A Grifter's Song Vol. 1

Down & Out Books
Free sample

A Grifter’s Song, Created and Edited by Frank Zafiro.


Long time grifters Sam and Rachel love two things: each other and the grift. On the run from the mob, the two lovers move from one con to the next, winning some and losing others, but always finding a way to survive.


Episodes 1-3 of Season One begin with The Concrete Smile by series creator and editor, Frank Zafiro. Sam and Rachel try to con the owner of a concrete business in St. Louis, but their past is catching up to them as fast as the stakes of the con are rising. Will they hit it rich, or crash and burn?


JD Rhoades pens Episode 2, People Like Us. When the pair team up with Sam’s old mentor, Aunt Sally, in Raleigh to pass off a phony Civil War relic, it looks like a straightforward job. But things get complicated in a hurry when the buyer, a white supremacist professor, becomes enamored with Rachel, while a contract killer closes in on the couple.


Episode 3, The Whale by Lawrence Kelter, shifts the scene to Manhattan, where Sam poses as a long-absent club member at a posh gentleman’s club. As the two grifters weave their complicated tale to land a big investor, it becomes clear that they are not the only ones working a con. The only question is, whose side are the interlopers on?


Season One continues with Episodes 4-6 in A Grifter’s Song Vol. 2.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Down & Out Books
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jul 1, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
220
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Noir
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
 The demons that drive John “Mocha” Moccia to obsess, to put absolutely everyone under a microscope, and scratch away at every last clue, make him the best hardnosed detective in Brooklyn homicide. But these same demons may very well write the final chapter in his career.

 

He isn’t the kind of detective to take no for an answer, but in his most recent case answers are damn hard to come by. Partnered with the conscientious Detective Matt Winslow, Mocha endeavors to solve the murder of the wealthy and beautiful Jessica Shannon, a woman who had every reason to live.

 

As Mocha and Winslow strive to push forward the hands of time and solve the murder, their imposing lieutenant breathes down their necks, suspects are scarce, and all of the evidence seems to be a dead end.

 

With the last precious grains of sand falling through the hourglass, Mocha pushes ever forward, determined to make an arrest, even if it means this collar will be his last.


Praise for THE LAST COLLAR:


“Kelter and Zafiro take unforgettable characters on a journey through a world filled with unanswered questions and unforgiving predators.” —J.J. Hensley, author of Resolve, Measure Twice, and Chalk’s Outline.

 

“One of the most difficult tasks in constructing works of crime fiction is to develop protagonists who are somewhat true to life, meaning they are not the perfect white knights often portrayed in novels. In The Last Collar, Kelter and Zafiro accomplished that feat by creating gritty detectives who will never be confused for choir boys.” —J.J. Hensley, author of Resolve, Measure Twice, and Chalk’s Outline.

 

“For everyone looking for the next Girl Gone on a Train with a Dragon Tattoo, The Last Collar shows there’s still a lot of life left in the traditional police procedural when the execution is done right.” —Dana King, author of the Penns River Crime Series.

 

“High jingo jams up Detectives ‘Mocha’ and Winslow on what might be their last case together in this fast-paced, crisp police procedural. Rich, beautiful, young Jessica Shannon is strangled to death. Mocha and Winslow are on the case, their fire-breathing boss bearing down on them…especially as Jessica’s father is a well-connected mucky-muck. Mocha’s even more motivated than usual since he’s under the gun, trying to beat the clock on the death sentence of a terminal illness nipping at his heels. Will they be able to solve the case before the clock runs out? Writing duo Lawrence Kelter and Frank Zafiro seamlessly merge their writing styles to create a page turning thriller that will grab you by the ‘collar’ and keep you hooked till the surefire end.” —Shamus Award-winning author Paul D. Marks.

‘I loved this book… I was hooked and couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next… to say I devoured this book is a little bit of an understatement… What a great book!’ Dark Twisty Books

 

Suzanne Tyler barely knew her father. But when she’s given a series of secret diaries and eight mysterious photographs of women from his possessions, she knows she won’t be able to rest until she knows the truth about him. 

 

To Suzanne’s shock, one of the photos is of her friend Sophie, who died ten years ago in an unexplained and devastating fire.

But Don only met Sophie once, on an unsettling visit he paid Suzanne just days before Sophie’s death... So why did he have a picture of her?

 

Unable to let Sophie’s memory alone, Suzanne begins to dig into her father’s life. What horrors is she about to unearth in his diaries? And who is it that’s out there, watching her every move?

 

Chilling and utterly page-turning, The Serial Killer’s Daughter is a compelling thriller, perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Rachel Abbott, and Tom Bale.

 

Read what everyone is saying about The Serial Killer’s Daughter:

 

‘Amazing, page turning, tense and twisted… From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't stop at all.’ Stylish Brunette

 

‘Oh my goodness what a dark and twisted read… Gripping from the first page, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to its shocking conclusion… A roller coaster of a thriller… A gripping story of the psychology of evil and the lengths people will go to meet their own needs.’ The Book Review Café

 

‘An explosive climax.’ Novel Gossip

 

‘This thriller will have you speeding to the end.’ Books, Books and More Books

 

‘Had me gripped… I couldn’t tear my eyes away.’ The Writing Garnet

 

‘Twists and turns galore which kept me gripped from start to finish. The story flows perfectly with numerous shocking truths uncovered along the way. Brilliantly written… I highly recommend.’ Chat About Books

 

‘A riveting, haunting and twisted family tale.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles

 

‘The Serial Killer's Daughter is one gripping and absorbing psychological thriller… Lesley Welsh did an excellent job of getting into a serial killer's head. A truly absorbing read for anyone who likes the psychological thriller genre!’ Novel Deelights

 

‘A fun, twisty-turning read.’ When the Books Hit the Fans

 

‘Really enjoyed this book, the story line was fascinating. I loved the style of writing… A real page turner that I had a hard job putting down. A solid 6 stars.’ Bonnie’s Book Talk

 

‘I absolutely ADORED this amazing, page turning, tense and twisted thriller. From the first page to the last, the pace doesn't flag, the writing is tight and spare and yet beautiful, the characters real and flawed. Loved every word. Highly recommend this brilliant read.’ Renita D’Silva

 

‘It is a seriously dark and disturbing read… As evil as Don is, he still fascinated me and even though I was horrified by his actions, I had to keep reading. Fans of serial killer reads are without a doubt going to love it as it definitely has the shock factor.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

 

‘The character development in this psychological thriller is sublime… Without doubt one of the most twisted serial killers I’ve encountered… Very twisty.’ It’s All About Books

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.