The End of the Line

Black Market Magic

Free Sample

A race against time on a perilous journey through Siberia with a murderous demon, in this gritty fast-paced horror thriller.

Con-artist Amanda Coleman lives in a London rife with undercover magic. Abras, as they are known, can harness these illegal powers, but for Coleman – whose father was a powerful and abusive practitioner – magic is anathema.

When her criminal crew hire an Abra to help with their heists, they accidentally raise a dangerously violent demon. Now they must race across darkest Siberia to a remote stone circle to kill the creature, in this engrossingly tense and gripping adventure.

But as the demon’s power grows during their grisly chase, Coleman must fight to survive, facing demons both in chains and within herself.

This unique high-octane horror thriller is perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes and James Oswald.

Praise for The End of the Line

‘Williams creates an original world of wonder and menace that leaves the reader guessing.’ No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author, Linwood Barclay

'The End of the Line is driven by non-stop action, strange magic, and gritty noir banter - fun, in other words. Gray Williams has created a matinee double-feature of mixed genre mayhem that aims to please.' Andrew Pyper, author of The Homecoming and The Demonologist

'Absolutely brutal, doesn't look away, and doesn't pull a single punch [...] Reeves is an absolutely stand-out character' Philip K. Dick award-winner, S.J. Morden

'A criminal crew aided by magic, a desperate journey across Siberia, and a twisted demon confined to a steel coffin (make that *mostly* confined...) makes for a tense and claustrophobic read. The End of the Line is a hugely imaginative debut.' Cameron Johnston, author of The Age of Tyranny duology (Angry Robot)

‘A dark and thrilling mix of fantasy and noir, brilliantly told. Williams is a confident and exciting new voice in the genre.' Mason Cross, author of Richard & Judy Book Club pick The Samaritan

'Great characters, brilliant set-pieces and so, so imaginative. A great new voice in fantasy.' Michael R. Miller, author of The Dragon's Blade Trilogy

‘An exceptionally satisfying read, by turns twisted, tense and heart-breaking with a couple of extraordinary set pieces that still linger on. This is a remarkably assured debut, with the promise of more greatness to come.' Mark Stay, author of Robot Overlords (Gollancz)

'From the first chapter (well actually from the first sentence in the first chapter) I thought wow... in my opinion a bloody good story.' Shotsblog

'A sharply written supernatural thriller that takes no prisoners.' RJ Barker, author of The Bone Ships

'Dark, devious and disturbing, will keep you guessing right to the last!' David Wragg, author of The Black Hawks

'If a crew of dysfunctional London gangsters, a novice ritual magician and a badass demon all stuck in a claustrophobic cattle truck rattling across Siberia does it for you, I can recommend Gray Williams's The End Of The Line.' Adrian Selby, author of The Winter Road

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Gray Williams is the author of supernatural thriller The End of the Line. Born in Glasgow and raised in Southampton, he studied Creative Writing at Bath Spa University and has had short stories published in Abyss and Apex, Electric Spec and the Something Wicked 2013 anthology. He devours both crime thrillers and fantasy, so naturally wanted to combine the two in his writing. He now lives in East London with his wife (who fell in love with him after reading an early draft of one of his short stories), where he writes, works (very different) and always gets his haircut three weeks later than he should.

Read more
Collapse
3.0
1 total
Loading…

Additional information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
8 Jul 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
356
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788634557
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.