

"This new series by Jay J Falconer is a mind changer. He is so very adept at convincing us to suspend disbelief and to accept the very real possibility of time jumping" ~Amazon Vine Voice Review

"The author puts a whole new twist to the science fiction genre... It's not your normal sci-fi novel with the same over done plots... I was so sucked into the story, I almost believed it was true" ~Stuffed Shelves Book Reviews

"A heart-pounding thrill ride that sticks with you long after you finish, like a good cup of morning coffee. You might want to clear your schedule because you won't be able to put this one down" ~BookBreeze.com Review Team
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.