The Accidental Alchemist

Llewellyn Worldwide
24
Free sample

From USA Today bestselling author Gigi Pandian comes a modern tale of ancient intrigue

Unpacking her belongings in her new hometown of Portland, Oregon, herbalist and reformed alchemist Zoe Faust can't help but notice she's picked up a stowaway. Dorian Robert-Houdin is a living, breathing three-and-half-foot gargoyle—not to mention a master of French cuisine—and he needs Zoe's expertise to decipher a centuries-old text. Zoe, who's trying to put her old life behind her, isn't so sure she wants to reopen her alchemical past...until the dead man on her porch leaves her no choice.

Includes recipes!

Praise:

A 2016 Lefty Award winner for Best LCC Regional Mystery

"This reviewer is eagerly anticipating more from this series, and a return of a cast more fun than an episode of Portlandia."—RT Book Reviews 1/2

"Pandian...launches a supernatural cozy series that hits high marks for a modern twist on an ancient practice. Amusing supporting characters and historical details solidify this engaging mystery."—Library Journal

"[A] lighthearted supernatural mystery...Pandian sets this series apart from other fluffy paranormal mysteries with Zoe's cute nonhuman sidekick and some mouthwatering vegan recipes."—Publishers Weekly

"A whimsical and charming supernatural mystery."—Mystery Scene

"What really makes this book stand out, however, is the originality...Pandian has managed to create an eccentric and charming cast of characters readers are going to want to spend more time with."—RT Book Reviews Online

"The Accidental Alchemist is a recipe for a great read. Gigi Pandian's pen never disappoints."—Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author of the Witchcraft Mystery Series

"Mysterious, captivating, and infused with the rich history of the Northwest...fantastic."—Portland Book Review

"A magical, whimsical cozy that will delight readers who enjoy Juliet Blackwell and Heather Weber mysteries!"—Avery Aames (aka Daryl Wood Gerber), author of the Chees Shop Mysteries

"Zoe and Dorian are my new favorite amateur-sleuth duo!" —Victoria Laurie, New York Times bestselling author

"Readers won't want to put this book down."—Vegetarian Journal

Read more
Collapse

About the author

USA Today bestselling and Agatha Award-winning author Gigi Pandian is the child of cultural anthropologists from New Mexico and the southern tip of India. She spent her childhood being dragged around the world on their research trips, and now lives outside San Francisco with her husband and a gargoyle who watches over the garden. Gigi writes the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt mysteries, Accidental Alchemist mysteries, and locked-room mystery short stories.

Read more
Collapse
4.2
24 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Llewellyn Worldwide
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 8, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
360
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780738744377
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Murder Strikes a Sour Note

Erin Murphy, manager of Glacier Mercantile (aka the Merc), is tuning up for Jewel Bay's annual Jazz Festival. Between keeping the Merc's shelves stocked with Montana's tastiest local fare and hosting the festival's kick-off concert, Erin has her hands full.

Discord erupts when jazz guitarist Gerry Martin plummets to his death from the rocks above the Jewel River. The one-time international sensation had fallen out of sync with festival organizers, students, and performers. Was his death an accident—or did someone even the score?

Erin investigates despite the warning signs not to get involved. And when the killer attacks, she orchestrates her efforts into one last crescendo, hoping to avoid a deadly finale.

Praise for the Food Lovers' Village Mysteries:

"A pleasing read with a thoughtful heroine, a plethora of red herrings, and some foodie tips."—Kirkus Reviews

"A lighthearted and amusing story with the added bonus of several yummy recipes."—Mystery Scene

"Treble at the Jam Fest has all the necessary elements to satisfy cozy mystery lovers: likeable, believable characters, a fast-moving plot, and a logical ending. Great fun!"—Suspense Magazine

"A delicious mystery as richly constructed as the layers of a buttery pastry. Wine, enchiladas, and song make for a gourmet treat in the coziest town in Montana!"—Krista Davis, New York Times bestselling author of the Domestic Diva Mysteries

"Leslie is a fellow foodie who loves a good mystery and it shows in this delightful tale!"—Cleo Coyle, New York Times bestselling author of the Coffeehouse Mysteries

"Music, food, scenery and a cast of appealing characters weave together in perfect harmony in Leslie Budewitz's latest book."—Sheila Connolly, author of the Orchard Mysteries and the County Cork Mysteries

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.