Reluctant Quuen: Mary Rose Tudor, the Defiant Little sister of Infamous English King, Henry VIII (Tudor Dynasty Series, Book 1)

Solo Books
Free sample


‘A very readable account of a fascinating woman who dared to stand up to Henry VIII and survived. It is thoroughly researched, admirably written and the author's love of the Tudor period shines through.' Historical Novels Review

One NOT about any of the six wives! Henry had plenty of other relatives, most of whom, given his short-lived dynasty and shaky right to the crown, the always insecure Henry had executed throughout his reign in order to secure his throne.

Can you imagine what it must be like to be the little sister of infamous, English king, Henry VIII? Remember, this is the king who went on to have six wives, two of whom he had beheaded.

And although the teenage Mary Rose is his favourite sister (he even named his famous ship after her), his shifting alliances and ruthless desire to have his own way, made him push the young and lovely Mary into a hateful state marriage with the ailing and ancient King Louis XII of France.

But a reluctant Mary Rose, as strong-willed as Henry, and passionately in love for the first time, doesn't give in easily. After a relentless campaign by her loving brother to get her to say yes, before agreeing to the match, Mary Rose extracts a promise from Henry. A promise she is determined he will keep.

‘Very easy to read, very hard to put down. This made a Mary Tudor so accessible and relatable to the reader.’ READER REVIEW

‘Thoroughly enjoyable.’ READER REVIEW

Geraldine Evans also writes the Rafferty & Llewellyn British Mystery Series and the Casey & Catt British Mystery Series.

KEYWORDS: Tudor,  Renaissance, 16 Century, Coming of Age, religious and inspitational historical, Christian historical, literature classics, historical fiction british, british biographical historical fiction, historical fiction, Tudor historical,

Read more

About the author

Geraldine Evans is a British novelist. She turned indie in 2010 after many years and eighteen novels in the traditional publishing world (Macmillan, St Martin’s Press, Hale, Severn House, Worldwide (p/b) and Soundings (audio). She is the author of two mystery series: The now 18-strong Rafferty & Llewellyn Mystery Series and the 2-strong Casey & Catt Mystery Series, as well as a Reluctant Queen a Biographical Historical Novel about Mary Rose Tudor, the little sister of King Henry VIII, Gentle Romance, Romantic Suspense, and Non-Fiction.

Apart from her novels, she’s also had non-fiction published in numerous magazines, on subjects as varied as historical biography of people and places (Horatio Nelson, Nurse Edith Cavell, Whitehall Palace), New Age (Palmistry and Your Love Life, Astrology and Your Writing Life).

Her dream for years was to be a published novelist, a dream she achieved in 1991, after six rejected novels. Her ambition, after traditionally publishing eighteen novels, was to earn a living as a writer. It took turning indie to do it, but she now works full-time as an author.

She spent most of her life in London (UK), where she was born and brought up, the youngest of four children, but moved to a market town in Norfolk (UK) in 2000, with her late husband.


Read more

Additional Information

Solo Books
Read more
Published on
Jan 14, 2019
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Historical / Renaissance
Fiction / Romance / Historical / General
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Tudor
Juvenile Fiction / Girls & Women
Juvenile Fiction / Historical / General
Juvenile Fiction / Religious / Christian / Historical
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / New Experience
Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Peer Pressure
Young Adult Fiction / Biographical
Young Adult Fiction / Family / Siblings
Young Adult Fiction / Historical / Europe
Young Adult Fiction / Historical / Renaissance
Young Adult Fiction / Royalty
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A Little Laughter. A Little Mayhem. A Little MURDER...

For Readers who like cozy mysteries, humorous mysteries and police procedurals.

Murder victim Adrienne Staveley had a husband, a stepson, and several lovers. And while other men liked her too much, British Detective Joe Rafferty discovered her own menfolk had reasons not to like her very much at all. And as for her female in-laws...

Rafferty and his partner, Dafyd Llewelyn, had to sort through Adrienne's tangled love life to find just who had left her murdered -- strangled on her own kitchen floor. Needless to say, the seldom considerate fates had ensured Rafferty had suspects in plenty and motives too numerous to mention. The only thing he and his partner lacked was proof against any one of them.

And Joe Rafferty's wedding day was fast-approaching. Would he manage to solve the case and get off on his honeymoon? Or would the fates ensure he had to cancel and get in his bride, Abra's, bad books from the very start?

Rafferty & Llewellyn Series
Dead Before Morning #1
Down Among the Dead Men #2
Death Line #3
The Hanging Tree #4
Absolute Poison #5
Dying For You #6
Bad Blood #7
Love Lies Bleeding #8
Blood on the Bones #9
A Thrust to the Vitals #10
Death Dues #11
All the Lonely People #12
Death Dance #13
Deadly Reunion #14
Kith and Kill #15

Asking For It #16

The Spanish Connection #17

Game of Bones #18


Newsletter Sign-Up Link:

KEYWORDS: : British detective series, murder mystery, mystery books, detective books, detective fiction, detective novels, crime, murder, crime fiction, crime books, crime novels, mystery series, Rafferty and Llewellyn, Geraldine Evans, police procedural, police officers, police books, police fiction, police novels. Murder mystery novels, crime, mystery novels, male detectives

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.