Curse of the Scarab (Big Honey Dog Mysteries #1) - a mystery adventure for children ages 8 to 12 years

· Big Honey Dog Mysteries Book 1 · Wisheart Press
4.1
9 reviews
Ebook
243
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards 2014 - GOLD
Children's Literary Classics Book Awards 2014 - GOLD
Readers' Favorite International Book Awards 2014 - SILVER

Move over Scooby-Doo... there's a new dog detective in town!

Missing puppies. Deadly secrets. Serious slobber.
All Honey the Great Dane ever wanted was a peaceful life - walking her human, checking Peemail at the park - but when neighbourhood puppies start disappearing, life takes a sinister turn. Why are dead scarab beetles found after each disappearance? Do the strange markings on a gravestone really spell out an ancient Egyptian curse? And what about Max, the Pit Bull with a murky past, who seems to be hiding secrets of his own...can Honey risk everything and trust him or will it cost her the chance to save the puppies?

Perfect for fans of Erin Hunter's 'Survivors' and 'Warriors' series, as well as classics like Nancy Drew and The Famous Five. Kids & dog lovers of all ages will enjoy this action-packed mystery filled with suspense and humour! A great middle grade read or a book for parents (grandparents!) and children to enjoy together.

* EACH BOOK CAN BE READ AS A STANDALONE MYSTERY. Collect all the books in the series:

- A Secret in Time (Book 2)
-
Big Honey Dog Mysteries HOLIDAY COLLECTION (box set of Halloween, Christmas & Easter mysteries)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PRAISE FOR THE BIG HONEY DOG MYSTERIES:

Moonbeam Children's Book Awards 2014 - GOLD Medal Winner
Children's Literary Classics Book Awards 2014 - GOLD Medal Winner
Readers' Favorite International Book Awards 2014 - SILVER Medal Winner
The Wishing Shelf Independent Children's Book Awards 2013 - Finalist

"Dog lovers young and old will love this rip-roaring, bark-serious adventure... highly recommended" ~ Midwest Book Review

"If you want to get your middle grade reader interested in picking up books, then this is a great place to start." - Net Galley reviewer

"I've read a few books marketed for middle-grades or younger this year and I have to say that this is hands down the best suited for those ages. It has a great plot, some truly well-rounded characters (with more depth than what I find in most adult novels these days), a fantastic storyline and a climax that will keep you on the edge of your seat. I could easily see this transitioning to the big screen and that's not something I say very often."-   LitChick Hit List

"I just adored this mystery. Ms. Hanna did a remarkable job describing every dog to perfection. Although this is labeled as a children's book, rest assured even adults will enjoy going on Honey's spine tingling adventure. Well done, Ms. Hanna! Please, please, please keep writing more books. You have a huge fan following you now!" - Night Owl Reviews (Top Pick)

"H.Y. Hanna has delivered an animal story, an otherworldly fantasy, and a mystery, all wrapped in one, that is sure to please young readers. There is a magic to speaking to children and H.Y. Hanna has completely captured it."- Readers' Favorite

4.1
9 reviews
KAWII PITTY
November 28, 2015
I loved this book I have a pit bull as well and I liked how they included the cats.
Did you find this helpful?
Indranil Dutta Gupta
August 22, 2015
Amazing
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
3.5/5 stars This was a really sweet and surprisingly deep paranormal mystery from the point of view of a dog, Honey the great dane. I think children will enjoy it because of the dogs and their dog ...

About the author

Sign up to be notified of new releases & other book news! Go to: www.hyhanna.com/newsletter

H.Y. Hanna is the award-winning author of a children's mystery series, and also writes mysteries, romances and romantic suspense for adults. After graduating from Oxford University, she tried her hand at a variety of jobs before returning to her first love: writing. Her books have spent time on the Amazon best-seller lists and she has also won awards for her novels, poetry, short stories and journalism.

Hsin-Yi has been globe-trotter most of her life - she was born in Taiwan, grew up in Dubai, was schooled in the U.K. and U.S., and worked in the glamorous world of London advertising before emigrating Down Under. Along the way, she somehow managed to pick up a wonderful husband, an assortment of pets and a slightly dodgy "trans-atlantic" accent. She's a self-confessed hypochondriac, is terrified of cockroaches and thinks that everything tastes better with chilli added!

WEBSITE: www.hyhanna.com 

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.