The Little Shop in Cornwall: A heartwarming and feel good beach read

· Bookouture
4.3
7 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Come and spend the summer in a charming village by the sea. Breathe in the crisp, salty air, slip off your shoes and feel the golden sand beneath your feet…


Claudia has never regretted leaving her corporate city life behind and escaping to this piece of coastal paradise. With her cheeky cat Pudding by her side, she has built a community of loyal friends who feel more like family. Her shop at the end of the beach road is full of things that bring joy to locals and visitors alike. Life has finally settled into a perfect, comfortable rhythm.


That is until widower Jason moves to town with his teenage daughter Millie, looking for a new start for both of them. Millie is instantly drawn to the delights of Claudia’s shop and her free-spirited way of life. However, practical architect Jason is less than thrilled about his daughter’s new interests. He doesn’t shy away from telling Claudia exactly what he thinks and sparks fly every time they meet.


But Jason and Millie aren’t the only newcomers this summer and life in the harbour, especially Claudia’s, is about to change in more ways than one. As circumstances throw Claudia into Jason’s path in increasingly unexpected ways, she begins to glimpse what lies beneath his fiery temper and sharp tongue. Claudia was sure her life was complete, but could something have been missing after all?


The only book you need in your beach bag this summer. Fans of Sarah Morgan, Cathy Bramley and Phillipa Ashley will be charmed by this seaside romance filled with warmth, humour and heart.


Why readers love Helen Pollard:


Oh wow! I absolutely loved, lived, laughed and cried with this brilliant, addictive tale… A beautiful, fun tale, set in stunning surroundings, with characters that you don't want to leave behind. Highly recommended!’ Renita D’Silva


Like sunshine on a cloudy day this is a book to warm your heartI loved it.’ Shellyback Books


Oh, how joyous it wasI did enjoy every single minute… I was distraught when the story was finished… A perfect summer book.’ Lilac Diaries


Helen Pollard can do NO wrong… This really is a wonderfully feel good read.’ Best Crime Books and More


Fabulous… I loved all the characters… Transports you to a world that you don't want to leave.’ Rachel’s Random Reads


Wow what a book… Easy, enjoyable and a book that you won't want to put downBrilliant.’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘The absolute best vacation read… Amazing, genuine and unforgettable.’ Chocolate ‘n’ Waffles


I was completely spellbound… I highly recommend you to take a fictional holiday by reading this book.’ With Love for Books


A perfect summer sunshine read.’ My Chestnut Reading Tree


What a lovely gem of a book… Gentle and warm with some lovely characters and a good bit of eye candy… Perfect for a pick-me-up summer read where you just want to lose yourself in the story.’ The Met Line Reader


I loved every single page of this book and didn't want the story to end. It had me hooked from start to finish, had me giggling on the bus (rather embarrassing). It is one of those warm, cosy books that needs coffee and croissants.’ The Reading Shed


Brilliant… I chuckled often and there were even a couple of belly laughs… One night, being unable to sleep, I decided to read just a few more pages and ended up reading until 3 am!… Now that is what I call a good book.’ Janni B’s Book Reviews

Ratings and reviews

4.3
7 reviews
Susan Illis
June 15, 2020
If you want to escape to a picturesque Cornwall village, this is the book for you. After leaving her husband and career in London, Claudia has found contentment owning a New Age shop in Cornwall. She finds early on that a certain lack of privacy comes with village life, but thinks she has adjusted. New widower Jason moves to town with his teenaged daughter, Millie. The Goth- looking girl is adrift, and Claudia immediately takes her under her wing, to the consternation of rational, logical Jason, who thinks her new age leanings are a bunch of hooey. Just as they work out a sort of peace, a new shop opens in town, directly competing with Claudia’s, while hers falls victim to vandalism and evil rumors, not to mention a significant drop in business. As Claudia and Jason navigate their burgeoning attraction, each must figure out how much they can risk to be together. A good distraction during troubling times. #NetGalley #LittleShopInCornwall
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
Thank You to NetGalley and Bookouture for this ARC !! After her divorce and leaving her corporate city life behind, Claudia escapes to a coastal paradise and settles into her new life in Cornwall. She ...

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.