Pirate Vishnu

Henery Press

A WHIRLWIND OF ADVENTURE

“Fast-paced and fascinating as Jaya’s investigation leads her this time to India and back to her own family's secrets.” —Susan C. Shea, Author of the Dani O’Rourke Mysteries
A century-old treasure map of San Francisco’s Barbary Coast. Sacred riches from India. Two murders, one hundred years apart. And a love triangle… Historian Jaya Jones has her work cut out for her. 1906. Shortly before the Great San Francisco Earthquake, Pirate Vishnu strikes the San Francisco Bay. An ancestor of Jaya’s who came to the U.S. from India draws a treasure map… Present Day. Over a century later, the cryptic treasure map remains undeciphered. From San Francisco to the southern tip of India, Jaya pieces together her ancestor’s secrets, maneuvers a complicated love life she didn’t count on, and puts herself in the path of a killer to restore a revered treasure. Praise for PIRATE VISHNU:

“Forget about Indiana Jones. Jaya Jones is swinging into action, using both her mind and wits to solve a mystery...Readers will be ensnared by this entertaining tale. Four stars.” – RT Book Reviews

"Pandian’s second series entry sets a playful tone yet provides enough twists to keep mystery buffs engaged, too. The author streamlines an intricate plot....[and] brings a dynamic freshness to her cozy." – Library Journal

“A delicious tall tale about a treasure map, magicians, musicians, mysterious ancestors, and a few bad men.” – Mystery Scene Magazine

“Move over Vicky Bliss and Joan Wilder, historian Jaya Jones is here to stay! Mysterious maps, legendary pirates, and hidden treasure—Jaya’s latest quest is a whirlwind of adventure.” — Chantelle Aimée Osman of The Sirens of Suspense

“Jaya Jones is a young academic detective with no equal in terms of wits, style and creativity…I applaud author Gigi Pandian for unearthing the forgotten history of India's first immigrants to the United States and serving it up with plenty of suspense, humor and bhangra beats. If you are searching for a spicy new amateur sleuth series, this is the one.” — Sujata Massey, Author of The Sleeping Dictionary and the Rei Shimura Mysteries

“Globe-trotting historian Jaya Jones is off on another treasure hunt and it’s a worthy follow-up to Gigi Pandian’s award-winning debut mystery, Artifact. Pirate Vishnu is fast-paced and fascinating as Jaya’s investigation leads her this time to India and back to her own family's secrets.” —Susan C. Shea, Author of the Dani O’Rourke Mysteries

Books in the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery Series:

FOOL'S GOLD (Novella prequel to ARTIFACT featured in OTHER PEOPLE'S BAGGAGE)

ARTIFACT (#1)
PIRATE VISHNU (#2)

Part of the Henery Press Mystery Series Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all...


Author Bio: Gigi Pandian is the child of cultural anthropologists from New Mexico and the southern tip of India. After being dragged around the world during her childhood, she tried to escape her fate when she left a PhD program for art school. But adventurous academic characters wouldn’t stay out of her head. Thus was born the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery Series. The first book in the series, Artifact, was awarded a Malice Domestic Grant and named a "Best of 2012" debut novel by Suspense Magazine. The follow-up is Pirate Vishnu. Gigi loves writing locked-room mystery short stories. Her latest, "The Hindi Houdini," was an Agatha Award nominee for Best Short Story.
Read more

About the author

Gigi Pandian is the child of cultural anthropologists from New Mexico and the southern tip of India. After being dragged around the world during her childhood, she tried to escape her fate when she left a PhD program for art school. But adventurous academic characters wouldn’t stay out of her head. Thus was born the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery Series. The first book in the series, Artifact, was awarded a Malice Domestic Grant, named a “Best of 2012″ debut novel by Suspense Magazine, and was a USA TODAY bestseller. The follow-up is Pirate Vishnu. Gigi loves writing locked-room mystery short stories. Her latest, “The Hindi Houdini,” is an Agatha Award nominee for Best Short Story.

Read more

Reviews

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Henery Press
Read more
Published on
Feb 11, 2013
Read more
Pages
306
Read more
ISBN
9781938383984
Read more
Features
Read more
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / International Mystery & Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Gigi Pandian
From USA Today bestselling author Gigi Pandian comes a modern tale of ancient intrigue

Unpacking her belongings in her new hometown of Portland, Oregon, herbalist and reformed alchemist Zoe Faust can’t help but notice she’s picked up a stowaway. Dorian Robert-Houdin is a living, breathing three-and-half-foot gargoyle—not to mention a master of French cuisine—and he needs Zoe’s expertise to decipher a centuries-old text. Zoe, who’s trying to put her old life behind her, isn’t so sure she wants to reopen her alchemical past . . . until the dead man on her porch leaves her no choice.

Includes recipes!

Praise:

A 2016 Lefty Award winner for Best LCC Regional Mystery

“This reviewer is eagerly anticipating more from this series, and a return of a cast more fun than an episode of Portlandia.”—RT BOOK REVIEWS 1/2

“Pandian . . . launches a supernatural cozy series that hits high marks for a modern twist on an ancient practice. Amusing supporting characters and historical details solidify this engaging mystery.”—LIBRARY JOURNAL

"[A] lighthearted supernatural mystery . . . Pandian sets this series apart from other fluffy paranormal mysteries with Zoe's cute nonhuman sidekick and some mouthwatering vegan recipes."—PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"A whimsical and charming supernatural mystery."—MYSTERY SCENE

“What really makes this book stand out, however, is the originality . . . Pandian has managed to create an eccentric and charming cast of characters readers are going to want to spend more time with.”—RT BOOK REVIEWS ONLINE

"The Accidental Alchemist is a recipe for a great read. Gigi Pandian’s pen never disappoints."—JULIET BLACKWELL, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE WITCHCRAFT MYSTERY SERIES

“Mysterious, captivating, and infused with the rich history of the Northwest . . . fantastic.”—PORTLAND BOOK REVIEW

"A magical, whimsical cozy that will delight readers who enjoy Juliet Blackwell and Heather Weber mysteries!" —AVERY AAMES, AKA DARYL WOOD GERBER, AUTHOR OF THE CHEESE SHOP MYSTERIES

"Zoe and Dorian are my new favorite amateur-sleuth duo!" —VICTORIA LAURIE, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR

"Readers won't want to put this book down."—Vegetarian Journal

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.