The Mansion: A Novel

Sold by Simon and Schuster
6
Free sample

In this “classic haunted house tale meets Black Mirror” (Book Riot), a family moves into a home equipped with the world’s most intelligent, cutting-edge, and intuitive computer ever—but a buried secret leads to terrifying and catastrophic consequences.

After two years of living on cheap beer and little else in a bitterly cold tiny cabin outside an abandoned, crumbling mansion, young programmers Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford have created something that could make them rich: a revolutionary computer they name Eagle Logic.

But the hard work and escalating tension have not been kind to their once solid friendship—Shawn’s girlfriend Emily has left him for Billy, and a third partner has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. While Billy walks away with Emily, Shawn takes Eagle Logic, which he uses to build a multi-billion-dollar company that eventually outshines Apple, Google, and Microsoft combined.

Years later, Billy is a failure, beset by poverty and addiction, and Shawn is the most famous man in the world. Unable to let the past be forgotten, Shawn decides to resurrect his and Billy’s biggest failure: a next-generation computer program named Nellie that can control a house’s every function. He decides to set it up in the abandoned mansion they worked near all those years ago. But something about Nellie isn’t right—and the reconstruction of the mansion is plagued by accidental deaths. Shawn is forced to bring Billy back, despite their longstanding mutual hatred, to discover and destroy the evil that lurks in the source code.

From the internationally bestselling author of the “apocalyptic extravaganza” (Publishers Weekly) The Hatching series, this white-knuckled thriller is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Iain Reid.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Ezekiel Boone lives in upstate New York with his wife and children. He is the internationally bestselling author of The Hatching, Skitter, and Zero Day.

Read more
Collapse
3.2
6 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 4, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
432
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781501165528
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Technological
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
If you think evil had been put to rest with Halocline, john g rees’ 2nd
book of his ‘anoxic zone’ series,
think again. Evil does not sleep, nor take a break as men do. It waits, but it
is not still. Patient, but never at peace. It waits until men take their break
on vigilance. Then the tendrils of greed, lust, power and jealousy insinuate
themselves within the fecund soil of the unguarded mind. That is just the
beginning. Evil does not want to be forever on the inside, just behind the
eyes. No, it wants to live among men, feed on their fear. It wants out!


 Sechra was just a child when she witnessed
man’s cruelty in the extreme. Her young mind became black with hatred for what
had been done to her family and people. Now this is what you call fertile soil.
In a moment of childhood ignorance, she embraced the seed of evil in an effort
to fill the void of all she had lost. It sprouted. Grew. A dark hand guided
her, unseen behind Sechra’s sparkling eyes. Years of practice and natural
ability rendered the girl a master stonecutter. No one noticed the sinister
nature within her sculpture, least of all Sechra, until it was too late. Then
all hell breaks loose.



 



‘Out
of Stone’, john g rees’ 4th horror novel, once again grabs hold of
the reader by the neck and brings them to places they’ve never been. And never
want to be. That’s the fun of it!



 



Out
of Stone, takes two characters from his earlier award winning
anoxic
zone
series
and gives them headline roles. They fulfill them rather tremendously; bringing
us into worlds we did not know existed, showing us horrors from theirs and
other lives that immediately become our own.



We
follow Sechra, who was a peculiar little girl as
Halocline ended and just a child when
she witnessed man’s cruelty in the extreme. 
Her young mind became black with hatred for what had been done to her
family and people. Her Aunt Karuna was there more often for the girl, as her
daughter Riana & Vlad, her husband, the Voivode, were more involved in the
workings of their people and land in Romania. Karuna most definitely thought
Sechra was a unique child. Her determination and strength of mind were amazing.
She had been through a lot in her young life, things that would have turned
others mad. Instead, she turned it out to art.



 Sechra had turned into quite the sculptor in
her teens, continuing on to amaze and confound her family, acquaintances, and
then the art world, none of which had never seen such hideous visions, let
alone imagine them.



Karuna
Danesti felt the evil in Sechra’s work and knew it had to be out in the world
as well. That was what Sechra’s work was saying. No one noticed the sinister
nature within her sculpture, least of all Sechra, until it was too late. Then
all hell breaks loose!







A trio of heart-stopping thrillers from the New York Times–bestselling author—including the “vibrant and cerebral” #1 international bestseller, The Eight (Los Angeles Times).
 
People magazine said of Katherine Neville’s debut novel and #1 international bestseller, The Eight: “With alchemical skill, Neville blends modern romance, historical fiction, and medieval mystery . . . and comes up with gold.” Mining a fertile territory of international intrigue, complex conspiracies, history-spanning storylines, and unstoppable female heroines, Neville has arguably struck gold with all three of these thrillers.
 
A Calculated Risk: In this New York Times Notable Book, computer expert Verity Banks is the one of the most powerful women in finance and has a shot at becoming director of security at the Federal Reserve. When her boss sabotages her career ambitions, Verity decides to get revenge by targeting the company’s balance sheet. Her old mentor, Zoltan Tor, will help her, but only if Verity agrees to an outlandish and dangerous wager. To beat both Zoltan and her boss, Verity must risk her professional reputation—and her very life.
 
The Eight: In sweeping parallel stories set in the 1970s and the 1790s, Catherine Velis, a computer expert, and Mireille and Valentine, novices in an abbey during the French Revolution, must prevent a legendary chess set containing secret powers from falling into the wrong hands. With its “combination of historical references, conspiracy theory and action/thriller format,” this #1 international bestseller “may have paved the way for books like The Da Vinci Code” (Publishers Weekly).
 
The Magic Circle: Suddenly in possession of a mysterious cache of medieval manuscripts that have the power to alter the destiny of humankind, nuclear scientist Ariel Behn is swept into the deadly center of international intrigue—and a mystery that dates back to the time of Christ—as she races to prevent a worldwide catastrophe in this USA Today bestseller.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.