As Time Goes By: An East End community faces the devastation of war

Headline

Heart-breaking and compelling, this is the story of a community in its darkest, and yet finest, hour.

As Time Goes By is a vivid portrayal of an East End community struggling to survive the horror of the Blitz, from much-loved author, Harry Bowling. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Cathy Sharp.

Carter Lane is an ordinary backstreet in Bermondsey and, for Dolly and Mick Flynn, it is home. They've raised their family with not much money but lots of love. When World War Two breaks out, they know that nothing will be quite the same again.

As the Blitz starts to take its toll and the close-knit community in Carter Lane endures the sorrows and partings which they had dreaded above all else, they find comfort in one another and solace in the knowledge that their wounds will eventually heal - as time goes by.

What readers are saying about As Time Goes By:

'I have read all of Harry Bowling's books and have enjoyed every one. This book makes you feel like you know each one of the characters personally. I became so absorbed in their lives I was disappointed that it came to an end'

'Well done Harry! Yet another cracking book. All the characters are brought to life. You can actually imagine the way everyone lives. I have read all Harry Bowling's books and loved every one!'

'Could not put it down - read it in 48 hours'

Read more

About the author

Harry was born in 1931 in a back street off the Tower Bridge Road. Only when his own children began to ask questions about the war, did Harry realise how many stories he had to tell. He became known as 'the King of Cockney sagas', and he wrote eighteen bestselling novels of London life. After Harry died in 1999, the Harry Bowling Prize was set up in his memory.
Read more

Reviews

Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Headline
Read more
Published on
Nov 24, 2011
Read more
Pages
314
Read more
ISBN
9780755391400
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.