The Macdonald Romances: The French Bride and Clandara

Open Road Media
Free sample

Now in one volume: The complete historical romance saga—from the Scottish Highlands to the Court of Versailles—by an international-bestselling author.

The Macdonald Romances collection brings together two Scottish tales of passion, intrigue, and love by Evelyn Anthony.
Clandara: It’s unthinkable—but beautiful, headstrong Katharine Fraser has fallen in love with the eldest son of her father’s longtime enemy. Notorious nobleman James Macdonald of Dundrenan is ready to sacrifice all for the woman he loves. But the fated struggle to restore the prince to the throne results in a fiery call to arms across Scotland—and a tragedy that threatens to divide the star-crossed lovers. As James vows to fight against the invading British Army, Katharine must follow her own path, even as it leads her into the arms of another man, far from the heart of her true desires and her beloved home of Clandara.
The French Bride: To settle his gambling debts and avoid being sent to the Bastille, Charles Macdonald is given an ultimatum: He must marry his cousin, the beautiful, innocent Anne de Bernard—who also happens to be the richest woman in France. However, the dissolute Charles wants only to return to the bed of his mistress, the Baroness Louise de Vitale. When Anne is brought to Versailles at the king’s command, the inexperienced bride is no match for Louise’s wiles. As two women fight for the love of one man, a deadly intrigue will unfold that could destroy one life as it transforms another.
Set against a rich historical canvas—from eighteenth-century Scotland to the French Courts—and peopled by such real-life figures as Bonnie Prince Charlie, King Louis XV, Madame du Barry, and future queen Marie Antoinette, the Macdonald Romances are prize-winning Anthony at her spellbinding best.
Read more

About the author

Evelyn Anthony is the pen name of Evelyn Ward-Thomas (1926–2018), a female British author who began writing in 1949. She gained considerable success with her historical novels—two of which were selected for the American Literary Guild—before winning huge acclaim for her espionage thrillers. Her book, The Occupying Power, won the Yorkshire Post Fiction Prize, and her 1971 novel, The Tamarind Seed, was made into a film starring Julie Andrews and Omar Sharif. Anthony’s books have been translated into nineteen languages.
Read more
1 total

Additional Information

Open Road Media
Read more
Published on
Sep 5, 2017
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Scottish
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.