The End of the Line: A powerfully dark and chilling thriller

Canelo
This book will become available on 8 July 2019. You will not be charged until it is released.

A fast-paced thriller set on the streets of a London rife with undercover magic.

Abras, as they are known, can harness these illegal powers, but for con-artist Amanda Coleman – whose father was a powerful and abusive practitioner – magic is anathema.

When her criminal crew decide to hire an Abra to help with their heists, they don’t expect to raise a demon, or to quickly lose control of it. Now Coleman and her crew must travel across Siberia to a remote stone circle in order to kill this murderous creature, who has destroyed everything they hold dear.

But as the demon’s power grows, a battle of wills commences. Coleman must fight to survive, facing demons both in chains and within herself.

This dark and chilling thriller is perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes and James Oswald.

Praise for The End of the Line

‘Williams creates an original world of wonder and menace that leaves the reader guessing.’ No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author, Linwood Barclay

‘A dark and thrilling mix of fantasy and noir, brilliantly told. Williams is a confident and exciting new voice in the genre.' Mason Cross, author of Richard & Judy Book Club pick The Samaritan

‘An exceptionally satisfying read, by turns twisted, tense and heart-breaking with a couple of extraordinary set pieces that still linger on. This is a remarkably assured debut, with the promise of more greatness to come.' Mark Stay, author of Robot Overlords (Gollancz)

'From the first chapter (well actually from the first sentence in the first chapter) I thought wow... in my opinion a bloody good story.' Shotsblog

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Gray Williams was born in Glasgow and raised in Southampton. He studied Creative Writing at Bath Spa University and has had short stories published in Abyss and Apex, Electric Spec and the Something Wicked 2013 anthology. He now lives in East London with his wife, who fell in love with him after reading an early draft of one of his short stories.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
8 Jul 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
356
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788634557
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on E Ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help Centre instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Can you escape the nightmare? Men imprisoned, one in war and one in an asylum, these two novelettes are packed with twisted psychological suspense and spine-tingling horror at its darkest. One man, a prisoner of war; and the other, a disturbed young man who wants out of a hospital for the criminally insane – at any cost! New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg brings together two dark classics with The Dark Game and I Am Infinite, I Contain Multitudes.


Note: These two short novellas/novelettes can also be found together in the collection Lights Out.


Don't miss Douglas Clegg's other books of horror, suspense and dark fantasy:


Stand-Alone Novels


Afterlife
Breeder
The Children's Hour
Dark of the Eye
Goat Dance
The Halloween Man
The Hour Before Dark
Mr. Darkness
Naomi
Neverland
You Come When I Call You

The Harrow Series:


Nightmare House
Mischief
The Infinite
The Abandoned
Isis (prequel novella)

The Necromancer (prequel novella)


The Criminally Insane Series:


Bad Karma
Red Angel
Night Cage


The Vampyricon:


The Priest of Blood

The Lady of Serpents

The Queen of Wolves


The Chronicles of Mordred:


Mordred, Bastard Son (Book I)


Short Novels & Novellas:


The Attraction
The Dark Game
Dinner with the Cannibal Sisters
Isis
The Necromancer
Purity
The Words


Short Story Collections:


The Nightmare Chronicles
Night Asylum
Wild Things
Lights Out

Box Sets:


Dark Rooms
Halloween Chillers
Night Towns
Coming of Age
Lights Out 
Criminally Insane
The Vampyricon
Harrow 3 Novels (Books 1-3)
Harrow 4 Novels (Books 1-4)

Short Stories:


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Helvetica; color: #323333} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Helvetica; color: #323333; min-height: 16.0px} span.s1 {font-kerning: none}

Belinda in the Pool
Funerary Rites
The Stain

A violent history lurks beneath the white-washed facade of Cicatrice, Louisiana. And that evil is waking up.


"An expertly layered work of impressive scope, The Jilted will leave you pondering the real-life differences between good and evil.”

~Kristen Mae, bestselling author of Red Water

 

BLOODIED HANDS. WHISPERED WORDS. BURIED TRUTHS.


It’s been two weeks since Chloe Anderson’s fiancé, Victor, disappeared with his daughter, and each night since, Chloe has awakened from the same horrible dream. She’s convinced the nightmares are trying to tell her something, especially when she finds Victor’s camera at an old antique shop downtown—a place where the shadows of the past roam the cobbled streets.


Chloe takes a job at the shop, hoping Victor will return for his prized possession. But when she’s sent to do an antiques appraisal on the outskirts of New Orleans, she feels the energy of the sprawling plantation like an icy hand on her back, drawing her away from the shop—and sucking her in. Perhaps it’s the plantation’s mysterious owner triggering her long-dormant intuition. But intuition doesn’t explain the terrifying visions that now plague her waking hours, or the mutilated girl who stalks her from the shadows, vanishing when Chloe tries to speak to her. And the voices . . . 


Come to me.

Watch out for the dark, child.


Is this what Victor meant when he told her he’d felt possessed? Is she losing her mind the way he did? 


Now Chloe must look deep within herself, summoning a power she’s tamped down since childhood, because the thing that took Victor is an old, vicious darkness, far more ancient than the horrors that seep from every branch on the white-washed plantation—more appalling than the hideous acts of violence that lurk in each long-abandoned cemetery. And if she cannot defeat the evil, if she succumbs to the madness, the creature stalking the town will take Victor, take Chloe . . . and make sure no one leaves Cicatrice alive.



For fans of Stephen King, Nick Cutter, and Thomas Heuvelt, this breathtaking supernatural thriller is a masterfully crafted novel about what horrors might exist on the other side—whether we believe they are there or not.

The instant New York Times Bestseller (January 2018)!

"A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" —New York Times Book Review

"Buckle up, because you won't be able to put this one down." —Glamour

"Jaw dropping. Unforgettable. Shocking." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The best domestic suspense novel since Gone Girl." —In Touch Weekly

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.

Twisted and deliciously chilling, Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen's The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage - and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.

Read between the lies.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of Glamour Magazine's Best Books of 2018 | One of Hello Giggles' 19 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Praise for The Wife Between Us:

"Fiendishly clever...in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." —Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

“A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman

"The Wife Between Us delivers a whip smart, twisty plot in a taut, pacy narrative. It's terrific and troubling. This is one scary love triangle where you won't know who to trust. I loved it." –Gilly Macmillan, New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew

"A twisty, mind-bending novel about marriage and betrayal. A gripping plot and fascinating characters; this book will keep you turning the pages and guessing until the very end. A must-read!" –Lauren Weisberger, New York Times bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada

“This amazing story gallops along at breakneck speed, with an ending that smacks you between the eyes and takes your breath away. These authors are destined to become trail blazers in the field of psychological suspense books that explode in your hands!” —Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault

“Like a house of mirrors, The Wife Between Us kept me guessing around every corner, delving into the complexities of marriage, friendship, and obsession.” —Javier Ramirez, The Book Table

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United Kingdom)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.