Ironmonger's Daughter: An engrossing saga of family feuds, true love and war

Hachette UK
3

Two daughters. Two families. One world war.

Ironmonger's Daughter is a moving portrayal of life and love in the gritty poverty of the East End streets, from much-loved author Harry Bowling. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lizzie Lane.

'Poignant, nostalgic - but not romanticised - stories of good-hearted ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances' - Independent

Ironmonger Street in 1920, with its ugly tenement blocks and tumbledown houses, is one of the most unsightly turnings in Bermondsey; its residents are hardened to the grim poverty of their lives.

In the slum block, Jubilee Dwellings, two sisters - attractive, fun-loving Kate Morgan and the happily married Helen Bartlett - give birth to daughters. One is illegitimate, her mother refusing to name the father, the other is disabled. Connie and Molly grow up together and wouldn't be parted for the world.

Until the day Connie catches the eye of handsome Robert Armitage. Despite the differences in their backgrounds, and the antagonism that dogs their two families, they are drawn together and are determined to be married. Until war intervenes...

What readers are saying about Ironmonger's Daughter:

'Absolutely love this book, would recommend to others. Typical of family life in London, this took me on a journey way back in time. Couldn't put it down'

'Very good book, could not put it down'

Read more

About the author

Harry was born in 1931 in a back street off the Tower Bridge Road. Only when his own children began to ask questions about the war, did Harry realise how many stories he had to tell. He became known as 'the King of Cockney sagas', and he wrote eighteen bestselling novels of London life. After Harry died in 1999, the Harry Bowling Prize was set up in his memory.
Read more
5.0
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Hachette UK
Read more
Published on
Mar 17, 2011
Read more
Pages
457
Read more
ISBN
9780755381470
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Sagas
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.