The Dead Wife's Handbook: A Novel

Skyhorse
6
Free sample

A debut novel for fans of The Lovely Bones: "An intriguing tale of love after death and an insightful look at the bereavement process." —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Today is my death anniversary. A year ago today I was still alive."

Rachel, Max, and their daughter Ellie had the perfect life—until the night Rachel’s heart stopped beating. She was thirty-six. Just as her family can’t forget her, Rachel can’t quite let go of them either. As Max and Ellie work through their grief, Rachel struggles, too—with bemusement, anger, sadness, and regret—to come to terms with her death.
 
Caught in a place between worlds, with a family just within reach but so far away, Rachel watches as her husband, her daughter, and her own mother move from denial to acceptance. As time passes, as they settle back into their routines, and begin to smile again, Rachel fears that she’s fading from their lives…
 
This literary debut about remembrance—and becoming a memory—is “beautifully written and full of love” (Fern Britton).
 
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Hannah Beckerman is a former TV and film producer who spent fifteen years producing and commissioning documentaries about the arts, history, and science before turning her hand to writing. She is the author of The Dead Wife's Handbook and has contributed short stories to the Sunday Express and Sunlounger 2. She is also freelance journalist for FT Weekend Magazine. Hannah lives in London with her husband and their incredibly lively toddler. She is currently writing her second novel.
Read more
Collapse
3.7
6 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Skyhorse
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 6, 2015
Read more
Collapse
Pages
432
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781628725582
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Women
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A mesmerizing literary debut novel of doubt, faith, and perseverance in the aftermath of a family tragedy—for fans of Me Before You, Little Bee, and Tell the Wolves I’m Home.
 
The Bradleys see the world as a place where miracles are possible, and where nothing is more important than family. This is their story.
 
It is the story of Ian Bradley—husband, father, math teacher, and Mormon bishop—and his unshakeable belief that everything will turn out all right if he can only endure to the end, like the pioneers did. It is the story of his wife, Claire, her lonely wait for a sign from God, and her desperate need for life to pause while she comes to terms with tragedy.
 
And it is the story of their children: sixteen-year-old Zippy, experiencing the throes of first love; cynical fourteen-year-old Al, who would rather play soccer than read the Book of Mormon; and seven-year-old Jacob, whose faith is bigger than a mustard seed—probably bigger than a toffee candy, he thinks—and which he’s planning to use to mend his broken family with a miracle.
 
Intensely moving, unexpectedly funny, and deeply observed, A Song for Issy Bradley explores the outer reaches of doubt and faith, and of a family trying to figure out how to carry on when the innermost workings of their world have broken apart.
 
Praise for A Song for Issy Bradley
 
“I loved A Song for Issy Bradley. It’s wry, smart . . . moving and comforting. . . . A terrific book [about] faith, and what happens to that faith when the unimaginable happens.”—Nick Hornby, The Believer

“The Book of Mormon with an English accent.”—New York Post
 
“Bray fully inhabits each of her characters, displaying an admirable range of narrative talent rare in a first novel. Fans of The Lonely Polygamist and Where’d You Go, Bernadette will savor this thrilling glimpse behind the scenes of a family in crisis.”—Booklist (starred review)
 
“With wit and compassion, plus insider knowledge of the Mormon way of life, Bray exposes the raw emotions of a family in crisis. An intriguing and heartbreaking story from an author to watch.”—Library Journal
 
“An absorbing, beautifully written debut novel with surprising moments of humor.”—Kirkus Reviews

“In this wry, original, generous-spirited debut novel, members of a family come to terms with grief, each in his or her own way. They wrestle with belief and disillusionment, desire and hopelessness, pervasive sorrow and moments of transcendent joy. The result is riveting, powerful, and quietly devastating. Quite simply, A Song for Issy Bradley took my breath away.”—Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train
 
“A Song for Issy Bradley is that rarest of things—a book that is beautiful, tender, and a page-turner. Carys Bray made me fall hopelessly in love with each and every one of the Bradleys.”—Carol Rifka Brunt, New York Times bestselling author of Tell the Wolves I’m Home
 
“I cannot remember the last time I have felt so emotionally invested in a novel. It is brilliant and profoundly moving, utterly compelling and almost unbearably real.”—Nathan Filer, author of The Shock of the Fall
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.